We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, true French !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Omer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Save
You added Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale to your Saves list
11 Quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Somerset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent, true French !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this property for just one night and would happily have stayed longer. The whole experience from arrival to departure was very good with a really nice welcome from Véronique the owner who was very helpful with information about St Omer

The bedroom was decorated in typical French style and was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast with home made products

Ideally situated to walk into the centre of St Omer (10 minutes maximum)

We were able to park our motorcycles in the garage

Overall a really good experience and excellent value for money and would recommend this property

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We as a family of 5 stayed in this delightful B&B on our way to the Dordogne.
Arriving late as predicted Madame was very welcoming and as the town was busy with a Fete had saved her private garage for us.
Traditional French interior with modern bathrooms. Our 2 rooms were connected via a bathroom with large free standing bath and a separate en suite too. Overlooking the garden was a plus as very quiet.
I can only enhance what other reviewers have written...friendly hostess, delicious breakfast, clean and homely surroundings including free wifi and tea and coffee facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and overlook pretty garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritAbroad
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived late but received a lovely welcome and our hosts even telephoned ahead to our restaurant to warn them that we were delayed. Véronique proved to be a wonderful hostess and strove to make our stay as pleasant as possible. She spoke reasonable English, which certainly helped our questionable French!

We had booked two double rooms with either shower or bath. We chose the room with the shower (basin and wc) and were a little surprised to discover the en suite area was only separated from the bedroom by a curtain. Windows were double-glazed and fitted with shutters (very helpful to block out the sound of music coming from nearby!) We slept reasonably well.

The included breakfast was typically continental (bread, pastries, croissants, yoghurt, confitures, tea, coffee, juice). We would have liked to have seen this spread complimented by a selection of cheeses and meats.

There is plenty of free on-street parking immediately opposite the B&B

We have stayed in a few places in St Omer and this is now our preferred choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here recently on our way back up to Calais.

Veronique was so kind and friendly and she has made this a beautiful home and a wonderful place for guests to stay.

Spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast. Our room was gorgeous with lovely French furniture, bed linen and towels, we had the bathroom with the 'egg' shaped bath at the back of the house, so we had a view of the pretty garden. We parked for free across the road and walked into town for something to eat.

I think this is one of the nicest places I have stayed and hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I booked this on the strength of other reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. As a previous reviewer has mentioned, it's important not to be put off by the somewhat unattractive exterior of the property. It's what's inside that counts. I booked an apartment with two double rooms for my wife and I and my brother and sister-in-law. We were warmly greeted by Véronique who gave us all a complimentary drink on our arrival which was very welcome after our long journey. Véronique also provided us with a map of the town and was very helpful in giving us advice on choosing a restaurant for dinner. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable and quiet, both overlooking the garden area. We had a superb night's sleep. There are also tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms which was a bonus.

Breakfast was every bit as good as previous reviewers have said. Home made jams and yogurt and white chocolate and rhubarb cake alongside bread and croissants fresh from the bakery. Wonderful.

It's clear that Véronique and Bruno are keen to ensure their guests enjoy the stay and it shows.

The B&B is located by the canal and is in a quiet area of town. There's not much in the way of restaurants in the area (a new brasserie had just opened next door the night we stayed but we didn't try it opting instead for a restaurant that Véronique had recommended.) However, the B&B is only around 15 minutes stroll from the town centre directly up the Rue de Dunkerque.

They do have a small car park available for 3 euros a night - but the limited roof height meant that my car with a roof-box fitted could not use it. Having said that, there's free parking literally across the road by the canal where it seems quite safe to park overnight. We had no problems

I would certainly stay here again when next visiting St. Omer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I took the advice of the reviews on here before we booked our over night stay.
There is not a lot i can add to what has already been said, honestly, just read down the reviews.
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale deserves to be at number 1 with 5*
The place is full of charm and character. Veronique greeted us warmly and no sooner had we arrived two welcome drinks were in front of us.
Parking is free as has been mentioned just across the road, wifi is also free.
Everywhere is spotless,clean & tidy.
We shall be visiting again thats for sure. oh, and you have to try the white chocolate yogurt along with the Rhubarb & White chocolate cake.

Book your stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were greeted with great cordiality by Mme Hautefeuille, who also offered two thirsty travellers a welcome beer. It's a grand old house but with modern, updated bathroom facilities, situated right on the canal & close to shops & restaurants. Excellent breakfast, home-made yogurt the pièce de résistance. A fine stopover, & we are returning in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

Address: 11 Quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.