We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RGVLS 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7007 East Expressway 83, Mercedes, TX 78570   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mercedes
A TripAdvisor Member
“RGVLS 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Once again the very best in all aspects that LaQuinta has to offer.
Facilities, Breakfast, Staff all more exceeded all expectations.
These guys set the bar as far as a travelers experiance is concerned.Al, Albert and Steve and Sandy...in fact all staff is great!!!
Thanks for another terriffic stay

Greg and Patty

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    22
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
10
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Often times, I never know for sure what I am going to get when I stay at a La Quinta. This location was surprisingly nice. The property is rather new and has been well maintained. The carpet, paint and linens are are all in very good shape and front desk staff is very accommodating. The lobby and breakfast area are very clean and the hotel has been very quiet during our visit. Didn't eat breakfast, but the daily assortment was very nice with a changing of hot items daily.

The only issue with this property has been the internet connection. It has been spotty...allowing me to connect, kicking me off and then not being able to connect again. I called the front desk and they reset the router, but that didn't seem to do the job. I can only think that too many people were connected at one time.

The location is near the outlet mall and just a few miles from the boarder. Nothing for dining or shopping is within walking distance, so you will need a vehicle if you are going to stay here.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd floor or above. The first floor has the workout area and breakfast area and in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Easy to get to on Hwy 83. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet.Quiet rooms - couldn't hear noise in the hallway, etc.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

If you like Outlet stores,this hotel is a one minute drive to the new Mercedes Outlet Mall.It is also a few exits from FM1015,which is the road to Nuevo Progreso,Mexico.We have stayed here about 12 times.This time,we were there the night of sunday,December 18th,2011.
This hotel is usually pretty clean,becasue,in part,it is relatively new.This time,there were price tags removed from clothing purchased from the Outlet Mall on our floor when we entered.
Other than that,the suite was comfortable.This hotel has very good matresses and a decent selection of TV channels.At the moment,this is our favorite Rio Grande Valley hotel.A lot of that has to do with location,a generally quiet atmosphere,and a decent breakfast.
The employees usually are very interested in seeing that you get what you want.
The only think I would like in their rooms is a "fan only"setting on the A/C unit.I like to run the fan at night-covering noises and relaxing-when I sleep.Here,you MUST cool or heat.Can't run the fan only.I solve this by carrying a small electric fan in the car with us.
I like this hotel,and having stayed more than 30 hotel nights this year,and up to 80 in some years,i would give this hotel a 8.5 out of 10.
I find that,unlike Comfort Suites,La Quinta as a chain is extremely variable on quality,service,price and noise.The prices range from about $60 to over $100 at some sites.Unfortunately,price often has little to do with how good the experience is.This,however,is one of the best La Quinta Suites I have stayed in.It gets a very high recommendation from me for consistency.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is in a field,the only thing close is the Freeway about 100 feet in front.Rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floresville, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

One of the newer La Quinta's in the Mcallen Tex area. Room was exceptionally clean, plenty of towels and toiletries. Plenty of pillows and beds were very comfortable.
Stayed two days enjoyed the breakfast buffet, attendant kept the trays full. Front desk clerks were courteous and very helpful with directions and places to eat. All areas of this La Quinta are kept very clean, pool, computer center, lobby etc.,

Room Tip: All rooms are nice we ask for 1st floor for personal reasons-front desk will work with you on your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I will recommend this hotel
1. Little spa pool water was warm.
2. Employees were always smiling.
3. Mercedes Shopping Center was close to here.
4. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.
5. Breakfast food was warm and delicious.
I recommended for quiet experience...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

This hotel is brand new and is a nice place to stay if you are heading to the Valley. It's a perfect place if you are heading across the border to Progresso or planning on doing a lot of shopping at the outlet malls.

The hotel is clean and all employees are very friendly.

This LaQuinta is one of the perfecr examples of what a lot of newer hotels are doing. Great location, great beds, but they continue to chose the cheapest, old-styled furniture for the rooms. They really could have a much more modern feel if they would have picked something different. I'm not sure why these LaQuinta properties continue to go with the old style when there are newer ones out there that have made their hotels look so much better.

Oh well, this hotel is clean and nice and you should not hesitate to book it if you are heading into this area.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes

Address: 7007 East Expressway 83, Mercedes, TX 78570
Location: United States > Texas > Mercedes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mercedes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Mercedes
Mercedes La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.