We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for intermediates and good skiers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Plagne Ski Resort

La Plagne Ski Resort
Office de Promotion de la Grande Plagne | BP 62- F73211 Aime Cedex, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
+33 4 79 09 79 79
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosaic of different destinations offers a multitude of different ambiances and atmospheres that also reflect the changing architectural styles of winter sports resorts since 1961. Most of La Plagne’s villages were designed by architect Michel Bezançon.La Plagne is part of the Paradiski area and therefore is one of the large ski resorts and is also a family-friendly resort with adapted package offers.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
160 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“A great place for intermediates and good skiers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The ski area is very large and linked to Les Arcs by a giant double decker cable car. There are a lot of ling blue and red runs that cater for intermediates and beginners. The mountain restaurants are generally good and well spaced out.
My wife, who likes the green runs of Courchevel found the skiing in and out of our hotel difficult so spent the weeks going for walks which she very much enjoyed.
We stayed at Belle Plagne, one of several mini resorts in the area and the most beautiful. One word of warning is that many of the villages are quite ugly...but the skiing is good and you can easily get away from these buildings higher up the mountains.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    65
    24
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crowland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“2nd trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is our second time. Resort was very busy this year, French holidays and a World Cup

That aside still plenty of skiing, queues at the lift, but where do you ski without a queue for the lift. We have skied at busier resorts in France. Some lovely runs through Belle plagne, Plagne Bellacote to name but a few. Lots of nice wide runs, good place to build confidence and improve technique.

Lots of nice coffee stops, we found it was more reasonable to eat up the mountain, rather than at the bottom, but beware, portions are quite large. Skiing on a full stomach, not recommended. The scenery is beautiful, plenty of pit stops, good facilities, a very well run resort.

I would however query some of the ranking of the runs. Some of the Blues should be Reds, so beware, but a good variety of runs and lots of them. Impossible to cover in a week.

Lift staff attentive and very aware of what is going on. Quick to resolve and assist any difficulties encountered. We would definitely come back

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just back from La Plagne where I had the best week skiing I have had in years.The sun shone for 7 days and there was loads of snow.

Arrived at Chambery 2 hour transfer, although we were told that the previous week it took 6hrs to travel due to the French holidays

Slopes were a bit busy but again not nearly as busy as the previous 2 weeks.

Yes there are some minor queues at lifts especially early morning and late afternoon but nothing to worry about.

The area is vast and varied and we had a day in Les Arcs which was really good.

We stayed at 1800 in Chalet Cretier through Crystal. The chalet is basic but good and the food was first class. The staff were very good.

Prices are a bit expensive but you are up in the mountains

I would recommend this area to anyone who wants plenty blue and red runs.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Boarding in la plagne- don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just back from boarding in la plagne. Bad choice of week as coincided with zone 1 and 2 holidays in France. Stayed in plagne bellecote. Despite good snow and a well laid out little resort centre, if you ride a board, don't bother for a few reasons. 1. It's too flat! The amount of scooting needed or even just having to clip out completely is ridiculous. 2. Lifts. There's loads but they are badly laid out and don't flow. Again often difficult to board to the start of the line as usually a bit of uphill. 3. Queues. I know we picked a bad week but all the stories of lift bottlenecks are true- sometimes half an hour for our first lift at bellecote. Also having been to Banff and Kicking Horse at Christmas I think we were spoiled by no queues but even on busy days ( and there were a few over the holiday) the French resorts would benefit from the well mannered and organised, pistie controlled system in Canada. 5. If you're a good boarder or skier you'll get bored- the runs we definitely over-graded. 6. Very little tree skiing.
On the plus side the ski area is huge as you can get over to les arcs easily and it's only an hour drive from chambery airport although again, if you go in French holidays, this could actually take 4 hours as we nearly missed our plane home!
Do some research and there's loads of board-friendly resorts to enjoy in Europe or if you can, treat yourself and go to North America for a powder treat!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes, France
1 review
“Queues à la Plagne”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Very long queues. Less lift, less time, if you want to go back to your chalet for dinner you just have to work, or do not ski...
A disaster

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plagne Ski Resort also viewed

Bourg Saint Maurice, Savoie
Macot-la-Plagne, Aime
 
Macot-la-Plagne, Aime
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to La Plagne Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plagne Ski Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.