We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised everything .... delivered nothing .....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chillchalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourg Saint Maurice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillchalet
Save
You added Chillchalet to your Saves list
139 Rue Desserteaux, 73700 Bourg Saint Maurice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Promised everything .... delivered nothing .....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

After considerable email and telephone communications with Chill Chalet it seems the perfect set up for our holiday – how wrong we were!! We arrived after being delayed by 4 hours to an absolutely filthy chalet, with no beds made up, half the light bulbs not working, a bathroom which was completely out of order and stank to high heaven. However, we had to ignore all this, as we had 4 hungry two year olds who needed feeding and as agreed at the outset a kids tea was to be provided on arrival at 5pm – however the fridge was bare (and remained so for the majority of the week). We decamped to the nearest cafe for omelettes and a very large beer.

We finally ventured back to the chalet where things only got worse – the Italian coffee machine had been replaced by a jar in cheap instance coffee, the apple TV was now a pile of 18 rated DVDs, the orthopaedic mattresses replaced with 2” pieces of foam (luckily the weather was excellent so we were able to spend a couple of hours in a deck chair on the slopes each morning which were 100% times more comfortable than the beds – particularly on the bottom floor), the ‘reading room’ had shrunk and was an extension of the corridor, the fully stocked bar had been raided and was no longer stocked .... the list goes on. After numerous conversation with the owners, Chillchalet acknowledged that they were in breach of their promises and after a couple of days offered a full refund if we moved out that afternoon. Despite taking a whole afternoon off from skiing we couldn’t find anywhere that would take us all at such short notice and during the French half term – so we stayed.

Moving onto the services offered – we jumped at the chance of using the Alpine Childcare service (which is owned by the chalet). However, once again we were let down; again Chillchalet recognised there errors and returned the booking fee.

I could go on forever, but I won’t – but I will mention the food – which is always a top priority following a day on the slopes. The first couple of nights started off well, and then rapidly deteriorated, with the final night being served up an inedible mouldy potato and cheap bacon concoction followed by burnt processed apple pie. The childrens’ food was predominately cooked by ourselves – so was considerably better than that provided by the chalet (food cooked for the adults, two nights previously). A €5 refund (for the whole week) was provided for the milk, fruit and meals that we had to buy for the children despite being included in the overall price.

Overall the chalet was a disaster and the response that we have had from Chillchalet has been very, very disappointing. Chillchalet need to decide what their market is and cater honestly to that market and not try to be all things to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badweatherday, Owner at Chillchalet, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We are saddened that this family felt the need to write such a vicious attack on us. I questioned whether it was even worth replying to it, such is the level of bile on display here, but seeing as how it is in the public forum, I should write a response.

I will answer each point in the order they have written, please bear in mind that I asked for as much feedback throughout the week as possible and dealt with a list of complaints on the first day.

• The only question of dirt was under a sofa, which admittedly our cleaner had missed but came back and sorted as soon as requested.

• One bathroom had a light that had blown and we were waiting on an electrician to sort out, we need a qualified tradesman to work on the chalet, otherwise our insurance in invalid, he came the next working day. I don't know about smell, maybe one of the staff had used it previously?

• The childrens tea was ready at 5pm as requested, the guests arrived early afternoon, and I am sure the children were hungry, that is children for you (having one hungry little one myself) The fridge in question is for guests to put their own beers, drinks and lunch stuff, we keep a separate one for the meals we produce for guests. If it was empty all week that is because you chose not to put anything in it.

• The coffee machine was in order all week, we also have a jar of instant (and decaf) for those who like it. We have since put up instructions for coffee machine, before it was in the chalet info in each room.

• Admittedly the Apple TV had stopped working, due to a power surge that also blew our wifi and the aforementioned bathroom light. This was replaced with a hard drive of over 150 films and tv programmes, of which there is a variety of titles for all ages. There is also a stock of DVDs, most of which are not 18's, there is certainly Shrek and The Chronicles of Narnia among them.

• All our mattresses are orthopedic, I am not sure what to say about this.

• The reading room is as it is on our floor plan, we haven't 'shrunk' it.

• We have NEVER offered a fully stocked bar, in fact, we ordered some drinks on your behalf, which guests would normally pay us for on arrival, that we never charged you for.

• We were given a list of things they would like, which we acted on and no-one took anytime off skiing that me or my staff are aware of, given that one of our staff was nannying for them.

• Our menu has been designed to provide hearty meals after long days on the mountains, one of those meals is Tartiflette, a local dish, made from potatoes, bacon, cheese, onions etc and is a staple of every chalet companies menu, always asked for by guests, our menu is on our website for all to see when booking and we do ask for any dietary requirements, so that if there is anything that isn't fancied it can be changed. We weren't asked to change anything.

• We usually make extra when children want an early dinner and keep it for the next day for them, unless the parents have asked for anything else, again, this was not requested at anytime. We also provided lunches for the children out of our own food budget (which isn't our responsibility) to try and help this family enjoy their trip and to show goodwill. 2 bottles of whole milk were bought by guests, which we refunded the money for, we keep a fruit bowl of apples, oranges, the guests wanted some pears which they bought. I wasn't aware of any meals being bought, apart from the one they had on the chalet night off. Kate, one of our staff was nannying for the children that week and she never saw anyone cooking (which isn't allowed anyway for insurance reasons and is explained)

• I am sorry of the contact you had was disappointing, demands for 50% of your money back being shouted at my wife down the phone and threatening bad reviews on Tripadvisor unless we give you £2500 wasn't very comfortable for us, but we don't back down to bullying behaviour, which ended in us giving you our solicitors address, because the emails were getting nasty.

• Lucy did refund you the booking fee for the nannies (approx £250)

We have looked after thousands of people in our 12 year history. We aren't infallible, we do miss the odd thing, but we try very hard to make it up so that everyone has a great time, regardless of whether you are 6 months, 6, 16, 36 of 60, families, singles, groups, whoever. The 46 good reviews we have on here are testament to this.

Not everyone will like our chalet, location or service, but we only offer what we say we will and it is all on the website for anyone to read, preferably before you have stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
13
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times as have my friends and we cant recommend chill chalet highly enough. The owners and their team go out of their way to make you welcome and when it comes to snowboarding there isn't a lot they don't know. Big hearty meals at the end of the day and with bourg right on your door step - chill chalet is the perfect location too. And even though you are right in the centre of town I slept well as the chalet is set back and so you dont hear a thing. Its not the ritz but you wouldnt expect icleanness prices - clean comfortable and had lots of nice touches and has a great vibe.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed in the Chill Chalet in Feb of this year for a week and it was brilliant, as always. It was my 3rd year in a row and one of my friends 11th consecutive year staying with Chill Chalet and not once have any of us, or any of the other guests been disappointed or had a bad word to say about the place/food/service/cleanliness. The hosts are always attentive, pleasant, a good laugh and catered to our needs, they cooked some awesome hearty food, just what you need after a long days boarding, with seconds and if you're lucky, thirds, every night!

The chalet was, as always, perfect! All of the rooms where clean, the bathrooms were spotless, cleaned several times a day by the chalet hosts and the lounge room is the perfect place to chill out with some friends and some of the other guests, or watch a few movies (awesome selection). The chalet really does have a chilled atmosphere, all of the other guests were awesome and we spent hours having a few drinks and a laugh with them all!

All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone, it really is a place where you feel like you are a friend and feel right at home. Hope to be back next season!! Cheers to the hosts and Chris/Lucy for making our trip to les arcs even better!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We travelled out for a week break early in the season. So much snow it was crazy. Chalet was as warm and welcoming as I remember. Rooms where clean and tidy, beers on arrival, stacks of K2 boards to test, even got all our boards setup and waxed by staff before we went out to ride the following day. Didn't have to lift a finger.

Having driven from the UK, we where exhausted, but got a good night sleep in a comfy room, even though it was -10 outside.

Breakfast was as advetised, eggs, bread, juice coffee etc. Fueled we hit the slopes for 10 days of the most EPIC snowboarding i've ever had. Every night the staff fixed any damage to our boards, fed us warm hearty food with beers and where generally good company and helpful.

One of our companions had some important dietary requirements, which we forgot to mention when booking. Chris assured us on arrival that this was not a problem and cooked a separate meal for our pal ever night, having taken her order in the morning at breakfast! High Five for service with a smile.

The Chill Chalet has always been a great place to hangout and enjoy the mountains with a relaxed and friendly vibe. Test a few boards, meet some locals, and unwind with mountain views, I have travelled to many ski areas and stayed in every conceivable type of "accommodation", Chill is my personal fav, Chris is a top bloke.

Thanks for the good times.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We chose chill chalet due to proximity to the station - a group of 6 of us travelled by train to have a long weekend (3 days in the slopes). We stayed mid march this year (2012).

We arrived at chillchalet after an epic length train journey, where the TGV from Paris broke down and we had to then wait for an hour at Lyon while another train was sorted.

Having finally made it to Bourg Saint-Maurice station 3 hours later than planned we went to look for the place. Happily you can see the place from the entrance to the station so a short 2 min walk later we were there finding our rooms. Food was being cooked as we arrived. The hosts were very welcoming and showed us to our rooms straight away and we got settled before tucking into a much needed evening meal.

The next day we were greeted by beautiful blue skies, so after a good breakfast we headed off to the slopes for a fantastic day in the mountains - Les Arcs is an great resort with so much variety that whatever sort of mountain terrain you are after you are probably going to find it somewhere!

The remainder of the break carried on in this vein - decent evening meals, great weather. We all slept very well having knackered ourselves out in the mountains! For our last day/night more guests arrived which made the last night a bit more lively after dinner - everyone was very friendly and sociable.

We all had a great time here - the chalet was very well presented, clean, tidy, very nicely decorated. Hosts were really helpful and welcoming. Food was great. Everyone slept well. Easy walk from station, and short walk to the funicular (although that did seem long after a day on the mountains!).

We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

At first i was a little sceptical of staying in Borge, last season we stayed up in Les Arc 2000, and yea you can stay in the resort for a lot more expense, or you can have a homely chalet 20mins walk from the top of the funi to chalet.

When we arrived on the train at 6am, we were "right, wheres this chalet, ohh just there!!" it was literally cross the road from the station, and the other side of the station is the funi.

We hung about in a cafe for a bit, we did think knocking on the door at 6am was a bit rude, but we saw the lights come on around 7am, so thought we'd give it a knock. The chalet host was in and was very helpful. She invited us in and let us use the ground floor rooms to store our kit as they were currently empty but the rest of the chalet was occupied...

..and we all went off boarding.

When we got back after a tiny apres ski around 5pm, food was in the oven, and all our rooms had been sorted out for us to move into. clean sheets and towels for everyone.

Everyday we had a different main meal and dessert with lots of free wine except due to their good nature they let us stay for main meal the second saturday, as our train wasn't until 10pm that evening so we did have the saturday meal again. You'd have been out by 10am elsewhere!!! bags and all... Food was great all week with nice variety.

On the wed and fri we had a chalet host take us out on tours whilst they filmed us, and even popped our week onto youtube!, all for free!! your lucky to get decent wifi at all in the hotels and chillchalet's was solid, as most of our group of 8 are into their tech and it handled it great.

My only criticism would be the appleTV, it wasn't up to my very high OCD standards for iTunes libraries, but thats me being very very very picky!!! We watched it most evening's and didn't watch anything twice, and it even gave us the opportunity to send our own movies and tv shows to the tv in case what was not already there was not suitable for kids.

I don't want to keep going on, but we all loved our holiday this year and chillchalet had a large part to play in it!! keep going you peeps your ethos is perfect!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Vaud, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I've stayed at ChillCHalet about 6 times in the last 5 years and have already booked my summer with them too... had to write a little bit to say how good it is. Can't believe they got such a negative review!?!

The chalet is well set out, well decorated and in a perfect location - just across the road (but far enough away to not be noisy) from Bourg train station and funiculair to take you up the mountain. Beds are comfy, food is great - perfect for when you get off the hill. There's plenty to keep you entertained in the evening inc apple TV, loads of books, dvd's and a Wii! Or, you could just take advantage of the vet of free wine!

For the price - this is the best place to stay in the Alps. Admittedly you're not up the mountain "in resort" but Bourg is a cool place - very French and with lots to do. It only takes 7mins on the funi up the hill, and all included in your lift pass anyway.

The staff at Chill were awesome this year too - Kate even lent me her jacket one day and all the guys went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was as good as possible. With loads of snowboards to try for free, and the fact that Oscar will wax yours for free too - this is the perfect snowboarding chalet.

Highly recommend you stay here - Chris and Lucy (the owners) are polite, warm and very quick to respond to calls and emails too so if you have any special requests it's no problem!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chillchalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillchalet

Address: 139 Rue Desserteaux, 73700 Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bourg Saint Maurice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Chalet is an independent, family run chalet that offers a great location to explore some of the best mountains in the world. Our excellent hearty food, comfortable accommodation and relaxed atmosphere make us a great option for your adventure in the French alps.We took over Chill Chalet in August and have made some noticeable change to the menu and overall guest experience.We are in the heart of Bourg St Maurice which is a lively market town at the base of the mountain situated only few minutes walk from the funicular up to Les Arcs. We own and manage the Chill Chalet ourselves, so we are always here and on hand to make sure your holiday is enjoyable and you get the great service! We also benefit from the convenience and choice of local shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and rental locations without resort inflated prices just a stone throw from the chalet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chillchalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.