We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Omer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Save Saved
You added Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale to your Saves list
11 Quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Saint-Omer
Olney, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at 20:00 after a long and arduous day travelling back from Italy and had booked this B&B after seeing the reviews on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. From the very first moment Veronique couldn't have been more helpful and extended a very warm welcome, mindful of our long day with an almost 3 year old in the car for 12 hours!

Our room was at the front of the building and faced the river. Very spacious, lovely and clean and free wifi. A cot for our son was also provided free-of-charge. Parking is available opposite and for those who don't want to walk into town, you can take the car and there is spacious parking in the town hall square. Around there are any number of brasseries, pubs, restaurants, and ethnic restaurants (we saw a Chinese and Indian driving past).

The price of 60 euros was good considering we paid 45 at an Ibis budget on the trip down without breakfast. Breakfast was French continental, lovely pastries, jams, yoghurts and juice.

Well worth the trip off the motorway - super easy to find and a wonderful surprise. We've already said that if we consider driving again then this will be our stop-off point! It was even a hit with my son, and he's difficult to please!

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the building and you do hear traffic so best to book a room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I fancied staying somewhere different to the Ibis (usually good) on this trip to St Omer so we chose this very good value Chambre d'hote run by the very friendly Veronique. It's in a lovely big former merchant's house right on the quayside of the river L'Aa about 5 mins walk from the town centre with free parking opposite (make sure you choose the white spaces, not blue which are chargeable). The rooms are large and airy and furnished in the old French classic style.
Some rooms don't have a walk in shower but a bath with shower attachment so specify when requesting. Breakfast is simple but good but don't expect a hotel style buffet, you get fruit, juice, bread, pastries and a hot drink. For only €60 for 2 people our own UK B&B industry could learn a lesson from this place. We will return.

Room Tip: The road outside can be busy so for silence book a room at the rear, however the front facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed as 2 couples for just one night in early December. It is very conveniently situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. It was easy to find and the parking is simply accross the road by the canal. You can pay €3 to use the Hotel garage but we found this completely unnecessary. Our room was beautifully furnished and had a lovely bathroom with good sized bath. The bed was perfectly comfortable and of great importance in December; The room was very warm and snug. Overall we couldn't fault it and the price of €56 for a double rooom with Bath was excellent value for money particularly given the super breakfast included. A full continental breakfast with a gorgeous yoghurt, lashings of hot coffee and wonderful french bread and croissants with a choice of 4 jams. Book this place and you won't regret it. We are already planning another visit next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B for 2 nights in November. The house is old and beautiful with lovely big rooms and high ceilings. In our bathroom was a fridge, a microwave and cutlery and plates so you could eat in the room if you wanted to (the toilet was separate) Veronique was very welcoming and offered us drinks, told us how to get into town and recommended restaurants and places to visit. You can park opposite in a free car park right next to the canal. The breakfast in the morning was very nice especially the home made yogurt! I asked how it was made and ended up buying a yogurt maker from the Auchan in Dunkirk. There were also 4 types of homemade jam. The area around the B&B is very interesting, we walked along the river and saw lots of little canals, the area is famous for them. We would very much like to return here in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A totally different experience from staying at a hotel. Our room in this attractive 19th century B&B by the canal was big and airy with high ceilings and a view of the garden. Our bathroom had a large tub and contemporary fittings and the bedroom had a comfortable bed and a flat screen TV (french channels only).
Veronique, our host, was charming and welcoming and it is a place we would stay at again without doubt. We had a good continental breafast with crossiant, fresh baquettes, fruit juice, jams and yoghurt. Parking is plentiful across the road alongside the canal and it is a 10 minute walk to the centre with a wide choice of restaurants and bars.
We ate at Bistro 28, a bar/bistro in the square, which served excellent local dishes as well as pizza, pasta and steak. The owner is english speaking and can help with translating the menu and recommending dishes all at very reasonable prices too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden would be the choice for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights Veronique welcomed us with a beer and information and maps of the town, also recommending a nice fish restaurant which isn't on trip advisor. The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. We had a room overlooking the garden which was very quiet. Breakfast was good with home made cake on Sunday morning and giant croissant , home made jam and home made yogurt which was really delicious. There is plenty of free parking across the road on the quay. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. If you are visiting St omer this is definitely worth staying in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for a quick overnight stop. The bedrooms are large and airy. Beds very comfortable and warm. Breakfast simple, but filling. Lovely hosts. Would definitely stay here again.
Book ahead if you want to eat in the square on a Saturday night. We hadn't, and struggled to find somewhere to eat.

Room Tip: Whilst all rooms have en-suite facilities, some have baths and some have showers. We would have pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

Address: 11 Quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.