We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dirty, dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pendawa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pendawa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pendawa Hotel
Kartika Plaza Street 7A, Tuban, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Tuban
1 review
“Dirty, dirty, dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Although we only payed $33 we were utterly disgusted.
There was mould on all the tiles in the bathroom and mould on the roof. Rust on the bottom of the bath, dirty towels and extremely slippery dirty floors.
I am sure this place was spectacular back in its day, but its past its use by and in serious need of a make over.. I will not be returning!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
5
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I have never seen dirty rooms like this with coroach!!! Dirty towels, bathroon, swimming pool!!! And this for 55 $ a night. No support from the receptionnist and the manager was at home.........
.......................................................................

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have traveled to Indonesia over 10 times and we've all heard the 'peeping Tom' warnings before. But it wasn't until our stay at Pendawa that we ever encountered it. To his utter disappointment, I busted a peeping Tom while he was watching my wife shower. The unlucky local and the Pendawa's staff received an unbridled wrath from which I hope they're still stinging. Worse, when trying to meet-up with the owner, he made himself unavailable each time.

Obviously we checked-out, post-haste. But word to the, double -check all of those little holes that you see in the walls. Better yet, totally avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were only staying here for a half day as we had a midnight flight and our last accomm would have been too pricey to stay at for those hours. It served the purpose for last minute shopping and swimming in the pool which was great, the rooms however are appalling! We read the review below about mould just before going there and they are absolutely correct! We were in a downstairs room and I really smelt damp. I couldnt have taken that for more than a day. The bathroom is no more than a loo and bath tub with hand shower, all amenities dated and in urgent need of repair and mouldy in our room. If you are backpacking, then as a former backpack this place is ideal but I would not pay more than $15 US per night-I paid $70! I'm fine with that as it served the purpose for us as somewhere to store bags and shower. The twin beds had very basic mattresses and there was not a fridge to be seen anywhere! So again for the room we had I truly would refuse to pay any more than $15, I think that's a fair price for the room we had.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked through agoda and then paid 135000 for an extra bed.
Bali seems to be very expensive compared to the rest of S E Asia.
Rooms were big, bathrooms were ok, everything is dated but the pool is great.
Location is ideal for a few days hanging out in Kuta.
Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

There's no reason to stay there - though, infortunately, I did this February :( So here's my review to warn the unexpecting others...
Don't be fooled by the location - ok, it's just 5 minutes from the Discovery Mall and ca. 15 minutes (traffic excl.) from the airport, but there are places with better value for the money.
Don't be fooled by photos - ok, there's a pool and the area is very green, but you don't sleep in the garden (hope so ;) so prepare to meet the rooms...
1) There is so much mould in the bathroom you can call it a garden, as well!
2) The furniture is falling apart.
3) If you are unlucky to be put in the upper floor, it will rain right upon your head, 'cause there're holes in the ceiling!
4) It is all SO damp inside, you can't imagine. So don't!)
5) The staff doesn't care. Towels were missing from the room after every "service", so I had to ask for them - and be told, that the towels will reapper within 2 hours! :(((( Though, with some violent threats, I got them in 5 minutes, rrrrrrr!)

So, don't let this slump spoil your holiday in Bali. Keep away!

Room Tip: Ground floor is better - at least, there are no holes in the ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Pendawa Kuta
Lovely gardens, nice swimming pool (could use cleaning more often) and an altogether delightful setting. I enjoyed the restaurant meals, the complimentary breakfast – eggs cooked to order and toast good. Toasters need replacing. Scary looking local food in warming trays. How long has it been there – days? Coffee? The usual lightly coffee flavoured hot water. Luckily, Starbucks and Black Canyon shops across the road.
Room had a great little balcony overlooking the pool and gardens– very beautiful.
Great location – tucked away, but easy walk to beach, shopping and restaurants. Walk right through the big shopping mall, and you are on the beach.
Now the bad – room leaked in heavy rains, mould on ceiling. Asked for room change, got it right away, but just less mould on ceiling. Both rooms felt very damp. Only one plug in room – used for TV. (lousy tv – no channels in English. Wifi ok, great in restaurant, spotty in the rooms. Seemed to be turned off at night – why?
Room Lighting – the usual night club levels – reading lights over the bed about xmas tree light brightness – useless. Keep your flashlight at the ready to do anything!
Bathrooms substandard. Dirty grout, no holder for shower head, no plug, stained tub. Not nice.
Towels hard to come by and thin as paper.
Pricing – many levels – Agoda was the cheapest right up to posted prices – very high, I thought, for a room of this quality, however they are charging for location. Much nicer rooms for half their price in Ubud. I asked for discount from posted prices, because of the sad state of repair of both rooms, and got it.
Staff – very courteous and friendly.
Sum up – good location, nice setting, but rooms substandard and too pricey. I wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pendawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendawa Hotel

Address: Kartika Plaza Street 7A, Tuban, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tuban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tuban
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Pendawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendawa Hotel Bali/Tuban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendawa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.