We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and free parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bretagne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Bretagne to your Saves list
Le Bretagne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place du Vainquai, 62500 Saint-Omer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and free parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay whilst on a short break. Good location if you don't mind the 10 minute walk into town. Free parking included and excellent wifi throughout the hotel which was needed by me. Refurbished rooms - ours was a good size and the bathroom was large. Down side? France beds are too small and why do they insist on blankets rather than duvets! €10 for breakfast was a little too high for my liking but the choice was good. Would stay again when in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    31
    16
    13
See reviews for
11
56
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room we had booked was premium and our friend in the next room had standard, though it was inexpensive deal. Despite being a large hotel with no evidence of a lot of visitors, we had attic rooms far distant from lift, you had to be a miget to stand in more than one third of the room. The difference was our room had a window, our friend had a skylight only! The bedspread was extremely tired and bobbly. No idea if better rooms were available but only one or two other tables occupied at breakfast. Ask to see your room and then ask if there is anything larger if you get what we had! I could see from the fire escape plan ours were smallest floor area... And we had eaves sloping nearly to the floor. Still it was quiet so could sleep and it was only 2 nights. The bar was pleasant and the restaurant gave an average meal... Second night we found a gorgeous restaurant not to far distant that was far better. Felt like a stop for commercial travellers of a bygone age.

Room Tip: If you get a tiny room in the attic after booking online, ask for a different room, wish I had done!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here one night when passing through whilst cycling and they were able to accomodate our bikes as well.

Staff were friendly amd it had a decent buffet breakfast - boiled eggs, bread, pastries, fruit etc, although you do have to pay extra for it. The reason for the average rating was that our room was looking a little tired and old although it was all perfectly clean.

In terms of location it is about a ten minute walk up to the main square of St Omer and easy to find when entering the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good location,on site free parking, easy to find and very close to town centre. Reasonable value. Clean and functional. Motorcycle friendly - now used this hotel twice for the start of our European bike tours. Only gripe is breakfast could be included in the room price but this seems to be the French custom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took a short break via the tunnel to visit La Capole near St Omer, site and exhibition centre of the V1/2 rockets during WW2. To achieve that we stayed two nights at Le Bretagne hotel - part of the Inter Hotel group. It is situated about half a mile from the main square of the town and to my relief sported it's own free car parking area immediately outside the hotel.
It is nicely furnished and appointed with a rather impersonal bar but charming and good restaurant. We arrived on a Sunday to find the restaurant closed on a Sunday! However, when open on the Monday it was very good.
Our room, via lift, was clean and well appointed and was in the tradition of a mid range French hotel. Good bathroom with shower.
A mixed quality of reception staff from very helpful to quite off hand. For example on the Sunday evening we asked where the restaurant was (this was about 7pm) and she pointed to the room. We stood there searching for sign of life before another guest informed us that it was closed on Sunday - got the picture?
Notwithstanding this we had two pleasant nights and two good breakfasts.

Room Tip: The lift serves all areas so no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Leonards on sea
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Reasonably priced when pre booked. Very pleasant appearance on arrival. Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds and functional rooms. Separate toilet and bathroom which is a great idea. Breakfast is the usual standard of a french continental style. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is remarkably well situated, very near the railway station and the centre of the lovely old ciy.
Everybody in the saff is kind and helpful.
The hotel has the charm of an old place and all the comfort of a new hotel recently restored.
I had a very large room. I particularly appreciated the very, very comfortable modern bathroom.

Room Tip: My room 53 (second floor by lift) can be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bretagne

Address: 2 Place du Vainquai, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bretagne 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bretagne Hotel Saint-Omer
Le Bretagne Saint Omer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bretagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.