We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxed stay and well catered for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chillchalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourg Saint Maurice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillchalet
Save
You added Chillchalet to your Saves list
139 Rue Desserteaux, 73700 Bourg Saint Maurice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxed stay and well catered for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March, myself, my husband and 10year old daughter so we could ski. Friends had turned up their noses at staying at the bottom of the mountain but what tosh! Chill chalet is literally opposite the funiculaire which takes 10mins and opens before the ski lifts open up the mountain. Chill chalet was clean, comfortable and friendly. Fabulous food and delicious desserts! Teresa, Roan and Tyrone really looked after us. The rooms are nicely proportioned (three of us stayed in one room) and really comfy with lovely bed linen. Nothing was too much trouble even offering to give my husband a ski lesson. Would definitely go back if the husband can be persuaded that skiing is the best sport ever!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
13
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Owner spent time with us as we were only guest at hotel late in the ski season and before the summer season. Girls working the property were very friendly and we enjoyed their company. I would definitely stay again. it is not the Ritz by any means but you are not paying the Ritz prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Chill Chalet twice (old owners and new) and both times were great. The most recent was with our two young sons just for three days to give them their first experience of skiing. Tyrone, Teresa and Roan were lovely, easy going and friendly but also polite and professional. Teresa in particular was so helpful, giving us suggestions for other activities (looking up times of swimming pool sessions) in case the boys didn't like skiing (thankfully they did!). We were given a very warm welcome on arrival from the train first thing in the morning and offered breakfast even though we weren't really entitiled to it. It was the same when we were leaving, we came in from the slopes and we were offered tea and something to eat before we left to get the train. Even though they squeezed us in (at our request) so we were in one room by the kitchen, we all slept well. Roan's food was just fine, both for us and the kids, in fact a bit healthier than some of the gourmet chalets I have been to when I usually end up gaining unwanted weight. They are generous with the wine too! Upstairs is spacious but feels cosy and they are plenty of decent films to choose from. Everything was clean, comfortable and in working order. The value for money is excellent, but it is the three lovely people running it that make it special!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After staying in many dodgy hotels over the years,it was a plesant surprise to arrive at the chill chalet.We all had a great stay ,with excellent customer service.good luck to the new owners who couldn't have made us more welcome.i would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The first time I stayed at ChillChalet last year I thought it was good and we decided to stay there again this year. We were aware of the ownership change but it didn't stop us and it's just gotten better, Trip Advisor need to add an extra star especially for Tyrone, Teresa & Roans efforts.

Pro's :-

Free usage of boards and bindings!
Boards regularly waxed and serviced at no charge
A stones throw from the train and bus station.
5 min walk to the Funi
The food, ohh my its just excellent and lovingly made, a hearty breakfast, homemade soup at 4pm and a top restaurant quality meal at 8pm
Clean and Tidy
Rates are excellent for the services provided!
Tyrone Teresa & Roan make a fantastic trio of hosts and nothing seems to be to much trouble

Con's

I want this lifestyle all the time now!...
I've put on 3lbs

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second visit to Chill Chalet and turned out to be even better than the last time! I organised the trip but my friends were very impressed the result too. Chillchalet is a great place, which is really well set-up for skiing and snowboarding and a perfect place to come if you cant do a Saturday to Saturday stay. Overall the Chillchalet team made our ski holiday one of the best we have had and also one of the cheapest. We saved money on our flight by using the great selection of boards that they had to offer and by taking advantage of being able to take a packed lunch with us on the mountain. The food was great and Les Arc is now my favourite resort with so much to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked our trip last minute and Tyrone couldn't have been more helpful with getting everything organized.
Roan made us feel at home as soon as we arrived and although we only stayed for three days we felt as if we'd been there for weeks! The food was amazing - and we loved Teresa's après ski soup - great idea! Mealtimes were also great fun - and Roan had lots of tips for our budding chef daughter! Our son wanted to try out snowboarding, so an instructor was found and we borrowed one of the chalet's snowboards.
The location is also fab - ski hire opposite and funicular round the corner (we parked in the free car park there each day).
Couldn't recommend Chill Chalet highly enough - these guys have been running it since August, so ignore the negative comment from last year - it's irrelevant now! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chillchalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillchalet

Address: 139 Rue Desserteaux, 73700 Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bourg Saint Maurice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Chalet is an independent, family run chalet that offers a great location to explore some of the best mountains in the world. Our excellent hearty food, comfortable accommodation and relaxed atmosphere make us a great option for your adventure in the French alps.We took over Chill Chalet in August and have made some noticeable change to the menu and overall guest experience.We are in the heart of Bourg St Maurice which is a lively market town at the base of the mountain situated only few minutes walk from the funicular up to Les Arcs. We own and manage the Chill Chalet ourselves, so we are always here and on hand to make sure your holiday is enjoyable and you get the great service! We also benefit from the convenience and choice of local shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and rental locations without resort inflated prices just a stone throw from the chalet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chillchalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.