We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quirky and excellent food. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette

Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette
10, Rue Ste Croix, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
+33 3 21 11 26 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Saint-Omer
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, quirky and excellent food. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A charming, friendly and warm host greeted us as soon as we entered. We had to book in advance as the restaurant was full the night we first tried (and the night after). The food was hearty, and the place full of quirks and character. I would recommend it to you for a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A delight !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Thank goodness there are only 5 tables!! Due to space this little gem will not get over exercised and retain its unique quirky presence along with the good standard of cooking that the chef owner achieves; the menu is a couple of dishes per course and is cooked and served by himself. The use of local ingredients and an emphasis on regional flavours is also a plus, a good gratinee followed by a wonderful piece of cod and a good dish of beef hash under a lid of mash with a parmesan top was just what was needed on a cold night. An excellent Grand Marnier Crepe and a flavoursome Panna cotta with blackberry jelly rounded dinner off perfectly. 4 red wines chosen well and a couple of whites makes ordering a simple procedure and something some restaurants would do well to take note rather than pages of irrelevent words describing indifferent over-priced bottles! The total bill with aperitifs, a 1/2 pichet of white and bottle of red totalled 78Euro. We look forward to a rematch!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding value in a small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We found this little restaurant in an old street just south of the cathedral. The cold, wet weather must have discouraged visitors, as we were the only customers that evening. It is a one-man operation with just 16 covers. The menu was short, three items for each course. First a truly excellent seafood and fish gratin. Then pork cooked in buttermilk, and a haddock steak, both served with a huge selection of local vegetables. There was only one white wine other than the house wines, an organic Muscadet, La Bohème 2011, which was a perfect accompaniment. Then a local cheese and a delicious dessert. The cooking was accomplished, the service friendly. We paid 70 Euros for the two of us, and thought this was outstanding value. Our host deserves a bigger audience than he had that night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quirky, Intimate, and truly delicious food with excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We tried this place out as it was number 1. And deservedly so. The trick is first getting a table. It is only small so you need to reserve. While we were there the proprieter had to turn away several people as he was full that night. Second finding it. It is a bit off the beaten tourist trail but that just adds to the place. It keeps it French!
The food is a simple selection of rustic home cooking, just like mother used to cook. Using local fresh produce, skillfully and simply cooked. We spoke about it to the patron and he said it was what he was able to find from the market.
The service was attentive and charming. I gather the Patron runs the place on his own, but he always had time to speak with everyone.
The decor in the place, just wish I had taken some pics. It was something else. Not your bland sterile tourist place. This was the real deal France. Loved the touch of serving the menus in the middle of vintage newspapers!
My food allergy was catered for well. No problem cooking off my special breads. And this place while not cheap, was excellent value. And the perfect way to end a special birthday weekend.
If we are in town again we will try and book a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a truly excellent French meal by the most friendliest chef/waiter/owner we have ever met.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We came to this little gem of a restaurant to celebrate my 50th birthday on a golfing weekend. We were completely bowled over by Olivier's excellent hospitality and cooking. We shall be back, this time with our wives!! It was an unique experience as there weren't many tables as the room was small and cosy. Small is beautiful, you get plenty of attention from the very entertaining Olivier.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette also viewed

Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.