We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cosy and welcoming
Cosy and welcoming
Cosy and welcoming
A totally refurbished, ski in:ski out 2 bedroom chalet
A fully equipped, brand new kitchen
A sizeable living area
Comfortably accommodating six people
Avoriaz
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scott M
Angus, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Chalet... unfortunately extremely Poor customer care.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I would like to start with stating that the chalet neva is fantastic, very close to centre but far enough away if you enjoy quiet nights. Literally ski in ski out, views are spectacular. Very cozy chalet and extremely clean. Very nice bar close by along with supermarket and bakery. All other shops easily reached too. we could not have asked for more from the chalet, very well appointed with all the necesities supplied, alond with an extensive DVD library from the owners, and Sky TV (allbeit only 2 english channels BBC and CNN) but fantastic property indeed.

Our only downside to the whole holiday is that allthough we had booked 10 months in advance, and had passed on flight details and arrival times etc along with calling 30 mins before we arrived in avoriaz, no one was there to meet us, the chalet was not ready, we had to sit around from 11:30am to 5pm until we could access the chalet. The disappointing thing was that we had travelled from 2:30am and to reach the destination with no one to show us where to go was unacceptable. Even at 5pm when I called Phillip to see if it was ready yet, the reply was " just about, if you make your way down to the chalet it should be ready".... Next problem... With no one to show us the way, my wife, daughter and I ended up trailing 3 @ 20kg suitcases and 2@16kg board bags through 2ft of snow asking complete strangers where the chalet was... This is not the welcome or arrival we expected at all. As you can imagine trying to haul the best part of 100kgs luggage through 2 ft of snow is not the easiest of tasks especially after such a long days travel and waiting, we had all been so excited that this was our first family winter holiday and the first day was completely ruined, with no apology for the way we had been treated.

Also be careful, On booking there is an optional mid week clean for an additional €100 charge which we declined, (we don't make that much mess) however on arrival we were told this was not an option, and had to hand over an additional €146 which was for the €100 clean + additional town taxes. Disappointingly even after paying the additional cleaning charge, we received a note the night before our checkout asking us to strip beds, clean kitchen run dishwasher etc to help the cleaners? which again just added Insult to injury.

We had a fantastic holiday, and Avoriaz is stunning with excellent intermediate runs and extremely picturesque scenery on slopes and in Avoriaz itself, very friendly atmosphere, and good food.

Putting our arrival problems aside, we hoped due to the fact we did not get into chalet Neva until 5pm that we would get a later checkout, but were told not possible because next tenants had priority and were arriving at chalet Neva at 12:30 on our checkout day?? Preferential treatment to specific clients or what's going on!? We paid for 7 days in chalet but realistically only had 6 enjoyable days with accomodation! Very Disappointing!

We loved the chalet and would stay in the chalet again if owned by someone else. On discussions with my wife, we will not use avoriaz chalets again. Very poor customer care and very poor welcome indeed.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 1 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
1 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Avoriaz, and the Chalet were great, views stunning
Liked least: The terrible arrival...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Neva and for the kind words regarding the quality and position of the property. We have invested a great deal in refurbishing and upgrading the chalet and we are delighted that you agree that Chalet Neva is a fantastic ski property and that you could not have asked for more from the chalet.

We are very sorry to learn that you found the guest service to be so poor, particularly as it’s the first time we’ve had complaints about our service and I sorry the problems you experienced were not brought to our attention earlier, as such we were completely unaware of your upset. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience you were caused and for any misunderstandings on our behalf.

We note that your complaint centres on the chalet not being available when you arrived, especially as you had made a very early departure from Scotland that morning. While, we are sympathetic to the fact you had had a long journey and we understand that you would have liked to occupy the property upon your arrival in resort at 11.30am, it simply is not feasible for us to have the properties ready for 11.30am because we need sufficient time to clean and prepare them for your arrival. For the same reason we also have a check-out time. Our contractual time for occupancy is from 5pm on the day of your arrival until 10am on the day of your departure and this is all clearly noted on your booking invoice. We note from our records that you checked in to the chalet shortly before 5 and that we were able to extend your check-out time to 10.30 the following Saturday.

There would also seem to be a misunderstanding regarding the cleaning charge of 100 Euros, which is also clearly stated on your booking confirmation invoice. I am sorry that you were of the opinion that this was a hidden optional extra. We do state on all our literature, in our terms and conditions and again on the front page of your booking invoice that this is a mandatory charge in resort. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our properties and we do provide a professional cleaning service mid-week and at the end of your holiday.

We also appreciate that carrying heavy ski bags and luggage in deep snow is difficult and by no means desirable. We endeavour to meet all our guests at the arrival point and certainly don’t expect you to struggle with your luggage in the snow or have to hunt for the chalet by yourself. We are genuinely sorry that you found yourselves having to do this. There are horse drawn sleighs available to transport guests and their luggage from the arrival point to their accommodation and we apologise if we hadn’t made this facility clear to you.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and we sincerely apologise for any misunderstandings that led to the disappointment you experienced. We have already changed our guest information to draw greater attention to the areas you sight in order that we can avoid any further misunderstandings.

We are pleased that you loved the chalet and that the misunderstandings regarding your arrival did not spoil your holiday. We should like to thank you for choosing us and would be very pleased to offer you a reduction of 20% if you decide that you would like to come back to Chalet Neva again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GrH562
Magden, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our number one ski accommodation. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed with 3 of us as we like our space. The chalet was perfect. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large living & dining area giving us the necessary privacy. We stayed in many apartments before in different ski resorts and this has definitely been our best experience. The chalet is very cozy, extremely well equipped and nicely furnished. We especially appreciated the private boot locker (with heaters) in the hallway, the appliances in the kitchen (microwave, cafetière, fondu) and the decent shower. It’s also a plus that sheets and towels are provided (instead of having to pick up them up from a central location) and the beds, duvets and cushions were very comfortable. Also a fantastic location in the village. Ski in & out. Not right in the centre of town (which is great if you appreciate quietness at night), however still everything you need around the corner (e.g. bakery, supermarket, ski-shops, restaurants and a nice pub “Chapka”). And the centre can be reached on foot or by horse sledge literally in 5 minutes. The service is also the best I have experienced so far. The booking went very smooth. Upon arrival we were welcomed by two members of Avoriazchalets who helped us carry our luggage and showed us around in the flat. Leaving the property was ever so easy and a representative of Avoriazchalets came to see us out (and was so kind to post our cards for us). The wifi connection is very good and they also offer a dvd service with a wide range of movies. Overall a superb experience, very good value for money and highly recommended for a group of 3-6 people. If we have the opportunity we will go back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review - thank you so much for writing so fully. Needless to say, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Avoriaz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Andrew312...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Loved every minute of our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

The chalet was perfectly positioned. Real ski in - ski out, with ski locker in the basement. The chalet itself was very nicely appointed, with quality appliances, and quality linen. Views over Morzine were lovely.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location within the resort
Liked least: Bit more space would be nice, but then it is an apartment.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we thoroughly enjoyed having your family as guests. We very much hope to welcome you back to Avoriaz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JerseyJax...
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Totally exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Chalet Neva was a last minute find. As it had recently been refurbished it hadn't shown up on our searches previously and had no reviews, which is a shame for Chalet Neva because it would otherwise no doubt have had great reviews. From the moment of booking to arriving at the Chalet and throughout our stay the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The Chalet was the most modern comfortable Chalet I have ever stayed in and the price was very competitive. Having only stayed in catered Chalets before I was a little nervous about going self-catering but the Chalet was well equipted and as there were only three of us staying, we had more than enough room. In order to sleep 6 the living room wuld need to convert into a bedrrom as well, only then might you feel slightly constricted. I would recommend this Chalet to anyone going to Avoriaz. If we head back to Avoriaz I will be sure to try and book Chalet Neva again.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to provide this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in Chalet Neva. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when we will be pleased to offer you our loyalty discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Avoriaz C
44 0843289 1750
Speaks English, French, German, Dutch
Listed since : Oct 2008
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing