We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic modern hotel with excellent view and high housekeeping facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic modern hotel with excellent view and high housekeeping facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Well my wife ( who is a clean freak) reckons this is one of the cleaniest and well kept hotels she has ever stayed in! Good start.
Great hotel, facilities and location. It's pretty quiet on an evening but if your there for skiing and tend to round the day off with a nice meal you can't go wrong here.
We had mountain facing rooms which we think were well worth it.
Overall highly recommended and would go again.
Warning: ski out is not for beginners but ski in is good- but it was very icy when we were there :(

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our hotel.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    16
    10
    13
See reviews for
22
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We booked this hotel at short notice and got a very good deal on the price. When we looked at some of the reviews here we were a little nervous about what we would find.

We were pleasantly surprised, the hotel is certainly finished now for a start! The entrance and common areas are spacious, although the service from the front desk staff was a bit poor. They didn't seem to know much about anything, but apparently these staff were in their first week, so room for improvement there.

The rooms are very clean and fitted to an average but perfectly fine & comfortable standard. Our room included a seperate WC, bathroom with bath & shower, and a balcony with a view. Furnishings wise there was a bed, table, 2 chairs, wardrobe, and TV with DVD player. The beds were perhaps a little hard, I think they are the solid foam mattress type, but even so we always got a decent nights sleep. The room was always very hot, despite the radiator being turned off, and the toilet was like a sauna inside!!! The biggest drawbacks for us was: 1 - No safe in the room 2 - no English TV (just 5 channels of french terrestial).

The restaurant is nicely laid out, and the restaurant staff were good, attentive and friendly. We were staying half board, and are vegetarian, and they did their best to accomodate our needs. Every evening was a fixed menu, but with 3 or 4 fixed alternatives (inc. pizza, steak & chips) that could be ordered if you did not like that days menu item. There were also 3 buffet nights with a reasonable & varied selection of vegetarian options (mainly cheese & salads), plus the kitchen staff were also able to knock up a few off menu vegetarian options (e.g. pasta dishes), and so all in all we were always well fed and had just enough variety for a week.

Downstairs in the basement is the ski & boot room. This seems well laid out, each room has its own large locked cupboard, enough room for plenty of skis/boards/boots etc.

Its possible to ski down into the resort in the afternoon, and for the mronings we found the best way was to walk across the square to the nearby slopes (just a very short walk).

Location wise, the hotel is in Plagne Soleil, which is a very nice, small hamlet, with a supermarket, 2 or 3 restaurants, and thats about it. But very easy to get down to Plagne Centre either by skiing down the nearest piste, or taking free bus / cable car. For us, we really liked this location, very quiet, easy ski-ing access, and easy to get into the centre if you needed to.

The only other problem for me was the hotel wireless which I could never get to work, even though I asked several times at the (clueless) front desk! Really very irritating. Eventually we learned there was an internet cafe (cybercebtre) n PLagne Centre, by the bus station, bit tucked away, and lots of people did not know about it that we asked. From this shop, they promote http://www.cyberspot.fr/ which is a very good service, and we discovered we could access this from our balcony (not in our room unfortunately) so this was enough for us to get emails.

We never used the pool or spa so can't comment on that part.

Finally, there is an Intersport ski-hire shop in the building, and if you go direct (rather by the paying your 'rep'), you can hopefully get a discount on list proce (we got 20%)! Similar, we got 10% off lessons by going direct. Sorry reps, you are not adding any value here, just taking a commision for nothing much!

So, all in all, a decent hotel, great location, and great value (I guess all depends what you pay of course), and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our hotel.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Stayed in hotel vancouver for a week a few weeks ago, the rooms were lovely, beds were comfy although the rooms were a bit hot at times!! We had Breakfast and Evening meal everyday to which the standard of food was brilliant,.
Our friend broke his pelvis while we were there and the staff were more than helpful, they were really easy to get on with, even let us take food to our friend who was stuck in his room!!! and we were able to have a laugh with them too!!!
We used the swimming pool once and it was freezing so soon got out!! the hot tubs weren't available while we were there but we used the saunas aswell.

It was really nice grabbing your ski's and walking straight out onto the mountain ready for a days skiing, same as when yo get back too, you just skied straight to the back door :-)

There isnt much nightlife in La Plagne but the bar in the hotel is lovely and again lovely staff that you can have a laugh with..... i didnt find it noisy at night but that could be coz i was the one getting in at the early hours!!!

I had a fab week and would definatly use this hotel again!!!!!!!!!! :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our hotel.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We reserved this hotel pricipally because of the location and it advertised having an indoor pool and spa which we were looking forward to using after a days skiing. The hotel is new and there were major structural problems with the pool changing rooms, including a collapsed ceiling which resulted in the majority of the changing rooms, lockers, toilet and shower being boarded off. The remaining space which was in a filthy and disgusting state was totally inadequate to accomodate the number of guests wishing to use the facility. Most people were changing in their rooms and walking through the hotel and along a very cold corridor at the lower level adjacent to the car park and ski locker room to get to the pool. The water in the hot tubs was disgustingly dirty and there was no edvidence of any spa attendants or cleaning staff. We decided on the first visit that it was impossible to use such a dirty and disgusting facility.
Furthermore the room door closers bang the doors shut VERY hard to such an extent that the plaster is falling off the walls around the door frames, and of course it is VERY noisy especially at night when you are trying to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We didn't have high expectations about the hotel, if only because it had been difficult to find much out about it on-line. However, it really worked out well.

The hotel has a traditional "savoyard" Alpine feel about it and this is reflected in the liberal use of stone work and wooden beams around the public areas and the leisure suite.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and tried to sort out any request we had to the best of their ability. For example, we had to get up hideously early in the morning for the return coach transfer to the Airport and, much to my suprise, they were happy to make up a "packed" breakfast for us to take on the coach as we left before the dining room was open. They also sorted out the TV for us in the room. It wasn't tuned to any English speaking channels when we arrived, but they quickly played around with the satelite system to sort this out for us.

The rooms are simply furnished, but stylish and immaculately clean (as was the whole hotel). Its a newly built hotel, so its all still fairly pristine. All the rooms have a balcony and we had a great view of the mountains. Bathroom was also immaculately clean, with no shortage of hot water and a really good strong shower over the bath. One tip - make sure you take plenty of DVDs with you, as the TV in the room has a built-in DVD player, which was handy given the limited number of English channels available.

Although the hotel is new, it was a shame there were still a few finishing touches that need sorting out. It really is only minor stuff, like pictures not being hung on the walls, the occasional bit of grouting that needs finishing, no books on the bookshelves by the very lovely fireplace in reception, which remained unlit for the duration of our stay! All these things would add a little bit more atmosphere, but it certainly didn't detract from our stay.

The best thnig about the hotel was the dining room. The buffet breakfast was always plentifully supplied and had a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, pastries, bread, bacon, scrammbled eggs and other meats/cheeses. The evening meal was excellent. The buffet starter was usually a selection of soup and/or salads, cold meats etc and was a meal in itself. There was then a choice of two main courses (plus a vegetarian option on request), followed by a buffet desert and cheeses as well. My only complaint was that they didn't serve coffee after the meal, although you could go to the hotel bar for one of these.

The leisure suite was great. Three spa baths, a sauna, a steam room and a good sized pool. A great way to relax after a day's skiing. The only downside was that it didn't open until 5pm each evening, which did mean there was a bit of a mad rush for the facilities at the end of the day. We did find that on our first day there, the spas hadn't been warmed up (apparently, they'd been turned off the night before by the night porter whilst they were being cleaned and somebody had forgotten to turn them on again next day), but that only happened once.

The hotel is really well positioned for the slopes. You can ski in/out on a blue run that passes right behind the hotel, although this was probably suited to a confident intermediate skier, unlike me! However, a short two minute walk across the road takes you to another blue run into Plagne Centre which was probably better suited to somebody of my more limited skills! However, if you're daunted by the sound of that, then you can also get the bus from the hotel (it stops right outside every 20mins) to the main foot of the slopes and the lift stations at Plagne Centre.

Plagne Soleil itself is small and very quiet (although that's partly why we chose it!). There are only a couple of bars and restaurants. However, the public transport links down to Plagne Centre are excellent and run late into the night, so if you want to make a bit more of your evening, its very easy to do so.

All in all, its only a three star hotel and, whilst its not going to light the world on fire, it was a lovely place to stay for the week and excellent value for money. We'd definitely stay there again next time we're in La Plagne.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hotel is brand new, rooms are spacy and location very good. Food was also quite good, with two choices of the main course, starter/salad bar and dessert table. Reception staff was a bit out of it but the restaurant staff was friendly. They did not speak much english but tried very hard with a smile:) It seems that all the problems with the staff was, that they did not know what they were suppose to do or say. Clearly management problems of a NEW hotel. Many "new hotel hick-ups". The electricity was out from time to time.
The "spa" was otherwise fine, but there were no showers there!! Two excellent sauna's, 3 hot tubs and a swimming pool with a view to the slopes. And sweaty people going into the waters, since NO SHOWERS! Allo! Is this french hygiency?
There were no chairs to change your ski boots in the ski locker room, so you had to change your boots in your room. But you had your own locked ski locker, so it was safe.

We very happy what we got with the price you offered.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Be warned everyone. This hotel which is 'planned to open for the 2008/2009 ski season' (Neilson), isn't finished, and to my non-builder's eye, doesn't look like it will be anytime soon. I know because I've seen it from a chair lift! We only found out the we'd be in a different hotel 5 days before we left home. Check with your travel agents now!

  • Liked — Looks nice from the outside!
  • Disliked — Nothing on the inside!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances

Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vancouver is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050 m. Its ideal situation enables you to ski to and from the hotel to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).You will be enchanted by the welcoming atmosphere of this hotel and by the high level of comfort in its bedrooms. All the shops are close to the hotel.The Hotel Vancouver offers quality facilities including entry to the indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.