We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Frangins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Frangins to your Saves list
Hotel les Frangins
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Carnot, 62500 Saint-Omer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Epping, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Do not go there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We have just spent 2 nights at the weekend in hotel. Very disappointing. Whilst the young girl on reception is friendly and tries to assist the room we were given had stale unclean smell when we opened door and bathroom was also smelly with stale water. The reason for this became apparent in the morning when we showered with hand held shower and no shower curtain the bathroom turned into a wet room hence the smell of stale water. The double bed was hard and uncomfortable and as for the awful pillows that provided no comfort at all! Breakfast is also paltry with piece of french stick and croissant. Yes, you can eat more bread and croissants if you wish. There was the usual cheese, cold boiled egg and ham too. Monsieur supplies a very nice coffee from the kitchen which is all very exciting until you want a refill then it's from stewed bland filter coffee pot on a table. We will not be going there again. As other reviews have said the hotel is in town which is quiet but for the revellers from local bars being sick at night and speeding cars going past. Thankfully we were only there for 2 nights. In future we will stay in Ypres, it's great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BritAbroad
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Les Frangins is a Logis-style hotel in a very convenient central location on the Place Victor Hugo. It is 2-star at best, so basic in its facilities, and does not pretend to be anything else. There is a bar and restaurant on the ground floor, with tables extending out into the square. Secure individual garage parking is available at €9 per night (the garages are located in Passage Bueill, opposite). The entrance to the hotel is on Rue Carnot (reception is not manned 24 hours so for out of hours access guests will be given a 4-digit access code - the key pad is to the left of the entrance door).

The young lady on reception was pleasant and spoke basic English, which combined well with our basic French! We were handed keys to two double rooms on the second floor, accessible by lift and stairs. Rooms were standard French 2-star i.e. pretty small with small double bed, bathroom (bath with shower head but no curtain or screen, basin, wc, soap bars, shower gel dispensers, tissues), basic clothes storage facilities (no wardrobe or drawers, just few hangers and couple of shelves), a TV with remote, double-glazed windows, electric radiator, spare pillows.

Sleep quality was not great as the bed was small by our standards and we were disturbed by some street noise in the early hours (but what town centre hotel isn't?)

Continental-style breakfast (8-9.30h weekends) was served in the restaurant and the pastries and fresh coffee were delicious. Served with generous carafe of orange juice, with eggs, yoghurts, jams etc also available.

Les Frangins is a convenient, unpretentious 2-star hotel that is handy for a one or two night stop-over.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

A group of ten of us stayed for one night in this hotel. Where some rooms were not up to the standard of the twin room I shared, I was very pleased. There is no air conditioning so our balcony window was kept open as it was very warm. I did get up and close it earlier in the morning as there is some traffic noise. However the bar was welcoming the staff attentive and the location brilliant. It is definitely a place I would stay in again. A very nice hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Les Frangins is idealy located just of the main square and is value for the price. There are a few down sides. There tends to be quite a bit of traffic noise, as the hotel is located at a junction. The double glazing stops this but the room then becomes too hot and uncomfortable very quickly. There are also silly things that the owners could put right, like the towels, which although are very clean are also very very old and therefore tatty. The pillows are also old and very flat. They need replacing ASAP.
The breakfast is traditional French. Croissants, French bread, juice and coffee. A good start to the day but expensive at 8euros.
If the owners put just a little more personnal touches to the hotel it would the stay a lot more enjoyable. Would I stay there again. No

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This was booked through Logis de France as their hotels are normally very good value for money but we were not very impressed with the standard of the hotel. Whilst the staff were friendly the standard of cleanliness could do with a review. The room was basic and generally clean, but the bathroom definitely needed attention. Also the plug sockets in the room did not work apart from one after a little bit of persuasion! We were looking forward to a nice meal only to find the restaurant closed, after going out to eat we thought we would have a drink or two in the bar - but that was also closed (at 10.00pm??). Ok if you want basic hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Very good value and attentative hotel management. The room was simple with neutral furniture but very clean. It's a shame that the restaurant was closed. Apperently, it's quite good.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Frangins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Frangins

Address: 5 Rue Carnot, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel les Frangins 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel les Frangins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Frangins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.