We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nothing better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley to your Saves list
Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok, nothing better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed in the hotel in april 2011 and had a good time in spite of very thin snow cover which is definitely not the fault of the hotel. The hotel could and should be better than simply average: its location is great, the rooms are standard ski fare but quiet with nice views and the staff is couteous and pleasant. However there are several buts: the courtesy is not matched in efficiency by the staff, they were lovely but seemed unable to decide what the hell to do most of the time. They were young with young peoples priorities that didnt include listening to guests properly and sorting problems out except in their own time (our check out was non standard and it took them literally 4 days and several requests to try and find out what the process would be. Ieventually gave up. The self stocktake is simply a joke that goes as follows "take this sheet of paper, verify all 200 items on it, return it to us by tomorrow morning or we assume that everything is fine". You dont expect this in any form of hotel accomodation let alone a self billed prestige destination and frankly it is the hotel's job to check rooms and equipment not mine. I simply object to sitting down and counting spoons, forks, cups, plates etc when i have to make up my own bed with hugely expensive hired linen. The week's hire is considerably more than the cost of the linen! The laundry is simply a joke. There is one working machine (the other is out of order and has been for "months") and appears to have been used as a general dumping ground for junk. The rooms are fine but there is simply not enough space for the people the room is billed for to sit in comfort (i have seen this all over french ski resorts) and the kitchen is small with no oven.

The ski shop is good but not managed by the group.

So here is what the management should do:
1) train the staff properly - problems writted in an exercise book and never followed up on is not acceptable
2) invest in the communal areas (the spa had one shower hanging off the wall, see laundry comment, the lifts have rubber flooring which is peeling and has been duct taped down (!)
3) have the manager made available or someone who is able to resolve problems not pleasant kids who simply dont know what to do and debate possible solutions whilst you stand there frustrated
4) stop advertising things that sound good but are not practically achievable (the bakery delivery for example is spasmodic) without proper staffing
5) stop nickel and diming : the cleaning charge to clean the appartment when you leave is in excess of 100 euros unless you do it yourself. Yes over 100 euros. The appartment would take 2 people half an hour at most to clean, i suppose i would do it for the price charged off the bill. This is also true in many other areas, sheet hire, towel hire, tv charge (not full spec sky either but just french tv pretty much) at 35 euros a week.

Non of this will matter to the owners i am sure. The location will mean people will come anyway. But inspite of the chambery address of madame vacance the operator, the owner is english and frankly should be ashamed at the lack of responsibility for getting this place professionally run.

Room Tip: By your own bread from spar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Good Points:
-We booked the Sun Valley apartments via the travel company Ski Collection. I would recommend this company especially if travelling by the Euro Tunnel as they book you on a Flexi Pass which is excellent.
-We chose a 3 bedroom apartment for 6 people, all the bedrooms were a good size, 2 doubles and 1 twin. We also had a bathroom with a bath/shower and sink, separate toilet and an additional bathroom with shower, sink and toilet.
-There is plenty of free outdoor parking and indoor if you want to pay.
-You can easily ski in/out from the locker room even in the poor snow conditions that we experienced in March.
- The pool is a nice option to have, its small and can get crowded but you get what you pay for.
- Good pizza takeaway in the hotel Vancouver next door.
-Nice bar/pool tables in bar area.
- Can buy your ski pass at the reception.
- Can hire ski equipment at Intersport which is within the complex, suggest booking online prior to arriving for best prices.

Less good points:
- The lounge area is small and not enough space on the comfy chair for 6 people.
-The kitchen area is small and there is no oven.
-Reception staff are nice but don;t seem to remember things when you ask i.e forgot to order our bread, didn't; give us an extra key (we only had 1key for 6 people) when we asked twice, did not replace our hoover that was missing.
- There are extra costs: sheets, towels, TV remote, tax, end of stay cleaning. I suggest calling the apartments a week before you arrive to find out what rooms you have been allocated if you want to take your own bedding.

Overall we thought it was good value for money in an great ski area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our residence.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautrec, France
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed here mid Feb 2011 with a total of 6 adults and 2 teenagers.
The location close to a ski run is ideal 150 meters away.
A couple of decent restaurants and a good shop also there.
Underground Parking available (at a cost)
The apartment we had was quite good with most items, crockery, cutlery etc available, I do sort of object to paying for linen, towels, bath mats and a TV as I think these should be just in the price.
The organization of the place also would benefit from some streamlining as everything seemed to take an age to sort out.

Onec you are over all of this then you can have a great time and skiing in this area is very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We found the 5 bed appartment really spacious with everything needed, supplied. We did have to take our own inventory re cups plate and cuttlery etc. Found that a little off considering its classed as a 4 star. We also had to pay around £100 for sheets and towels!!! This is where they let themselves down. We were under the imppression this was a deposit which we found out was not the case.
When we mentioned this to staff they agreed the cost of towels and sheets was extortionate but could do nothing.

Pool was ok, very warm. Jakuzzi's never worked.

At the end of the week we also had to clean our appartment to hotel standard. Whilst we would have cleaned it to a degree anyway as a matter of course, we were'nt expecting to do their work for them.
It just felt that they were only after your money and to save them on cleaning, getting YOU to do all the work, i was surprised they didnt ask us to work on reception for the new transfers!!!

Overall, great appartment, 317, great views, pretty resort, good skiing and boarding, friendly people in resort, bring your own sheets and towels!!

The Croq Niege in Plagne Centre was reasonable with friendly staff.
Oxygene ski school was friendly and proffesional. Lift pass for begginers from Oxygene only gets you up the mountain from the Thursday onwards.
Monicas pub in Pagne Solleil was good.
Not loads of green runs for begginers but loads of blues once they get going.


Overall La Plagne is a really good place for famillies and begginers but we will stay in Plagne Centre next time to avoid taxis and expensive lunches out.

Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed with friends in a 5 bedroom apartment, the accommodation space was excellent and very comfortable and the kitchenette was well equipped. The resort, being fairly newly built, is of an overall high standard with a very warm and decent sized swimming pool which the children loved. I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Two things to consider though: firstly, it is a short drive to La Plagne Centre so if you are having ski lessons there and you don't have a car then getting to and fro is a bit of a hassle. Secondly, take your own bedsheets and towels as we paid close to £100 for the privelege of hiring these. When we rose this as an issue with the reception staff the response we received was one of shrugs and "not my problem". It also costs £35 a week to gain a remote control for the apartment TV. All in all very good accommodation but don't forget those bedsheets and towels! Oh, you also have to clean your own apartment at the end of your holiday!!??

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our residence.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We paid £1148 for one week ski direct 15th January, me 34 the wife 21(yeah) the 3 kids 1, 4 and 13

on arrival I found we had to pay 50 euros for our bedding! lucky we were told to bring towels or we would of paid 100euros. Reception was a waste of space have not got a clue! the kids could of ran it better! next doors kettle missing and they said they dont really have kettles in France haha.

We went to our room and found it clean and a good size, the bedrooms were quiet small you could not get a cot in put it that way! but great really. The brother in law was in with us with his two 8 and 9 and we had a three bedroom apartment 107 excellent acceses to lift and stairs with ski in and ski out a bit tricky for first timers but ideal.

The Hotel bar was very good and the restraunt in the main hotel excellent also offering take away pizza aprox 9 euros each (homemade) the bar offered a pool table and Wii which was free and very modern and 5.60euros a pint which the average was about 5euros.

the resort La Plagne is mixture of small villages and the La Plagne centre is were the main resort is some good bars (igloo happy hour 3.50 a pint)

Some good skiing for intermidates and good for begineers a very good all round resort

The pool small but perfect after a days skiing, hot tubs a waste of time 3 only one semi working and cold crap!
sauna and steam room spot on!

Overal a good hotel if I was with the boys excellent!

Lawrence (Liverpool)

PS Scotts bar La Plagne centre

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We arrived at Sun Valley around 9pm to find reception closed. Our Chrystal rep had already left with the bus so after going next door to the hotel they eventually found us some keys to our very small apartment. The apt had not been cleaned, the fridge was mouldy, dishwasher still full of pots and no bedding. The next morning not feeling the happiest the two English girls were sorry. Mmm doesnt help when you have two tired children in the party of seven and all paid full price only to find also that the pool had been emptied due to cleaning ( for a whole week ?) and the hot tubs didnt work. Oh and everytime next door flushed the toilet there waste backed up into our toilet.

On a more positive note the skiing was great and inter sport (in the complex) were very quick and helpful with decent equipment.

After speaking to a couple of families they all had different complaints and nothing ever really got sorted out. This place needs someone to take charge of it and manage it properly as no one seems to be in charge. It could be a great place to stay but someone please please take charge and get it sorted.

Thomson Holidays im very shocked you have this in your brochure never mind as a 4*.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are always sorry to learn that the level of comfort and quality of service provided by the residence we manage did not entirely match your expectations.

Our team on site and our management have been informed of your comments. Please note that if you suffer any inconvenience during your stay, our staff at reception is dedicated and will offer its help in order to provide solutions.

We strongly regret to learn you were inconvenienced and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley

Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Valley résidence is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050m. You can ski to and from this recently constructed establishment to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).A bar-restaurant is shared with the Hotel Vancouver enabling you to take advantage of the half-board and full-board packages (please enquire). A ski hire shop is also to be found in the building and the shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Lvh Vacances - Sun Valley Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.