We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Centaure & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Le Centaure & Spa to your Saves list
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great appartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 16 till 23 march this year. Great appartment! We (2 persons in total) had an appartment with one bedroom on the first floor. The living area with kitchen was very well furnished. Bathroom was large (shower, bath, toilet) and we also had a separate toilet. Bed was fine, but the pillows were really bad, so bring your own if this is important for you.

Within 20 footsteps we were on the slopes! La Plagne has a wonderfull skiarea. The Spar-supermarket is about 5 minutes to walk. The center of the village Belle Plagne with bakery and other shops is 15 minutes walking.

The swimmingpool is small, it can be very busy here after skiing. The use of the Spa facilities was not clear to us. In the information of our touroperator it was said all was included. The use of the Spa (also sauna) is free for 1 hour per person or per appartment (?) and you have to make a reservation for this. At check-inn we weren't well informed that you have to make a reservation for the use of the sauna. At the end we could not use these facilities.
But this was not dissappointing our vacation. We had a great time here and recommand these belle appartment in Belle Plagne!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

These apartments are fantastic. Modern, clean and have all self catering equipment you need. Great location for experienced and intermediate skiers and families. The Ski in Ski out location was a real plus. Really recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We would thoroughly recommend these apartments. We stayed in a 3 bed and it was very comfortable. Fire in the lounge and DVD player. Beds were comfy. For some reason they didn't make up the kids beds but easily sorted! The pool was lovely too but it shares the entrance to the spa and we got told off for being noisy while we were dressing. It would have been better if they redesigned this area to separate the children from the grown ups wanting peace and quiet. It's well located with easy access to the ski school meeting point.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in January while skiing and it was a great choice. Our main requirements were ski-in/ski-out, self-catering, comfortable and reasonably priced. This seemed to fit all those criteria, and we weren't disappointed.

The apartment was clean and spacious, and the bed was fairly comfortable (I'm very fussy when it comes to beds). The apartment had all the amenities that you could want (oven, microwave, hob, dishwasher etc...), and downstairs there is a ski-room that has individual lockers for each apartment for you to keep you skis, boots, boards etc... safely locked away.

The location is right on the slopes - you literally have a max 10 meter walk between piste and locker room. The staff on reception are very friendly and helpful, and we loved the option to order fresh bread and croissants etc... in the evening to collect from reception the following morning. There is a small Spar supermarket about 5 minutes walk from the apartment, and the main centre of Belle Plagne is 7-10 minutes walk where there are several restaurants and bars, take-away pizza etc... as well as sports shops, tourist shops, a larger Spar supermarket and the gondola station that operates until late night to go between Belle Plagne and Plagne Bellecote just down the slopes.

The only bad points of our holiday were all around Crystal Ski and Thomson Airways - don't ever go with them - there are other operators that have these apartments available, or you can of course book direct, so just steer clear of Crystal/Thomson and you can't go wrong (and of course this doesn't have anything directly to do with the apartments so I've only added it as a helpful hint!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed 12th January until 19th January 2013. Party of 4 my two grown up sons ,wife and self. Really good stay and this place was real ski in ski out.
We paid for the early arrival which meant we got our apartment at 1200hrs which was great and well worth the money. Beds made up on arrvial so we had all of Saturady to settle in and look around.
The hotel is at th top of the resort and as it has no real sign posts/directions.Be aware the last 200metres are vey steep up to the entrace of thundeground parkng and we struggled to get the car up to the upper level.Entrance is then gained via the car park again the hotel is the last one at the very top of the car park. We arived early so parkng was easy but on going to the car later that day I can see what heearly poster meant abou limited parking spaces.
That to me was the only real downside as stated the staf werereally friendly and helpful. The apartment was realy spacious and to a very high stanard. We had what we thought was the 2 bedroom for 8 persons, this turned out to be two double bedrooms ,one on-suite with another room with bunk beds. living areawasvery comfortable with a seperate dinning/kitchen area. it was nice to have a proper full oven instead of the usual in ski apartments duel microwave/oven. We had a TV and DVD which again was nice not having to pay for the remotes like in most ski apartments.
The ski lockers were in a small roomwhich at times could get busy and the only way to access this locker rom on the first floor was by the lift. Again at times you struggled to get a lift.
Acces to the main resort is by covered walk ways and the nearest small spa is only 5 minutes walk away. Te rest of the shops are then accessed via lifts and walkways agin only about 10 minutes walk. Small but good selection of shops and, bars and resturants and foe ski resorts not badly priced.
The apartments are getting renovated but are already of a high standard. This was one of the bbest loactions I have been to for skiing with the combination of comfort, access to the slopes with the resort being in the centre of the ski area and the easy access to shops etc.
For coples with small children this is ideal with the childrens slope school being directly outside the apartment straight across from the locker room.
All in all great and I would go bck to this residence.

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms had aview of the slopes and in good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A splendid place for a week's skiing; absolutely on the slopes - genuine ski-in ski-out and with stunning views. The apartment itself was spacious, clean, well-equipped and well organised with a large double bedroom (with ensuite), huge convertible sofa-bed (very comfortable) in the sitting room, and a cramped (but fine for kids) twin bunk room. There's another bathroom and a separate wc.

The nearest shop is a 5-minute walk away through the snow, as is the ski school. The indoor swimming pool and spa are wonderful, with huge glass walls and spectacular views.

The staff at reception were charming, friendly and extremely helpful, and you can borrow all sorts of useful kit from them (ironing boards, fondue sets, raclette machines, etc, as well as an extensive choice of English language DVDs for use on the player in your apartment).

BUT... if you've paid for parking, you might expect to find a parking space available. No such luck! We had to double-park in the underground garage (on the instructions of Reception; there was nowhere else to go) and were extremely miffed (but not surprised) to find a dent in our car by the end of the first day. Management should be ashamed of themselves, and should recognise that, if they don't do something about the parking they will find that a lot of people like us will not return. If they sort it, then they can expect us back as regular, satisfied guests. for many years to come.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here in Dec 2011/Jan 2012 sharing a two bedroom apartment with five friends. The apartment was great; spacious master bedroom with double bed and en suite, bunk room, comfy sofa bed and shared bathroom. The showers were great - powerful and never short of hot water. The kitchen was well equipped (oven, hob, big fridge, microwave, coffee machine etc) and allowed us to cook in a few times and use the large dining table in the living room. There was a decent tv with built-in dvd player which was handy as bad conditions kept us inside one day.

The staff at reception were really helpful and friendly (very good for France ;-) ). Always willing to help and spoke great english so most of our questions were answered. They also took orders for a local bakery so we could collect fresh, hot bread in the morning from reception - a nice touch.

There was also a pool and spa area which was nice. There were two free passes to the spa with our booking which was nice - it has the usual features (sauna, jacuzzi etc) and is nice enough. The only thing I would mention is that you have to book a slot to use the spa - so don't walk down in your swimwear without booking!

The location was great too - proper ski in/out - about 30m from one of the runs which leads down to the main chairlifts.

All of our party had a great time and a lot of that was down to the accommodation - great facilities, helpful staff and good value for money. I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

Hope you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Le Centaure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Centaure & Spa

Address: Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Le Centaure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Centaure & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.