We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get WHAT you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Copa Inn to your Saves list
La Copa Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4701 E Expy 83, Mercedes, TX 78570   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mercedes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You get WHAT you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nasty service at front desk, very rude staff. I asked to make a xerox copy they said they are not allowed to make photocopies.
Hot Breakfast is the only thing I liked. They prepare your eggs as you wish.

Room Tip: If you are shopping ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you can get a room here for $40 a night (on the weekend) then you are getting what you paid for, otherwise stay some place else. I think this was an old hotel that probably use to charge about $40 a night then the outlet mall just happen to be build next to it so the hotel decided it was a $100 a night hotel. Our room was nasty and gross. The furniture was old and very scratched up/worn. The sofa in the room was torn and when we moved it over a few inches when my daughter dropped her earring we found trash under it. I was very disappointed in the room - I was expecting a whole lot more for the price.

The one positive was that the breakfast was very good with a wide variety of hot and cold options and the staff was pleasant. We went back a few months later and we stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suite in Donna - just a few miles down the road. We paid $20 a night less and the room was clean, spacious, and well worth the few extra minutes. There is also a La Quinta about 1/2 mile from this hotel that is nice and new. Unless you are just dead set that you want to stay within walking distance of the mall I would stay some place else - not worth the price they charge

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mercedes hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

They have no phones in the room.u constantly get the cleaning lady at your door trying to come in. Don't know what's the deal with that.Anyway management is horrible. I'm 3 minutes late for breakfast. The Mexican lady says she's closed and she's still cooking for others. The day before I tipped her $5 unlike the other people around here that dont even tip. This place is a joke!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Rio Grande Valley Outlets are right there. Great Shopping and restaurants are right across from hotel. Whataburger, Chili's are great to eat and enjoy friends. Thousands of visitors come to the Outlets everyday. Great atmosphere. Mercedes is great to visit. I hotel has breakfast and zacuzzi suites are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

we could make a movie about my stay in the hotel: s·x panting, change of room in the middle of the night, terrible manager, when I went to speak out, she called four police cars. That´s how they care in this hotel about their client´s concerns. You can participate in your neighbor´s conversations because the walls are really thin. Go elsewhere......never here again

Room Tip: no good room if you can hear your neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

La Copa Inn Mercedes has the best location if you plan shopping at Rio Grande Valley Outlets as it is only a few meters away (walking distance). It was built a few years ago and its still in good condition. Breakfast is ok. Price is a little high in my opinion, but acceptable. The downside of its location is that you only have 2 nearby choices for dinner Whataburger and Chilli's (between the motel and the outlets).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just stayed at the hotel, yes easy access to the mall but we were there to visit family. The room rate doubled for the weekend and we had two rooms. Neither had the "advertised" coffee maker, one room had no toilet tissue, Kleenex, or cups. The other room had little toilet tissue and Kleenex but no blow dryer. Both rooms had 1 wash cloth and two towels each. No water pressure in the shower. We asked for toilet tissue and towels and had to go get them. Party above us most of the night with lots of bouncing furniture or something. Beds were ok and grounds were clean for the most part. My 80 yr old mother almost fell in the bathtub due to it being very slippery. It is a given we will not be staying there ever again. We will drive further to a more reliable hotel.

Room Tip: Great if you don't mind noise, no toilet tissue and do expect to pay a whole lot more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn

Address: 4701 E Expy 83, Mercedes, TX 78570
Location: United States > Texas > Mercedes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mercedes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Copa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Copa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.