We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff, Cold Showers, Overheated Apts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley to your Saves list
Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great Staff, Cold Showers, Overheated Apts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We shared a 8 person apartment. The place was spacious and well maintained. Location is excellent with direct access to the slopes.

People from the reception and maintenance were extremely helpful and nice, and tried their best to fix the few issues we faced.

Main issue was the absence of warm water for the showers, from about 4PM onwards. Despite the residence's staff effort to resolve the issue, showers remained cold to lukewarm at best.
We met several people complaining of the same problem at the reception. Although they seemed to be aware of the issue, the direction was not available to answer our questions. Also, when asked, the direction of the Hotel was particularly not welcoming. Given the price paid for the residence, this was simply not acceptable.

Surprisingly, the other issue was the warmth... of the apartment, making it difficult to sleep at night without having to open the windows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Ten of us shared a 12 person apartment in Sun valley.

There was plenty of space for us and the location was excellent. The bedrooms were comfortable but there were a few issues;

On our arrival we realised that there was no working lift to the third floor apartment. The stairwell light was also broken. I am sure you know how difficult it is to walk in ski boots, and especially up three flights in the dark. We raised this issue with the reception staff who were very unhelpful and uninterested. The light was fixed midweek, but the lift was finally fixed on the Friday before our departure. There was also no light in the ski locker room for 24 hours.

In the apartment itself there was no oven, only a rather antiquated hob that took a very long time to cook anything. This made cooking for 10 rather tricky.
There were also multiple episodes of power cuts whilst trying to cook, including one where the dishwasher shorted out the power for the rest of the apartment. Although they sent someone to see to it immediately we were unable to use the dishwasher at all.

The flat was not clean when we took the keys- with old water bottles and even a pair of slippers found under the beds.

The spa was also very disappointing- the sauna was cold, the steam room was out of order and the two small jacuzzis smelt unclean. It was often too busy for us to get in.

Finally, and this was very irritating, the advertised wifi did not work, even though we paid the supplement. Although they refunded this cost at the end it caused problems as several members of the group were unable to access important work emails. We expected it to work and had selected the apartment for the wifi availability.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our « Sunvalley » residence , in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Accommodation :
- An increase in hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating in certain rooms
- Boiler room insulation to avoid the noise and heat inconvenience.
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the residence in 2011)
- General replacement of accommodation furnishings and accessories

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management) and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

The residence :
• Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

People from the desk were very helpful and nice ; they were there to advice with a smile.
we were 3 couples and the apartment was fit for us , but for 8 persons i think should be rather tight.
There is a nice SPA , but the jackuzi was cold , and the swimming pool water was very cold.
the maintenance of the apartment was not very good.
the building has a perfect location and should have a better overall condition.

  • Liked — Location and very nice personal
  • Disliked — the state of the apartment ; some things didn't work and has NOT been fixed
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our « Sunvalley » residence , in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Accommodation :
- An increase in hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating in certain rooms
- Boiler room insulation to avoid the noise and heat inconvenience.
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the residence in 2011)
- General replacement of accommodation furnishings and accessories.

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management) and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

The residence :
• Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in Dec 2011 including Xmas in a 3 bed, 2 bathroom apartment advertised as an 8 person apartment. It was booked through the La Plagne Reservations Service on the La Plagne website and as a late booking had a good discount.

We were 3 adults and 2 older kids so quite spacious for us. Apartment was not 4 star but was value for money. Not enough comfy seats..only one sofabed. TV had a DVD built in. No extra charges for us except for bread orders and tourist tax. Sheets,towels and TV remote were provided. There were quite a lot of broken/ poorly maintained items. We asked for an inventory and there were no problems on departure. Kitchen adequate for proper cooking but no oven and my personal pet hate no mugs... expresso cups or cereal bowls only. Swimming pool was small and very dark in evenings with no chairs/ recliners. Jacuzzis never worked, sauna was OK . Reception were helpful but queues were long on first and last days. Apartment was clean on arrival and we had to clean it on leaving or could pay a cleaning charge.

Ski locker area leads directly onto a blue piste (Dou du praz). However to return to the ski lockers without walking means skiing the Dou du praz from the top. This piste is only accessible by taking the Colosses BUTTON lift from Plagne Bellecote which, though not marked on the piste map as a difficult button lift, has a long steep section making it pretty difficult for kids, beginners or snowboarders. Access back to the apartments is more generally by the Ecarte blue piste meaning a walk across the square and down a flight of slippery steps and across the road...maybe 50-100m to the building and then down in lift, through doors etc to ski lockers. The square is also the start/end point used by the ski school and contains the spar shop etc. so you might have to walk to here anyway.

The car park is underground down a steep short slope (clearance exactly 1.50m: SUV with roofbox was very close) and you need to pick up a pass from reception to access it. It had snowed heavily on our arrival day (chains on all up the valley) and the outside and underground carpark was inaccessible for the first evening.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room didn't have a terrace or balcony despite the room description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our « Sunvalley » residence , in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Accommodation :
- An increase in hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating in certain rooms
- Boiler room insulation to avoid the noise and heat inconvenience.
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the residence in 2011)
- General replacement of accommodation furnishings and accessories.

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management) and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

The residence :
• Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

First I must say that we did not actually get to stay at this residence:

We booked and received confirmation from one of the main online agencies booking.com and having received this confirmation we proceeded to arrange flights etc for a party of 6.

A week later we heard from booking.com that Sun Valley had realised they had no availability. This was somethoing of a surprise as the website had shown 4 units available when we booked.

Madame Vacances who manage Sun Valley offered to find us alternative accomodation but this was at Les Menuires and we had arranged everything for the Paradiski. We were also nervous, given that it had taken a week for them to realise the double booking, that we might arrive at the resort only to find the accommodation already occupied.

I realise that mistakes can be made but surely it is a fundamental part of managing a hotel that you are aware of how many rooms you have available and it is unforgiveable not to notice the double booking for a whole week!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed in the hotel in april 2011 and had a good time in spite of very thin snow cover which is definitely not the fault of the hotel. The hotel could and should be better than simply average: its location is great, the rooms are standard ski fare but quiet with nice views and the staff is couteous and pleasant. However there are several buts: the courtesy is not matched in efficiency by the staff, they were lovely but seemed unable to decide what the hell to do most of the time. They were young with young peoples priorities that didnt include listening to guests properly and sorting problems out except in their own time (our check out was non standard and it took them literally 4 days and several requests to try and find out what the process would be. Ieventually gave up. The self stocktake is simply a joke that goes as follows "take this sheet of paper, verify all 200 items on it, return it to us by tomorrow morning or we assume that everything is fine". You dont expect this in any form of hotel accomodation let alone a self billed prestige destination and frankly it is the hotel's job to check rooms and equipment not mine. I simply object to sitting down and counting spoons, forks, cups, plates etc when i have to make up my own bed with hugely expensive hired linen. The week's hire is considerably more than the cost of the linen! The laundry is simply a joke. There is one working machine (the other is out of order and has been for "months") and appears to have been used as a general dumping ground for junk. The rooms are fine but there is simply not enough space for the people the room is billed for to sit in comfort (i have seen this all over french ski resorts) and the kitchen is small with no oven.

The ski shop is good but not managed by the group.

So here is what the management should do:
1) train the staff properly - problems writted in an exercise book and never followed up on is not acceptable
2) invest in the communal areas (the spa had one shower hanging off the wall, see laundry comment, the lifts have rubber flooring which is peeling and has been duct taped down (!)
3) have the manager made available or someone who is able to resolve problems not pleasant kids who simply dont know what to do and debate possible solutions whilst you stand there frustrated
4) stop advertising things that sound good but are not practically achievable (the bakery delivery for example is spasmodic) without proper staffing
5) stop nickel and diming : the cleaning charge to clean the appartment when you leave is in excess of 100 euros unless you do it yourself. Yes over 100 euros. The appartment would take 2 people half an hour at most to clean, i suppose i would do it for the price charged off the bill. This is also true in many other areas, sheet hire, towel hire, tv charge (not full spec sky either but just french tv pretty much) at 35 euros a week.

Non of this will matter to the owners i am sure. The location will mean people will come anyway. But inspite of the chambery address of madame vacance the operator, the owner is english and frankly should be ashamed at the lack of responsibility for getting this place professionally run.

Room Tip: By your own bread from spar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Good Points:
-We booked the Sun Valley apartments via the travel company Ski Collection. I would recommend this company especially if travelling by the Euro Tunnel as they book you on a Flexi Pass which is excellent.
-We chose a 3 bedroom apartment for 6 people, all the bedrooms were a good size, 2 doubles and 1 twin. We also had a bathroom with a bath/shower and sink, separate toilet and an additional bathroom with shower, sink and toilet.
-There is plenty of free outdoor parking and indoor if you want to pay.
-You can easily ski in/out from the locker room even in the poor snow conditions that we experienced in March.
- The pool is a nice option to have, its small and can get crowded but you get what you pay for.
- Good pizza takeaway in the hotel Vancouver next door.
-Nice bar/pool tables in bar area.
- Can buy your ski pass at the reception.
- Can hire ski equipment at Intersport which is within the complex, suggest booking online prior to arriving for best prices.

Less good points:
- The lounge area is small and not enough space on the comfy chair for 6 people.
-The kitchen area is small and there is no oven.
-Reception staff are nice but don;t seem to remember things when you ask i.e forgot to order our bread, didn't; give us an extra key (we only had 1key for 6 people) when we asked twice, did not replace our hoover that was missing.
- There are extra costs: sheets, towels, TV remote, tax, end of stay cleaning. I suggest calling the apartments a week before you arrive to find out what rooms you have been allocated if you want to take your own bedding.

Overall we thought it was good value for money in an great ski area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our residence.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley

Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Valley résidence is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050m. You can ski to and from this recently constructed establishment to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).A bar-restaurant is shared with the Hotel Vancouver enabling you to take advantage of the half-board and full-board packages (please enquire). A ski hire shop is also to be found in the building and the shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Lvh Vacances - Sun Valley Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.