We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley

Save Saved
You added Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fantastic place.
The appartment has a great distribution, all rooms have windows to the exterior, great beds, enought toilets and showers, and it is pretty with alps deco. We stayed in the appartment for 8 people
The staff from reception is super nice and are able to cross the extra mile to add value to their service. Besides their smiling faces, they are helpful and cooperative. They also punctual in their comitments and are able to speak different languages.
The location of the resort is great with good access from the road and off to the pist.
The supermarket and few bars and shop are very handy
The dominium to ski, not comment, just great. The people using the area are most English, French and Russians.
This appartment has the great treasure to have a spa. The place is well kept and clean and a great feature to relax after a fun day in the snow.
I will happily return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
52
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Be ready to pay a LOT for every small extra like wifi, parking, and cleaning. Showers were cold in the afternoon after skiing! With no good excuse: having no technical staff available or on stand-by for such a large place is really not acceptable. At this price, the living rooms are much too small to hold 8 persons. Walls between bedrooms within the appartment are not isolated: noisy..On the positive: Nice and helpful staff, clean appartment at arrival, nice views, perfect spot on the slopes, morning bread and croissants service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We shared a 8 person apartment. The place was spacious and well maintained. Location is excellent with direct access to the slopes.

People from the reception and maintenance were extremely helpful and nice, and tried their best to fix the few issues we faced.

Main issue was the absence of warm water for the showers, from about 4PM onwards. Despite the residence's staff effort to resolve the issue, showers remained cold to lukewarm at best.
We met several people complaining of the same problem at the reception. Although they seemed to be aware of the issue, the direction was not available to answer our questions. Also, when asked, the direction of the Hotel was particularly not welcoming. Given the price paid for the residence, this was simply not acceptable.

Surprisingly, the other issue was the warmth... of the apartment, making it difficult to sleep at night without having to open the windows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Ten of us shared a 12 person apartment in Sun valley.

There was plenty of space for us and the location was excellent. The bedrooms were comfortable but there were a few issues;

On our arrival we realised that there was no working lift to the third floor apartment. The stairwell light was also broken. I am sure you know how difficult it is to walk in ski boots, and especially up three flights in the dark. We raised this issue with the reception staff who were very unhelpful and uninterested. The light was fixed midweek, but the lift was finally fixed on the Friday before our departure. There was also no light in the ski locker room for 24 hours.

In the apartment itself there was no oven, only a rather antiquated hob that took a very long time to cook anything. This made cooking for 10 rather tricky.
There were also multiple episodes of power cuts whilst trying to cook, including one where the dishwasher shorted out the power for the rest of the apartment. Although they sent someone to see to it immediately we were unable to use the dishwasher at all.

The flat was not clean when we took the keys- with old water bottles and even a pair of slippers found under the beds.

The spa was also very disappointing- the sauna was cold, the steam room was out of order and the two small jacuzzis smelt unclean. It was often too busy for us to get in.

Finally, and this was very irritating, the advertised wifi did not work, even though we paid the supplement. Although they refunded this cost at the end it caused problems as several members of the group were unable to access important work emails. We expected it to work and had selected the apartment for the wifi availability.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our « Sunvalley » residence , in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Accommodation :
- An increase in hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating in certain rooms
- Boiler room insulation to avoid the noise and heat inconvenience.
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the residence in 2011)
- General replacement of accommodation furnishings and accessories

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management) and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

The residence :
• Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

People from the desk were very helpful and nice ; they were there to advice with a smile.
we were 3 couples and the apartment was fit for us , but for 8 persons i think should be rather tight.
There is a nice SPA , but the jackuzi was cold , and the swimming pool water was very cold.
the maintenance of the apartment was not very good.
the building has a perfect location and should have a better overall condition.

  • Liked — Location and very nice personal
  • Disliked — the state of the apartment ; some things didn't work and has NOT been fixed
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our « Sunvalley » residence , in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Accommodation :
- An increase in hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating in certain rooms
- Boiler room insulation to avoid the noise and heat inconvenience.
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the residence in 2011)
- General replacement of accommodation furnishings and accessories.

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management) and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

The residence :
• Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in Dec 2011 including Xmas in a 3 bed, 2 bathroom apartment advertised as an 8 person apartment. It was booked through the La Plagne Reservations Service on the La Plagne website and as a late booking had a good discount.

We were 3 adults and 2 older kids so quite spacious for us. Apartment was not 4 star but was value for money. Not enough comfy seats..only one sofabed. TV had a DVD built in. No extra charges for us except for bread orders and tourist tax. Sheets,towels and TV remote were provided. There were quite a lot of broken/ poorly maintained items. We asked for an inventory and there were no problems on departure. Kitchen adequate for proper cooking but no oven and my personal pet hate no mugs... expresso cups or cereal bowls only. Swimming pool was small and very dark in evenings with no chairs/ recliners. Jacuzzis never worked, sauna was OK . Reception were helpful but queues were long on first and last days. Apartment was clean on arrival and we had to clean it on leaving or could pay a cleaning charge.

Ski locker area leads directly onto a blue piste (Dou du praz). However to return to the ski lockers without walking means skiing the Dou du praz from the top. This piste is only accessible by taking the Colosses BUTTON lift from Plagne Bellecote which, though not marked on the piste map as a difficult button lift, has a long steep section making it pretty difficult for kids, beginners or snowboarders. Access back to the apartments is more generally by the Ecarte blue piste meaning a walk across the square and down a flight of slippery steps and across the road...maybe 50-100m to the building and then down in lift, through doors etc to ski lockers. The square is also the start/end point used by the ski school and contains the spar shop etc. so you might have to walk to here anyway.

The car park is underground down a steep short slope (clearance exactly 1.50m: SUV with roofbox was very close) and you need to pick up a pass from reception to access it. It had snowed heavily on our arrival day (chains on all up the valley) and the outside and underground carpark was inaccessible for the first evening.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room didn't have a terrace or balcony despite the room description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our « Sunvalley » residence , in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Accommodation :
- An increase in hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating in certain rooms
- Boiler room insulation to avoid the noise and heat inconvenience.
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the residence in 2011)
- General replacement of accommodation furnishings and accessories.

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management) and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

The residence :
• Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

First I must say that we did not actually get to stay at this residence:

We booked and received confirmation from one of the main online agencies booking.com and having received this confirmation we proceeded to arrange flights etc for a party of 6.

A week later we heard from booking.com that Sun Valley had realised they had no availability. This was somethoing of a surprise as the website had shown 4 units available when we booked.

Madame Vacances who manage Sun Valley offered to find us alternative accomodation but this was at Les Menuires and we had arranged everything for the Paradiski. We were also nervous, given that it had taken a week for them to realise the double booking, that we might arrive at the resort only to find the accommodation already occupied.

I realise that mistakes can be made but surely it is a fundamental part of managing a hotel that you are aware of how many rooms you have available and it is unforgiveable not to notice the double booking for a whole week!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley

Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Valley résidence is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050m. You can ski to and from this recently constructed establishment to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).A bar-restaurant is shared with the Hotel Vancouver enabling you to take advantage of the half-board and full-board packages (please enquire). A ski hire shop is also to be found in the building and the shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Lvh Vacances - Sun Valley Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.