We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location, fab food, variable service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Carlina to your Saves list
Hotel Carlina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucks
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location, fab food, variable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a really nice hotel. We spent a week here as 2 families ski-ing and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The hotel really is ski in - ski out which makes so much difference.
Price wise - compared to chalet option, we thought it was very reasonable.
The food is fantastic. Breakfast has a huge selection of options, including a hot option everyday.
The quality of the food at dinner was also excellent.
In addition, there is afternoon tea served - croissants & cake.
Service was generally very good - seemed like a family run hotel and the majority of staff were friendly and keen to help in any way possible.
The rooms were a reasonable size for ski accomadation - but it is a ski hotel so don't expect lots of space / storage.
Only issues we had (hence not 5/5) were one unfriendly member of staff, slow (at times very!) arrival of food in the evening - which given it was a set menu every night was surprising, it seemed that the kitchen just could not cope, we also were kept waiting several hours for our room on arrival day.
Overall though we really liked this hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This human-sized hotel really makes the difference with a professional and discreet, responsive care that made our stay a special moment of relaxation and rest.
After skiing, we were able to relax in a "real" SPA and rest quietly at the bar near the fireplace.
Everything was perfect, and this is what we expect from a four star hotel.
The little extra: For Christmas each child found a small gift under the tree for the reception.
In short, we almost felt like being with family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We choose this hotel, even for Tripadvisor review, but we was very very disappointment.
We found it very poor of space and rooms dimension, very poor for food choice and insufficient for SPA and facility, for onesty is to say that it have a perfect location for ski, it is into the slope and in one minute skiing you can be in the skiarea center, but cannot be enought to exhibit the 4 stars!
When i made my complains to Caroline Arpin the proprietress, this was her response!
" In France, told me Mrs. Arpin , this is the classification!
She told me that 's normal ! France hotels are less comfortable respect Italians, Austrians and Suisse hotels, she said to me all the France hotels has tiny rooms and bathrooms, she know that in Italy and Austria alpine resorts you usually find hotels a lot more comfortable, but if you want comparate a Italian or Austrian alpine 4 stars hotels in France you have to choose a 5 Stars or more!! Incredible!!
The standard room is 3,70 x 3,20 mt., a bath which is 1,70 x 1,30 mt.(!?) a toilette space which is 0,70x 1,10 mt., there is only a table ( cm.35 x 90) and a chair, but if you are luck as us ( but only because we complained) they give you the largest standard room that is for three people, you find even a sofà bed that further reduces the available space!!
At dinner there was only 3 course menù ( 1 appetizer, 1 main course and 1 dessert) and minimum amount , only after another complain we had a little more choice and salads.
Never seen buffets, never seen fresh fruits, and listen to me! There is a nice dining room with very nice Savoiard style furniture but on table you find paper tablecloths!!! At dinner in a 4 stars hotel is unaceptable.
But the most of ridicolousness is the SPA!! How can they call that a SPA is a mistery. They only have a 4x5 mt. swimmingpool a two people whirpool, a 1,8 x 2,5 mt. Finnish sauna ( without the indispensable hourglass) and a little steambath at all! No sauna relax area , no beds after sauna, no dressing room, non even water to drink after sauna and noisy childrens close to the sauna
area! Very very very unlivable!
Many things we could tell about but i think is enought , this cannot be a 4 stars hotel , but the rates are like a 4 superior or even a 5 stars that you can find in Italy or Austria!
I've seen many reviews are from English people , evidently they never went in Italy South Tirol or Austria because are incomprehensible their ratings about Carlina. I'm available for suggests about Italy or Austria alpine resort s and hotels were find amazing facilities and quality and better food, contact me. Our suggest is DON'T GO TO CARLINA HOTEL!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was already 4 times in this hotel and really liked it. The service is very good, beautifully serve the dinners, and the best is its location, which allows input and output of the ski slopes with ease. The terrace is quite large, and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

You could not argue that the Carlina is in a perfect position if you are a Skier, you can Ski to and from the Hotel every day. The Hotel itself is quite high at 2050 mtrs this did cause a few breathless moments for one of our party, especially in getting to sleep. The staff are friendly and will always help, the Restaurant food other than one night when our Steak needed sharper teeth than a human being has, was good ,varied and well presented. There was a swimming pool, looked good but not used by us. Our room had everything you would expect with plenty of space and good ensuite facilities. One question why is it not possible to have the Shower head mounted to the wall on a bracket instead of having to hand hold it and spray water everywhere ?. This was the second Hotel we stayed at in France that had what to us was an unessessary inconvieniance. Overall it is proberbly the best Hotel in La Plagne with the setting and Spa facilities, you know it is not going to be a bargain break but if you dont mind paying for something that is better than normal then this is the place for you. Yes we did enjoy our stay there and would certainly return, maybe next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room No; 40 overlooking the front and Piste not noisey and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Had one weeks stay at the Carlina in Feb.2 weeks ago with Crystal holidays. Great location. Lovely hotel, staff very friendly. The sun terrance is great with extensive lunches at reasonable prices. Recommended.Carol.Devon

Room Tip: South facing would be best, but a lot more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford, england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a large adult party. Very good rooms with view of the piste and nice balconies, the food was excellent and best of all the hotel was perfect for ski convenience being situated on the side of the piste between Belle Plagne and Plagne Bellcotte.
This run is ok for skiers of all standards and is an easy ski back from the village after Apre-Ski.
Belle Plagne is a pretty family based resort and is limited in terms of apres-ski with a few small bars. The hotel has a large sunny terrace which would be great in late season and has a nice spa with a small but adequate pool. On the downside, the hotel is a long-ish walk up the hill to the village and the ski -school meeting places for those with children so probably better for experienced skiers who will go striaght off via Bellecotte.
Excellent friendly service.
If you visit La Plagne then a day in Les Arcs is well worth it, more varied and challenging ski-ing and lovely runs through the trees back to Piessey-Vallandry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlina

Address: Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlina 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Carlina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.