We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic experience - great food, good service, delightful setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Le Bouc Bleu

Auberge Le Bouc Bleu
2, Rue 5 Decembre, 68980 Beblenheim, France
33 3 89 47 88 21
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Beblenheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An authentic experience - great food, good service, delightful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited friends living in Beblenheim and celebrated my sister's 12th wedding anniversary here. The restaurant is very small and family run. We were a party of 7 and were comfortably seated at the back of the charming garden in what was formerly the barn. We all enjoyed the 3 course dinner and even the vegetarian in our group was very pleased. The most memorable for me was the seared foie gras appetizer with apple well paired with a glass of wine by the chef's wife.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small, intimate, delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were recommended to Le Bouc Bleu by our accommodation at Maison des Roses (also excellent) in Ribeauville. It is small (so book!), intimate (the family house of the chef and his wife) and popular. Madame is a gracious and elegant hostess. Her recommendations of wines by the glass to accompany each course were spot on - and the wines were of a high quality with no hint of oxidation. The fixed price menu is enhanced by amuse bouche and chocolates at the end of the meal. This was the best meal we had in Alsace and I don't think you can go wrong.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delightful small and very cosy restaurant. One set menu with high quality ingredients. Excellent wine recommendations. A place to come back to whenever possible. Reservations needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Small, intimate restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had been to Le Bouc Bleu in 1989 when I was a student. It has since changed ownership and is now run by a couple. The husband cooks and the wife is in the restaurant.
They offer a fixed price menu with a choice of three dishes per course. I am a big fan of restaurants with small menus and again my theory was proven right: when there is a small selection, it means they are better able to focus on getting it right. We asked for a suitable glass of wine for each course and the choices were spot on.
It was raining when we left and the owner called the hotel to ask them to pick us up (a service they usually provide) but the driver was already in bed so instead they lent us an umbrella for the ten-minute walk. A nice finishing touch!
I hope my next visit will not take another 23 years...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recommend Le Bouc Bleu when in Alsace. A husband and wife team operate the restaurant, she running the seating area, he the kitchen. She is multi-lingual and makes life pleasant. Make reservations – one seating per night. Opens at 7:00pm and closed Wednesday and Thursday as of this writing. Prix Fixe is great – attention is paid to flavors and presentation. Wine selections are from local vintners – a very pleasant evening

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Le Bouc Bleu also viewed

Beblenheim, Haut-Rhin
Beblenheim, Haut-Rhin
 
Zellenberg, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Auberge Le Bouc Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Le Bouc Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.