We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly poor all round....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarium du Perigord Noir

Aquarium du Perigord Noir
Allee P.J Souriau, BP 31 | Vezere, 24260 Le Bugue, France
05 53 07 10 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Attractions in Le Bugue
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open-air fresh-water aquarium with over 6000 fish in 3 million liters of water.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fairly poor all round....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Well firstly it was dry on a very wet day....

Admission was reasonable as our two boys were under 4 but not sure I would have been happy to pay for them to enter.

Most tanks had a dead, ill or damaged looking fish in them, the educational factor was OK but limited to some display boards far too high for toddlers or small children to read or look at. The tanks all looked far too crowded and in particular the snakes especially the large ones seemed far too small. One large snake was doubled over twice in his/her tank just laying flat.

When a 4yr old boy in front of us asked his mum why all the tortoises were on top of each other this showed us not only were we surprised at the number in one tank/area.

Food and drink were a little pricey but the delay in service almost was too much. Also not sure how many French people would have been happy with a microwaved Croque Mosiour.

Ok for a wet day but didn't do it for us! The town the aquarium is in was nice for a walk round especially on Market day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    80
    37
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Largest private freshwater aquarium in Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lots of fish and reptiles to see here. Mostly under cover and very useful on the rainy day when we visited this place. Entry fee about 11 euros per adult.Nice to see the phytons and the colourful iguanas.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Water filthy all fish full of white spot and parasites, not nice to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived on rainy day to reasonable entry price but all tanks were really dirty and fish gasping for oxygen 9/10 had white spot or bacteria on them didn't look well at all. How this passes inspections I'd never know!!! In uk it would be shut down its cruel!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stumbled on this a few years ago on one of the Dordogne's rainy days. We thought it was great then - a real surprise considering it's not got the lure of tropical colours. We went again this year and it's even better. There are more things to see - snakes, iguanas, etc - but I still love the enormous river monster fish best. They look prehistoric! The kids thought it was fabulous too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good place to keep the kids entertained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

good value and interesting this would be an ideal place to take the children, the amount of different species that they had was staggering

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium du Perigord Noir also viewed

 
Calviac-en-Perigord, Dordogne
Le Bugue, Dordogne
 

Been to Aquarium du Perigord Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarium du Perigord Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.