We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent appartments in Belle Plagne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Centaure & Spa

Save Saved
You added Residence Le Centaure & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent appartments in Belle Plagne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Le Centaure apartments for one week, from 6 April 2013. I would wholeheartedly recommend Le Centaure as an excellent place for a family to stay.

We had a great week skiing in La Plagne. We were very lucky as there was a lot of snow but very few people as it was almost the end of the season. There were no queues at any of the lifts and few other skiers on the slopes.

I booked the holiday independently without going through a tour company. This meant that I had freedom to choose our flights, accommodation, transfer, ski school and where to hire ski equipment. In practice booking all this was fairly simple. The details below should help.

The Le Centaure hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly consider staying at another of the MMV hotels again next time we go to France. If we were to return to La Plagne I would be looking to book at Le Centaure again.

We stayed in a “Two bed plus alcove” apartment. The apartment was perfect for us and had plenty of space. We wanted the separate bedrooms so that our two kids could go to bed at different times without waking each other up. The room may officially sleep 8 but personally I would find it that a bit of a squeeze.

The apartment had two double bedrooms, one of which had an en-suite bathroom. There was an additional bedroom, the “alcove”, with a bunk bed. There is also a separate bathroom, without toilet and then a separate toilet. The lounge area is generously sized and has a big TV and a double sofa bed. The kitchen is large and well equipped, with a table that would just about fit 8.

The room was in good condition and was clean. There was a nice balcony area overlooking the slopes and the lounge area had a flame effect fire. One nice touch was the included mini-pack of kitchen essentials - a small bottle of washing up liquid, one dishwasher tablet per day, washing up cloth, etc.

The hotel has a nice pool with great views of the slopes. We used the pool a couple of times when we took and afternoon off from skiing. The second time we were in the pool we were the only people there. The pool area also contains the spa where I had a very good massage. Note that there are only 4 changing rooms in the pool so it could get busy during high season – but that was never an issue for us.

In the village centre there are a number of restaurants and shops and a bowling alley. For food we can recommend Le Cheyenne Café where we went a couple of times .

There are a few points for this holiday that are worth knowing:
(1) Booking the Hotel – we booked though www.booking.com.

(2) Flight and Transfer - we flew into Geneva using Easyjet. (There are useful flight details here: http://www.smittenbysnow.com/travel-air.cfm) From Geneva we had a private transfer from a company called Alpes Logistique Transport (http://www.alpestransports.com/). Their service was very good, providing a large 8 seater van with snow tyres. This cost 270 Euros each way. This sounds a lot but it was the cheapest quote we had and it is a long car journey. With no traffic the journey is around 2 ½ hours each way.

The cheapest (non-train) option that I found was to go by coach (http://www.bensbus.co.uk/) for £74 (around 90 Euros) per person return. However, the bus times didn’t match our flights well and it takes longer than a private transfer. Hiring a car may be a cheaper option but then you have to pay road tolls, ensure that you have snow tyres/chains and pay for parking at the resort. The train doesn’t seem an easy option for La Plagne (the local station is Aime La Plagne) but it is the cheapest option. You can try here http://www.raileurope.co.uk for details – when I checked it was a 6 hr journey with two changes each way.

(3) Arriving by car. There is an underground car park in Belle Plagne with two levels. There are some bays for Le Centaure immediately below the hotel. To get to these you have to drive to almost the end of the car park. There are a few signs telling you to keep going for Le Centaur. From each level it is only a few steps up or down, to the hotel reception on the 6th floor. We were there at the end of the season and the car park (and the resort as a whole) was only 10% full.

(4) Ski Lessons – we went with a company called Oxygene (http://www.oxygene-ski.com/la-plagne-ski-and-snowboard-school.htm) and they were excellent.

Our first lesson started off by getting the cable car down to Plagne Bellecote to go to the Debutants area with the simple magic carpet lifts. Our youngest child, aged 7, was in a group of 6 children with one ski instructor and a second ski helper. The instructor did the teaching and the helper went at the back helping up any children that needed assistance. Our other child, aged 10, learned with a beginners adult group together with us. By the second day the children were skiing on simple Blue runs. There were two beginners adult groups for different levels and people moved between the two groups as necessary. Our groups were pretty small, on average around 4 or 5 people per instructor and the beginners instruction was extremely good. These lessons cost 190 Euros each for 6 mornings. While we were there we were offered 5 afternoons of ski lessons for our youngest for just 50 Euros, which we took up. However, in practice our youngest only went a couple of times. Being a new skier doing two lessons a day, every day, was simply too much.

On the last day of our lesson all the Oxygene ski school trainees and teachers went for lunch together. So the morning lesson stretched into about 3pm. On this day the children were awarded medals indicating their ski ability.

(Note that there is an ESF ski school “Jardin d’enfants ESF” immediately outside of the hotel but this is for under 6s so we did not use it.)

(5) Ski passes - Oxygene provided the La Plagne lift passes for 145 Euros for adults and 110 Euros for children. This total cost of 510 Euros was much cheaper than buying lift passes separately which would have been about 750 Euros for a family pass. (Note that this lift pass did not cover Les Arcs but that was not an issue for us.)

(6) Hotel Location and Ski Hire - Le Centaure is at the top of the Belle Plagne village. This means that you can ski into the village centre (where the ski school met and the main cable car lift is) but have to walk back up. Alternatively you can ski from certain runs (top of the Arpete lift from Plagne Bellecote) back to the hotel itself. However, we generally found that we ended up in the centre of town so walked back to the hotel.

We were a family of beginners so could not ski down to the town centre at the start of the holiday. Carrying all our ski equipment from the hotel to the town centre on the first day was a long slog – especially as our youngest could not carry her own equipment. So after the first day we left our ski equipment at the Intersport in the town centre where I had hired the equipment. I chose Intersport as it was the closest ski hire shop to the ski school meeting point (bottom of the Tyrolian ski lift) and the cable car. Each day we walked to the centre of town in our shoes and put our ski equipment on in the Intersport, leaving our shoes there. Being able to do this made a big difference for us. Putting on the ski equipment in the Intersport was also easier than doing so in the boot room at the hotel as the boot room was a bit cramped and had few seats.

The Intersport was generally empty and had some nice seats in front of an open fire. The Intersport staff were very helpful and had no problem with us leaving our equipment there. (It may be different during busier parts of the season though.) At the end of the day we could leave your ski equipment at Intersport and go straight to the restaurants in the village centre.

There is a map of the town at the following link – the hotel is at number 23, the ski school meeting point is number 45 and the Intersport is number 10 in the Centre Commercial on page 2:
http://www.laplagnet.com/item_files/belle_plagne_town_map.pdf

(7) Getting into town on foot - from our room on the 6th floor, the fastest way to walk into town was to go along the covered walk way from reception (also on the 6th floor) and then get the lift down to ground level. This takes you out opposite a small Spar supermarket. There is another walkway down the side of the Spar. Go down that alley and there is a second lift that takes you down to the centre of the village. (Note that there is a second, much larger Spar, in the centre of the village.)

(8) The ski area from a beginners perspective – we found the ski area to be great for beginners with plenty of beginners Blue runs. La Plagne only has one Green run. However, if that is what green runs are generally like, then even for beginners it is too easy. Additionally, such flat slopes are actually not much fun as it can be hard to get enough speed up to keep going over any rises and you end up pushing yourself along with poles. You can see a map of the pistes here:
http://www.laplagnet.com/item_files/paradiski_piste_map.pdf

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 16 till 23 march this year. Great appartment! We (2 persons in total) had an appartment with one bedroom on the first floor. The living area with kitchen was very well furnished. Bathroom was large (shower, bath, toilet) and we also had a separate toilet. Bed was fine, but the pillows were really bad, so bring your own if this is important for you.

Within 20 footsteps we were on the slopes! La Plagne has a wonderfull skiarea. The Spar-supermarket is about 5 minutes to walk. The center of the village Belle Plagne with bakery and other shops is 15 minutes walking.

The swimmingpool is small, it can be very busy here after skiing. The use of the Spa facilities was not clear to us. In the information of our touroperator it was said all was included. The use of the Spa (also sauna) is free for 1 hour per person or per appartment (?) and you have to make a reservation for this. At check-inn we weren't well informed that you have to make a reservation for the use of the sauna. At the end we could not use these facilities.
But this was not dissappointing our vacation. We had a great time here and recommand these belle appartment in Belle Plagne!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

These apartments are fantastic. Modern, clean and have all self catering equipment you need. Great location for experienced and intermediate skiers and families. The Ski in Ski out location was a real plus. Really recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We would thoroughly recommend these apartments. We stayed in a 3 bed and it was very comfortable. Fire in the lounge and DVD player. Beds were comfy. For some reason they didn't make up the kids beds but easily sorted! The pool was lovely too but it shares the entrance to the spa and we got told off for being noisy while we were dressing. It would have been better if they redesigned this area to separate the children from the grown ups wanting peace and quiet. It's well located with easy access to the ski school meeting point.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in January while skiing and it was a great choice. Our main requirements were ski-in/ski-out, self-catering, comfortable and reasonably priced. This seemed to fit all those criteria, and we weren't disappointed.

The apartment was clean and spacious, and the bed was fairly comfortable (I'm very fussy when it comes to beds). The apartment had all the amenities that you could want (oven, microwave, hob, dishwasher etc...), and downstairs there is a ski-room that has individual lockers for each apartment for you to keep you skis, boots, boards etc... safely locked away.

The location is right on the slopes - you literally have a max 10 meter walk between piste and locker room. The staff on reception are very friendly and helpful, and we loved the option to order fresh bread and croissants etc... in the evening to collect from reception the following morning. There is a small Spar supermarket about 5 minutes walk from the apartment, and the main centre of Belle Plagne is 7-10 minutes walk where there are several restaurants and bars, take-away pizza etc... as well as sports shops, tourist shops, a larger Spar supermarket and the gondola station that operates until late night to go between Belle Plagne and Plagne Bellecote just down the slopes.

The only bad points of our holiday were all around Crystal Ski and Thomson Airways - don't ever go with them - there are other operators that have these apartments available, or you can of course book direct, so just steer clear of Crystal/Thomson and you can't go wrong (and of course this doesn't have anything directly to do with the apartments so I've only added it as a helpful hint!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed 12th January until 19th January 2013. Party of 4 my two grown up sons ,wife and self. Really good stay and this place was real ski in ski out.
We paid for the early arrival which meant we got our apartment at 1200hrs which was great and well worth the money. Beds made up on arrvial so we had all of Saturady to settle in and look around.
The hotel is at th top of the resort and as it has no real sign posts/directions.Be aware the last 200metres are vey steep up to the entrace of thundeground parkng and we struggled to get the car up to the upper level.Entrance is then gained via the car park again the hotel is the last one at the very top of the car park. We arived early so parkng was easy but on going to the car later that day I can see what heearly poster meant abou limited parking spaces.
That to me was the only real downside as stated the staf werereally friendly and helpful. The apartment was realy spacious and to a very high stanard. We had what we thought was the 2 bedroom for 8 persons, this turned out to be two double bedrooms ,one on-suite with another room with bunk beds. living areawasvery comfortable with a seperate dinning/kitchen area. it was nice to have a proper full oven instead of the usual in ski apartments duel microwave/oven. We had a TV and DVD which again was nice not having to pay for the remotes like in most ski apartments.
The ski lockers were in a small roomwhich at times could get busy and the only way to access this locker rom on the first floor was by the lift. Again at times you struggled to get a lift.
Acces to the main resort is by covered walk ways and the nearest small spa is only 5 minutes walk away. Te rest of the shops are then accessed via lifts and walkways agin only about 10 minutes walk. Small but good selection of shops and, bars and resturants and foe ski resorts not badly priced.
The apartments are getting renovated but are already of a high standard. This was one of the bbest loactions I have been to for skiing with the combination of comfort, access to the slopes with the resort being in the centre of the ski area and the easy access to shops etc.
For coples with small children this is ideal with the childrens slope school being directly outside the apartment straight across from the locker room.
All in all great and I would go bck to this residence.

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms had aview of the slopes and in good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A splendid place for a week's skiing; absolutely on the slopes - genuine ski-in ski-out and with stunning views. The apartment itself was spacious, clean, well-equipped and well organised with a large double bedroom (with ensuite), huge convertible sofa-bed (very comfortable) in the sitting room, and a cramped (but fine for kids) twin bunk room. There's another bathroom and a separate wc.

The nearest shop is a 5-minute walk away through the snow, as is the ski school. The indoor swimming pool and spa are wonderful, with huge glass walls and spectacular views.

The staff at reception were charming, friendly and extremely helpful, and you can borrow all sorts of useful kit from them (ironing boards, fondue sets, raclette machines, etc, as well as an extensive choice of English language DVDs for use on the player in your apartment).

BUT... if you've paid for parking, you might expect to find a parking space available. No such luck! We had to double-park in the underground garage (on the instructions of Reception; there was nowhere else to go) and were extremely miffed (but not surprised) to find a dent in our car by the end of the first day. Management should be ashamed of themselves, and should recognise that, if they don't do something about the parking they will find that a lot of people like us will not return. If they sort it, then they can expect us back as regular, satisfied guests. for many years to come.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Le Centaure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Centaure & Spa

Address: Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Residence Le Centaure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Centaure & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.