We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kitchen and dining area, ground floor
Kitchen and dining area, ground floor
Kitchen and dining area, ground floor
Come and relax at Maison Bethany.
Bedroom 1, 2nd floor
Bedroom 2, 2nd floor
2nd floor landing
Couiza
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flick06
heywood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here with 5 other adults and found it clean, well equipped, and in a lovely location. The garden area, although it is across a small road, is fabulous and we loved swimming in the river though access (to the river) does need improving., I have no mobility issues but as a short person it was a little precarious. My parents although still able bodied couldn't get down at all. The village is a short stroll away and has restaurants, bars and a small supermarket (there are many larger supermarkets a short car drive away). At the other end of the main street is a lovely open air swimming pool and a thermal spring down by the river.

The house is in a good location for exploring this beautiful region and is in easy reach of Carcassonne, the Pyrenees, and the coast. There are some lovely small towns and villages worth a visit such as Quillan and Limoux. The whole area is very picturesque and I would love to revisit in the future.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Swimming in the river
Liked least: Access to the river
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sandra M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful house in Rennes les Bains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Enjoyed a brilliant 2 weeks with family and friends at Maison Bethany. Rennes les Bains is an entertaining small village with lots going on. Restaurants very reasonable and a few local shops. The house was excellent, laid out on three floors and exactly as described. The garden was amazing, with river frontage.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adam G
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed here in June and had a wonderful time. The river in the garden is stunning. There are plenty of activities around the village but the village itself it lovely and peaceful. I would highly recommend a visit to this charming and stunning place.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The River
Liked least: having to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Hayley C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one glorius week at this beautiful house and wished we could stay forever. The house is in immaculate condition with EVERYTHING you need. Very well equipped and pristenly presented. If you took a group of friends you'd be smug at your find! The garden, positioned opposite the house, entices you to spend hours on the decking or dipping in the natural pool loosing yourself in a book or having a BBQ and if you want to venture furhter there are walks, lakes and scenic towns just a short drive away.
The weather was glorious the entire time and the people that live in the area are so relaxed and chilled you can't help but join in and let city life just ebb away.
Prior to our trip Nicola sent us all the directions and gave us all the info we needed along with recomendations of things to do and where to shop etc. Any questions we had, she was prompt to deal with- it was seamless.
We will definitely return and recommend to our friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house felt like home as soon as we walked in - all the little touches that made it so homely.
Liked least: There really wasn't anything to complain about.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nora P
Dennyloanhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just relax and enjoy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed several times at this amazing house - early summer and in autumn - with family members - and also with only my husband , and each time had such a relaxing holiday. All our family, of different generations will say the same, of the effect the house had on our holiday. Marvellous.
The house is light and airy , and fresh and clean, with everything needed, and more, to make our holiday just fabulous. So much thought put into furnishings etc, as well as books galore and board games, television and dvds for when quiet times required. Simple food starter provided too.Garden, with decking and sunbeds, table and chairs and outdoor BBQ all awaiting you, and private access to the river for swimming, dipping in the hot sun, or fishing.
Village small, cosy alongside the river. Restaurants, bars in village square, in hotel and all alongside the river, and there is small bakery providing delicious breads. Wonderful for strolls to spa at one end of the village and campsite at other. Small markets some days too.
Plenty of supermarkets in local towns not too far away.
But the glory is in the region itself, whether for walks or trips into hills, forests, seaside, or plenty historic sites for the culture seekers too.
Mirepoix was delightful, shops, market and medieval setting. Carcassonne is absolutely wonderful, only an hour away. Collioure is a fabulous seaside visit, any day of the week, Sunday for market. Andorra worth the trip for tax free goods, but remember limit allowed. Scenery stunning.
The photographs taken on all of our visits are fantastic, and still don't do justice to our stay in this wonderful house, village, region.
Just booked again for a week in May. Can't wait.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere, everything in place thoughfully provided
Liked least: Had to come home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Natalie P
Salford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house,clean and well equipped.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We are a family of five and stayed for 2 weeks at Maison Bethany. The house had everything you could think of and more, it was very clean and plenty of space for our family. It was also lovely and cool during the hottest days which was a welcome relief.
The owner was so helpful prior to visit and provided very clear information which was great.
Rennes Les Bains is a great location to tour around the area we visited Carcassone,Toulouse,Mirepoix,Limoux, Couiza, Alet les Bains and the beauitiful lac at L'Arques.
The knight tounament at the castle at carcassone was well worth the money and the children loved it. There is a lovely cafe in the garden of an Ancien Seminaire in Alet les Bains which is the best place ever to stop for a refreshing drink or snack. Taking a picnic to spend a day at the Lac in L'Arques was also wonderful. You can swim or just paddle.
An evening walk around the village of Rennes les Bains is also very peaceful and enjoyable.
Thank you for our stay in Maison Bethany.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the house itself was pristine condition.
Liked least: the garden being across the road.difficult with small children, although would be fine for adults or families with older children.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
amandalow...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A totally relaxing stay in a most beautiful property and stunning area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful home on the edge of the spa village. The huge enclosed garden accross from the house lent to a totally relaxed holiday as we could spend the days on the decking on the ample sunbeds, going for a dip in the natural pool in the river at the bottom of the garden whenever it got too hot, even eating alfresco as there was a large stone-built BBQ and family sized table, chairs and umbrellas on the decking. It was so relaxing even the lizards joined us for a sunbathe. We enjoyed many a stroll through the charming village which took you from one end to further natural pools at the other side of the campsite through to the natural spa at the other end of the village, whilst stopping for a drink and meal at the village square where everyone comes to chillax. During the days we visited and explored many gorgoeus villages and towns, and in particular the village of Mirepoix was one of the nicest with a medieval square and superb little shops and tearooms and a large market. The house was in an excellent position to explore the region, especially the stunning walled city of Carcassonne, and was only a couple of hours drive up the magnificent Pyranees to Andorra (which was excellent for all things taxfree - just be aware that there are limits going back into France and there are border checks - they are especially stringent if you carry on through Andorra and down into Spain.) If you choose to go the longer route round to Spain you can visit and pass through stunning scenery and towns and villages, passing all the watchtower castles impossibly built into the cliffs. In particular we visited Collioure which was an amazingly scenic town with a market and a maze of little shops and cafe's. The fish restaurant right on the beachfront was especially wonderful and tasty. If you want excitement there are plenty of canoe/white water rafting trips you can book on, stables nearby and zipwires and if you are going in winter easy access by car or train to ski slopes at Ax les Thermes and Andorra.
The house itself has everything you could possibly need or want - including excercise dvd's should you feel the need to work off any of the day's indulgences (not that we did, feel the need I mean!!!) If you have children there is even a pram/highchair/travelcot so there is no need to load yourself down with extra unecessarys, and boardgames etc for the odd rainy day there may be. The house is full of books with a huge range of fiction/nonfiction/childrens books. The welcome pack of foodstuffs etc was very welcome indeed, and there are several supermarkets in the nearby towns to stock up. There is a little bakery/shop in the village which is open most mornings for the most delicious breads and pain au chocolats, be aware that not a lot opens on Sundays for very long and there are very long lunch closures on the shops and cafe's. The house is only an hour or so's drive from Carcassonne Airport on a direct route so is very easy to get to and from.
All in all I can thoroughly recommend Maison Bethany for anyone who would like either a totally chillaxing relaxed holiday or intrepid explorers or thrill seekers and for families, groups of friends or a romantic getaway. We can't wait to go back again and again, I hope I have showed you a taste of how fabulous our holiday was and ispired you to find out for yourselves....enjoy!!!!! Amanda Lowden

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location for access to all areas and how relaxed we were at the end of the holiday
Liked least: liked everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$92
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Nicola C
44 117 279 6440
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 31 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing