We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service for Returning Guest” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tuban Inn Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Tuban Inn Bali to your Saves list
Aston Tuban Inn Bali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kediri No. 5, Tuban, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tuban
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor Service for Returning Guest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as return guest because last time we stayed there we received great service from the hotel. Especially Hotel Manager at the time (she now has been moved to another affiliate hotel).

We noticed that there is an improvement that this hotel has made compare to when we stayed there in Nov last year. One of them is the lift that has a fan so does not feel too hot inside the lift.

Unfortunately we have not been advised when we checked into the hotel that our first night rate was include dinner (Ramadhan Dinner) that costing almost a night rate at this hotel. We only knew this Dinner when we checked out 5 days later. As we did not know about this Special Dinner we went to have dinner somewhere else. If we would have known about this and been told by the reception of course we will have the dinner at the hotel as the hotel already incorporated the rate altogether with Special Dinner for Ramadhan Celebration. We actually had dinner at the hotel that we paid separately on second night.

As I am a member of A Club (Accor) I found it that this hotel has mostly employed inexperience staff.

While other 5 star hotels playing soft music for guests to enjoy breakfast in the morning this hotel is the opposite of that. This hotel played Pop Music and LOUD. I could not stay too long as this music is not appropriate for the morning mood especially in Bali.

Also for guests that like sun bathing next to the pool then this hotel will not be your choice as you won't get sun tan (because the building block sunlight) and water is too cold to swim.

We checked out just after 5am and reception asked if we consume mini bar (this is normal hotel procedure) but we had to wait until one of staff double checked mini bar in the room and confirmed that all was ok. But now there is a pending authorisation transaction on my credit card statement showing that the hotel took US$20.80 out of my credit card to secure mini bar on the day of our checked out. If we can afford to pay top rate during peak season (Ramadhan Holiday) and as returning guest then of course we will not take home the hotel mini bar!

So the choice is yours fellow travellers .... if you want your money worth to spend on your holiday with good quality then you need to look at other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't bother to pay an extra to get the room with pool view because walk way passes all ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston TubanInn H, Owner at Aston Tuban Inn Bali, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We are super happy to hear

Please post the follow for the review before it:

Sorry to hear there was confusion regarding the room + dinner package. We have advised the front office staff to ensure each guest is reminded of the room and inclusions they have booked in the future.

Im surprised to read the comment about our staff since usually we get very good feedback on their service. It would be helpful if we could get more information so we can incorporate this into our ongoing training schedules for all out hotels.

Thank you for the feedback on the music - we will check the level of the music and variety so that it can be fun and pleasing to all guests.

One tip - we actually have a roof top sun bathing area. So if the sun near the pool is not too strong, then guests can use
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    141
    65
    10
    8
See reviews for
48
75
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Booked and payed to stay there in July 2012, after one week decided to move to another hotel. Was told we would have to pay a cancellation fee before we could check out. Never heard of a hotel doing this before? After all it was the hotels gain not ours as they would be able to re let the room again. A bad way to run a business. Of course we didn't pay it we kept our key and moved. However we had the inconvenience of having to return at a later date to this hotel just to check out and receive our bond back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston TubanInn H, General Manager at Aston Tuban Inn Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at Aston Tuban Inn on your recent visit to Bali and for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Aston Tuban Inn. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

Please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

The cancellation policy is a common practice implemented by the hotel particularly on the peak period in anticipation of losing the business since hotel has lost the opportunity to take other booking by confirming definite booking.

Your comments have been recorded and we have shared them with our reservations department to put a special notice of the cancellation fee and inform the guest prior their arrival. We are confident they will take the appropriate measures to ensure that a similar experience will not happen in the future.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.


Thank you and best regards

Wayan Garutma Utama, Mr
General Manager
Aston Tuban Inn Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Welcome to tuban

Hotel very nice, free pick up from airport.
Situated a 10 min from the airport.

Room very clean, concept aston, so ultra modern and good quality service.

The place after long trip and just before leaving. small but nice swimming pool, massage available ...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Well, after about 30 days of brainstorming and sending emails to different hotels in Bali, we settled for this hotel for the following reasons:
1.Location:Near to the Airport and in the city
2.Good price: yes it is reasonably cheap
3. Reviews on trip advisor
For families going for bali holiday, this place is very good with a swimming pool just outside your room's balcony. The rooms are clean and well maintained.The staff is very nice and pleasant and will try to do whatever is possible to please you. And as for travelling is concerened, you can always book a cab which is dirt cheap in here and the driver will take you wherever you want and will wait for you as long as you wish (Try to get a good driver, who can speak english and can take initiative to take you to places suited for you). Well we had just 3 days, so we couldn't cover everything in Bali, but nevertheless, our stay at Aston inn tuban is an important part of our wonderful memories associated with our Bali trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentani, Papua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have stayed twice at this hotel and liked it very much. Since we live in Indonesia (as Dutch citizens) we were here more in transit than on a beach vacation. The rooms are nice and clean. The tv had the Sports channel (ESPN) so that we could watch highlights from the Olympic games. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We love the airport pick up and drop off. Very convenient! Breakfast is great with lots of variety, both western and asian food. Because the cafe is right next to the pool, swimming is not very private. This hotel is only a five minute drive from the airport. It is about 25 minutes walk to Tuban/Segara beach. Taxis are always cheap. We would choose this hotel again. It perfectly suits our needs.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the lowest floor are right on the edge of the pool. This maybe good for families w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijayawada, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Arranged my trip through agents.who suggested this hotel.checked on the web and found it ok.
we were received at Denpasar airport by our agent , who took us to this hotel.This hotel is very conveniently located near airport and beach.Beach is just walking distance.Not much crowds on beach.
Hotel has a good lobby and restaurent.served good breakfast with lots of variety.
Room was Good with view of pool which was the central part of the Hotel.
Tried out the Gym which has few machines.The cross trainer did not work.Treadmill was ok. cycle was ok.
Though the Hotel was stated as 4 star it was not actually of the standard.There was no hand shower in the bath.The shower was also fixed type and could not be adjusted.The bath did not had shower mat and the tub was slippery with out that.
This room where we stayed was without balcony and this proved to be a problem to dry clothes after a swim.
staff were friendly.

Room Tip: try the rooms on ground floor or on first floor with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

After a schedule change we needed somewhere to stay between our midnight arrival and the 2pm check in at the villa we had booked. For our family of 4 we booked 2 std rooms here and it met our needs brilliantly. Reasonably priced, good rooms, breakfast included and friendly staff. Plus it was only about a $US5 taxi ride from airport. Wouldn't spend a week there but excellent for a quick stopover.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Tuban Inn Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tuban Inn Bali

Address: Jl. Kediri No. 5, Tuban, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Tuban Inn Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aston Tuban Inn Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tuban Inn Bali Hotel Kuta
Aston Hotel Kuta
Aston Kuta
Kuta Aston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Tuban Inn Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.