We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sapiniere

Save Saved
You added La Sapiniere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Sapiniere
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Route de Setques, 62219 Saint-Omer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Saint-Omer
Shipston on Stour
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“French Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our two night stay allowed lots of shopping mainl.ly at the huge Auchan and Factory shop at Cristal d'Arque.
We would recommend the hotel for it's very comfortable chalets ( in our case a4 bed one at the price of a twin. Control of the heating was essential as we hit the coldest spell this winter.
The main meals were very good as usual with very reasonably priced wine.
The only thing which we didn't like was the buffet breakfast.. Al hotels in France seem to have gone for the option , it seems, to enable the price to be increased to around 10 euros., we would prefer to have the traditional one of bread and jams and FRESH COFFEE.
Lovely surprise on paying to be given a 30% discount on room rate in celebration of the Patron being with the hotel for 30 yrs

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
16
34
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was quite easy to find and on our route to Calais. The accomadation was basic - we stayed in a triple room in one of the chalets - it was clean but lacked any toiletries or glasses (even plastic) which would be expected in the most basic places. There was a hairdryer though and enough towels. Lots of hot water and a quiet night. The evening meal in the restaurant proved to be excellent and the set menu prices were good value. We avoided breakfast at 10 euros per person for the simple reason that when we walked through the breakfast buffet area the night before there were uncovered corn flakes and some bread rolls still out from the previous breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Less that one hour from Calais and close to the motorway this was a convenient place to spend our first night in France. Dining room was good and staff were helpful - great views across open countryside towards St Omer. There is a comfortable lounge where you can have a drink before dinner. Good selection of wines and dishes. Our room was in a chalet in the grounds which mean it can be useful to have an umbrella handy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As we have had a bad experence with one of the hotels near the tunnel terminal we decided to stay at a Logis. We booked in online that day which made it easy. The room in the chalet had everything we needed for a one night stay and was very comfortable. The meal we had in the resturant was excellent , we chose the most expensive menu and it was a real treat and worth every Euro. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've never come across anything this unprofessional. Earlier this month whilst travelling across France, I rang up this place to check whether it would be possible to get a room for the same evening. The man on the phone confirmed that he still had space and that this was possible, so I informed him that we would be arriving in approximately 2 hours from now. It was 18.20 when I rang up.

At 20.20 we got to the place. It was dark, nobody was there. I parked up my bike and called the hotel. After several rings, the same man picked up the phone and asked in an unfriendly manner why I was calling. I informed him that I had rung up earlier to reserve a room. Having realised that yes, I was actually here, he said " ow you on the bikes" (which is something he could've only known by actually seeing us outside). He then proceeded to tell us that the Hotel was closed and said he "didn't understand" after I asked him what other place we could possible stay the night at. He then hung up.

Do NOT book this place. You might not be let in !

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Penwortham, UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I had stopped at a Bed and Breakfast (La Coulonniere in Wismes) on route to Burgundy. A B&B which is absolutely top class!!!! The owners Genevieve and Dominique of the B&B recommended this Hotel to go and have a evening meal. The Chef is also the owner of the Hotel, so was different to see him sitting in the reception area.
We were taken to a table in the conservatory which was really light and airy, and had a lot of customers eating. The meal was lovely, had 12 escargots swimming in garlic, duck as the main meal, my husband had a huge choice of cheeses to choose from a cheese cart (he chose the smelliest he could find), and I had the creme brule. We were so full.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Chalet stle accommodation which is getting a bit tired. Close to St Omer which is useful as restaurant is closed on Sunday. Have stayed here on may occasions and on previous trips the food has been very good. Very quiet area!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 12 Route de Setques, 62219 Saint-Omer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sapiniere 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Sapiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Saint Omer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sapiniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.