We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in the heart of a fantastic ski resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances to your Saves list
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in the heart of a fantastic ski resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have never written a review before but I feel that due to the amount of unfair bad reviews this hotel has received of late, I am compelled to write my opinion.
This hotel was very nice and comfortable, although rather basic compared to others we have stayed in. If you want more hotel for your money, go to Austria! If you want fantastic skiing, good food and a place to sleep, stay here.
The hotel check in system was ok. They advise that you cannot have your room until 5pm and allow you to store your luggage in the hotels conference room. We arrived at 2pm so used this as an opportunity to walk around and have a look, both in the hotel and Plagne Soleil too. Plagne Soleil is quite small but has a good choice of restaurants and a few ski shops. Plagne Centre is much bigger and is only a short walk down the road, or you can get the free shuttle bus. I did ask at 4pm if there was any chance we could have our room and once they had checked with housekeeping, we were allowed in, so it is worth just asking at reception if you can have your room a bit earlier.
The ski in/ski out was not as complicated as people have made out. If you actually take the time to read the signs, you won't have any issues. Access is through the underground car park at the basement of the hotel, which is the same floor as the ski lockers. You have your own private ski locker which is opened with your room key and the most secure locker system I have ever come across in a hotel. The hotel is right on the Dou du Praz piste, a gentle blue which takes you straight into Plagne Centre. Getting back can be quite trickier, especially if you are not a fan of button lifts. You need to take the Colossus button from Plagne Bellecote which is quite steep in parts, so for young children or beginners could prove quite a challenge!
The rooms are basic but are comfortable and of a decent size. We had a room on the 5th floor but the lift only takes you to the 4th floor so you have to take stairs to the top. That said, there are only 5 rooms on the 5th floor and is extremely quiet. We had a fantastic view down the valley. Rooms were cleaned daily and towels where changed if you left them on the floor, custom in most hotels these days! The only downside to the rooms where no tea and coffee making facilities and the windows could do with a touch of windowlene to get them clean. Other than that, the bathroom was a decent size, the water was always hot and the beds were comfy. Rooms were warm, even without the radiators turned on.
We could not fault the meals once, and for a 3* hotel they were superb. The service by the waiting staff was efficient, friendly and polite and we were always greeted with a warm welcome and food was served quickly. Usually the starter was a help yourself buffet with plenty of fresh salads, breads, meats, cheeses, pasta, shellfish and soup. Main course and dessert was set each evening and was well presented, however if something didn’t appeal, they were happy to offer you an alternative. I had steak as an alternative on only one occasion and it was delicious. Breakfast was good but if you are used to a full cooked breakfast, you are likely to be disappointed, however you are in France, not England so you should expect them to do things differently! You had a good selection of teas, coffee and fruit juice and meals consisted of a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts, continental meats and cheeses, breads and pastries. There was a limited selection of hot food and this was mainly scrambled eggs, sautéed potatoes and bacon. There was still plenty to fill your boots with before a day on the slopes though.
The spa area was disappointing but we did use it twice and was ok to relax after a hard days skiing. The pool was extremely warm and the water was rather cloudy so you couldn’t do any proper swimming in it but it was the hot tubs which were the big let-down. Only 2 of the 3 were working and of those 2, the water wasn’t very warm. The water in the swimming pool was warmer. The spa area is also shared with residents from the adjoining Sun Valley apartments and gets very busy if you don’t get in early. We gave it a miss on the first day as we got there about 4.30 and it was packed. Between 3 and 4 seemed to be the best time.
Overall, this is a very good hotel in the heart of a fantastic ski resort which would suit people of all abilities. The whole ski area lift pass is definitely worth paying for and gives you the opportunity to ski over in Les Arcs too. I would certainly recommend this hotel as a place to stay in an amazing resort and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 504 on the top floor has a great view down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    20
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February 2012, it wasn't great then but we saw that there had been some good reviews, and based mostly on the location we decided to give it a second try in Feb 2013.

When we arrived at about 15:00 we were advised that rooms were not available until 17:00. This seems to be policy as there was also a sign to advise of this. There was available an unlocked communal room where bags could be left.

The restaurant was ok but hap-hazard with service. The food was good, it could have been much better if it was served on hot plates, but that is personal preference I suppose. The set menu system was fine for us. Drinks charges couldn't be applied to the room bill and it was a bit inconvenient to have to queue to pay for the drinks bill every evening.

I was really disappointed to find out on our last evening, that due to our early departure the following morning, there would be no breakfast provision for us. I appreciate that it isn't viable to open and cater for a full restaurant when only a few people are leaving early, but there was nothing, not even a drink or fruit.

The room was comfortable, the bed isn't the best but its ok, and the room was always warm. There was definitely a problem of sorts somewhere in the hotel as the smell in the main corridor of the first floor was very unpleasant, and remained for the full week of our stay. Luckily it didn't find its way into the room.

The wifi was great, always available free in reception, and possible in the rooms for a charge. We didn't use the room wifi though.

The hotel isn't very informative and it was only because we had stayed here before that we knew the way in and out of the boot room to the slope. It would be really useful to put some info in the rooms or in the boot room. Access to the slopes is good, it is via the underground car park and through an access under the apartments in the same block straight out onto the slope. Lots of people didn't know this and ended up walking out of the car park and the long way round to the slopes. There is a code for the door coming back in off the slope which we had known to ask for but others hadn't been told.

We didn't use the sauna/pool etc.

It is a nice hotel in a good spot, let down really by the small things, but sufficient to mean that our stay wasn't as comfortable as we would expect from a hotel of this rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having read some of the reviews for this hotel, we arrived in La Plagne with some trepidation! However, the exterior of the hotel looked very attractive and first impressions were good. When checking in, we were told that as they were full, we were being upgraded- great start! We had a family room which was really spacious and the other couple in our party had an apartment who was great for pre dinner drinks.
The really good points;
The breakfast option was more than satisfactory for me - plenty of fresh fruit and natural yoghurt. Hot food was more limited but I don't go for that so this didn't bother me at all. Dine was great. I am a very fussy eater and normally have to speak to management to request fat free options. There was a choice of main meals and if this didn't suit you, then you could select from 4-5 alternative mains and deserts for no extra cost. We had fabulous steak on 4 nights as an alternative.
The room was very warm but this was much better than being cold.
We had a locker in the basement boot room which was great for skis but as it wasn't heated, we took our boots up to our room - no hardship in this and they dried overnight.
Straight from the hotel onto the piste - truly ski in ski out - great! The adjacent piste was a blue but while the top part was a great ski in blue, the bottom part by the hotel was a little bit narrower but easy for those who have a couple of weeks under their belts.
The only downside was the hotel bar or rather the barman, Philippe. He wasn't particularly friendly on any of our visits! However, we just boycotted the bar and hung out in the reception area on the comfy chairs with fleece blankets. Brush up on your customer car skills Philippe as you alone let this hotel down. All other staff were fine and the restaurant manager was extremely competent (pity he is leaving to go to China in April).
The only negative comment that I could make was about the spa area. The changing rooms were unisex and the hot tubs weren't hot. One wasn't working, one was luke warm and one was cold. It was great sitting in the sauna behind tinted glass watching all the excited and delighted looks on the faces of the eager arrivals that made a beeline for the empty hot tub. They dipped one toe in and beat a hasty retreat! The pool was too cool for me as well. Hot water in the bathroom was only a problem on one occasion when, as a result of freezing temperatures (-22!), a lot of guests abandoned the slopes early and put an unusual demand on the hot water. An hour later and the water was hot again.
Overall, we had a great stay at his hotel.
To ski directly back to the hotel of an evening, you need to pick up the button lift from Belecote and you have a cruisey blue back to the door. Once you get off the button lift, take a break at the restaurant on the right and enjoy a vin chaud before taking the homeward cruisey blue to the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a front facing room with balcony with great views across La Plagne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed our week at Hotel le Vancouver in Plaigne Soleil in February 2013. Once we got used to the crowds and the queuing, we enjoyed the skiing. Fantastic snow in the whole area. Nice gentle wide runs over in Les Arcs for some nice carving, which I enjoyed more, and not as crowded there. Very friendly staff at the hotel and around the ski resort. To enjoy the ski in/ski out, you are required to manage a quite difficult drag lift. It could be a problem for inexperienced skiers and children and it is not pointed out. The other option was a couple of minutes walking up and down some slippery stairs to get to the slopes. We got a nice apartment on 5th floor. Very cozy and quiet with comfortble beds. Food was very good most nights. We were just disappointed over some dry chicken one night, but there was plenty of other good food so it wasn't a real problem. Staff very helpful to accommodate alternative options for fussy eaters, but they were much unorganized. We had to arrive right when they opened at 6.30 even if you weren't really hungry, because service went to a standstill after 7. We thought it was funny at first, we called it "Fawlty towers", but it got a little bit tiresome in the end of the week. The hot tubs were disgusting. Three small ones that fit four people each for both Hotel Le Vancouver and neighbouring Sun Valley apartments, of which one was off, one was ice cold and one was barely warm and had filthy foam floating around. People were passing around kids and toddlers in it. Very disappointing after a day of nice skiing. The ski guide Sam from Crystal ski was very good and keen, but the travel with Crystal ski was an absolute farce. Both arriving to and departing from Geneva, we had to struggle ourselves between the terminals because there wasn't a guide in sight. Makes you wonder why you pay for a package holiday. The bus couldn't park outside the main terminal for us who travelled with Easy jet so the driver continued to the charter terminal because there was no guide from Crystal ski present. They showed up after we managed on our own with the explanation that the bus was early. How about they considered to inconvenience themselves to get up early and wait for the bus instead of expecting us to wait for them. Pathetic!

Room Tip: We liked our aparmtent on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visit one (February 2010):
Just myself and partner in the hotel. We both though that the room and the food were great.
Having the swimming pool, sauna and steam room were a bonus, and we hadn't expected the use as previous reviews had said it was out of action. The evening meals were tasty, and there was not one night we didn't enjoy dinner. Though cheese night was a touch smelly! The hotel was still very new, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
One issue. The ski in/out hotel is true, but only if you are an intermediate or confidant beginner. I found out the hard way and hurt my knees on the first day… in true novice style!

Visit two (March 2012):
Last year we stayed with friends, 4 other adults and 2 children, in the chalet side. It was, in my opinion, not as good experience, but I think just preferred the hotel style while on holiday! As with 95% of chalets in France you don't get an oven, just a microwave grill. The living space was too small for all of us to sit around in the evening. Though the dinner table was. We only had one sofa between all of us, which wasn't ideal. It was great to have access to the swimming etc. as previous. There was a problem with the wifi, but as on holiday not overly bothered. It was more complicated having the children to get down to ski school, as this wasn't possible with their ability and the runs available, to ski there, but a bus did run from the front of the hotel.
Second time round I was much more comfortable skiing in and out of the hotel and took full advantage.

I have stayed in the Hotel Vancouver twice, which says something!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent location. We were concerned about previous reviews but needn't have been. The location is ski in/ski out but I wouldn't recommend this for children or less confident skiers. The staff were all very helpful with excellent English. Jose, the restaurant manager, is superb and the food is of a really good standard.
The pool/jacuzzi/sauna area is excellent - an added bonus for the hotel's location, room and food standard.
Don't be put off by negative reviews; this is a good hotel in a good location in a fantastic ski area. We had a lovely holiday here

Room Tip: Excellent location - ask for a room facing down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I feel compelled to write my first trip advisor review upon return 2 weeks ago from the worst hotel experience ever! Having travelled regularly with Crystal and generally been very happy with the service, I cannot fathom why the Hotel Le Vancouver at La Plagne Soleil continues to be included within their brochure. The company is fully aware of the level of client dissatisfaction through ongoing complaints, which the poor reps are constantly fielding.

It was like being in the sitcom, Faulty Towers, without the laughs! It felt as if the hotel was being run on a tight budget to keep it solvent. There was no safe in the room for passports and valuables and although advertised as ski in, ski out it hotel it wasn’t that simple. The badly signed access to the slopes took us half the week to discover and was across the hotel’s underground car park and out through the sister hotel, Le Sun Valley. I finally flipped after 3 days without hot water even on returning to the hotel at 5.30, which was easily remedied by turning up the thermostatic control! The hotel also ran out of pillows, was reluctant to provide a second loo roll, failed to replace dirty towels and provided the most unappetising and a limited selection of food at both breakfast and dinner that I have ever experienced in all the years of travelling with Crystal. There was nothing to look forward to on returning to the hotel of an evening!

The staff were rude and untrained in customer care and the restaurant (approx 120 covers) was understaffed, which led to delays of over an hour in getting seated let alone served at dinner. There was no water at breakfast and only Liptons tea bags, sachets of hot chocolate and filter coffee. The 3 course set menu was hugely disappointing and although there was an a la carte menu it was on a need to know basis, ie the staff knew but were reluctant to tell the clients. It wasn’t a bad miss as the choice wasn’t inspiring including such French dishes as cheese and tomato pizza, carbonara and spaghetti bolognaise! A hint of sarcasm may be detected here. Desserts included fruit salad and ice cream!

Service was disorganised with clients being offered dessert before they’d had their main and drinks they hadn’t even ordered. There was no salad bar and the staff were more intent on setting the tables for the next meal than serving. On average our meals took up to 3 hours and on New Year’s eve meant we were unable to get to Plagne Bellcotte to see in the new year.

Having said all that La Plagne is a great set of resorts which are well connected. The Cap du Nord bar located in the centre of Soleil is lovely, as is the restaurant Au Coin du Feu above it, which we ate at on our last night having had enough of the hotel. Scotties in La Plagne Centre serves amazing chilli nachos and burgers. Well worth a visit for lunch. And if you love your skiing, get a discovery pass which allows a days skiing over in Les Arcs.

This wasn’t a cheap holiday and I believe it is unfair for Crystal to expect the local reps to have to continually deal with the level of complaints they obviously receive when the hotel is not up to Crystal’s usual standard. Please remove it from your brochure and save a lot of disappointment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear client, we are sorry if you did not really enjoy your stay in our hotel.
In fact you staid during the first very busy week of the season, and in the ski resorts most of the hotels are only open during the winter season so the staff is not always used to work together.
For this reason too, you may have not all service you are used to find in city hotels, like safe box in the room or minibar (you have a bar in the hotel).
But a safe box is at the disposal of the clients at the reception if necessary and only the manager of the hotel has the code.
The hotel was fully booked and a lot of client of the residence nearby has reserved the half board too, that is why the restaurant and its staff may have been a bit overcrowded during this week. They were perhaps not as much attentive to your needs as you'd hoped.
It is always possible to change a meal in the restaurant, or to choose another menu than the one proposed.
Concerning the slope access, the slope to leave the hotel is 20m far from the door of the reception, you may ski back with this slope, or another one, which is 200m from the hotel near by the ski school for children.
We did not have a problem with warm water in the hotel, we did not have other claim about this problem.
Concerning the towels, as in most of the hotel around the world now we have an ecological approach : the towels has been changed only if client let them on the floor. If they hang it, it is because they want to use it again. It is notified in the bathroom
The staff of the hotel is always at your disposal if something is missing in the room, and is always taking care of the feedback of the rep of the tour operators which is also the link between us and the client.
As you may see with the other opinions since New year we have done a significant effort and we hope to welcome you next season.
Anyway we thank you for all your remarks and it will help us to improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances

Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vancouver is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050 m. Its ideal situation enables you to ski to and from the hotel to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).You will be enchanted by the welcoming atmosphere of this hotel and by the high level of comfort in its bedrooms. All the shops are close to the hotel.The Hotel Vancouver offers quality facilities including entry to the indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.