We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vira Bali Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Vira Bali Hotel to your Saves list
The Vira Bali Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza No 127, Tuban, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate Guarantee
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tuban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be happier.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Being a smaller hotel it is quieter than some of the larger hotels by the beach. The service is excellent with all staff happy to help with any issues. Very clean rooms. Ate at the restaurant for dinner a couple of nights and it offers good food at very reasonable rates. Only a 5 minute walk to the beach and the same to waterbom park. It is on a fairly busy road but this wasn't an issue at all. Would happily recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    212
    42
    8
    8
See reviews for
100
234
35
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I'm comparing this hotel to The Bali Rani Hotel we stayed at in August 2011, as they are priced similar the Rani is miles ahead, I must say though, if this was the first hotel we stayed at in Bali, I would have written better about it.
We had a second floor room that was a nice size, bathroom was neat with a big bath, nice size TV but only could find 2 channels worth watching, plus ABC Aussie news. We actually had 2 second floor rooms due to confusion between our booking, first room was twin single beds, they offered to change but was around midnight so we left it until next day, this is not a complaint though.
The WIFI is very average, the 2 rooms we had were at opposite ends of the hotel and I couldn't get a signal in either room, they have 4 connections but the best I could find on my Android tablet was 1, this had a good signal but dropped out every 5 minutes for a couple of seconds, I could only access from the balconies, not a huge problem though, same signal in pool area. Free computers with internet are available in the Lobby area as well.
Breakfast is ok but not a lot of choice, only had bacon twice, once I had to ask for it to be on next day, you can get eggs cooked any way you like. The staff are just as friendly as anywhere else but a little less motivated, some days they served coffee and others we got our own, the coffee machine also had bad hair days and on some days it only dispensed half a cup, press button again to get full cup I hear you say! this generally ended with you getting half a cup in your saucer :-), other hotels have staff walking around with a pot of coffee and tea anyhow, the toaster was one that you put toast in top and it travelled along and dropped down at other end, settings were very low and needed 2 or 3 trips to get toast, food wasn't overly hot unless they just topped up trays.
I have read a few complaints about the small pool, the pool is smaller than some hotels but more than adequate, most afternoons we had the pool to ourselves or at worst only another 2 using it, we didn't have a problem getting a pool chair, a good selection of sandwiches or finger food was available also, service was much better in pool area.
We had a couple of meals at the Vira and they were fine and good prices, my wife had the Baby Back Pork Ribs one night and they were melt in your mouth fantastic, they have local singers Wed-Sat nights, local muso's are always entertaining :-)
The room was very clean and made up every day, the hotels location was ok, around 800 mts from Centro, there is building going on across the street so rough paving and to avoid hawkers we taxied to centro after walking once, a taxi is 5000 IDR (50c), we love a beer at Jimmy's Bar near the Kuta Beach Gates, taxi to their was 11,000 ($1.50 with tip).
We probably wouldn't stay again, but again we would have different view if it was our first stay in Bali, If you have already booked you will enjoy the Vira so don't be to put off by my review, my preference is still the Bali Rani (not to be confused with Rani Hotel and Spa) mainly because of service and location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Second stay exactly after a year. A phone call while travelling from Lovina and they accepted my booking on arrival date with special rate. Thank you Ms Resty.

As usual, check in smooth, friendly staffs, nice & clean deluxe pool access room, delicious breakfast food, quiet pool, check out smooth and complimentary airport transfer and most important, NOTHING TO COMPLAINT ABOUT.

Next day, while having breakfast, as usual they give complimentary birthday cake.

To Ms Resty and all staffs, thank you and good luck all the best, wish we will meet again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Overall the hotel is good value for the money. However the front part of the hotel faces a busy street so I would suggest guests look for accomodation away from the street/reception area and near the pool area.
The " free breakfast" is pretty good and the staff helpful.
Kris Mohan
Canada

Room Tip: stay away from the street/ reception area because the street side is noisy. Construction nearby does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

If you don't need to be right by the beach, this will do the job. It's at the southern end of the kuta madness but on a busy road with construction everywhere (not very noisy in the rooms though). Rooms are nice with balconies overlooking the pool (a good, deep one with poolside service), bathroom was smallish but good with excellent water pressure. Breakfast was a good buffet plus cooked-to-order eggs and pancakes but the restaurant is streetside and noisy and hot (public areas generally are hot with few fans). Service was genuinely good - friendly AND effective.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our family of 5 (children 15yrs, 10yrs and 7yrs) have just returned from 5 days at this fantastic hotel. We booked interconnecting deluxe pool access rooms. From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel is great, well maintained and very clean. We booked through AGODA and got an excellent rate including breakfast and airport transfers. The hotel is located approx. 300 metres south of the Bali Dynasty Resort, and approximately. a 50 cent taxi ride to the Discovery Mall. Lots of shopping around the hotel without the mad hustle and bustle of central Kuta. Room service and food/drink prices around the pool were very reasonable/cheap. The only area where improvement is needed is breakfast, however other than that it was great. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have stayed many times at the Vira Bali during the last five years, because I worked in another island nearby. For me, staying at the Vira was always a pleasure, because it is close enough to restaurants, but not at the most frenetic and noisy part of Kuta. Rooms are small, but practical, good standards, and first of all, the service provided by the staff of the Vira is always polite, gentle and efficient. Do not forget you are in South East Asia, and things can take time, and sometimes you need to remind people of what you are waiting for, but at the Vira, those things are most of the times unnecessary. They take of you, and my guess is that you will also like this little hotel and come back, time after time. There are minuses, of course, but overall, safe place, comfortable, and reasonable price. About a km. of walk from Kuta, and approx. 300 meters from the beach (walk to the right of the hotel about 25 meters, then go into the alley in front of you, all the way to the beach, where you will have several options to pass through the final compounds. Or you can walk directly to Kuta square following the main road on your right when leaving the hotel. Remember: it is a sunny, hot and humid place!

Room Tip: Not on the first floor, which gives you direct access to the swimming pool, but also to the addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vira Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vira Bali Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No 127, Tuban, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
#3 Family Hotel in Tuban
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
#4 Business Hotel in Tuban
#4 Spa Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vira Bali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm of a boutique property combines with the convenience central location in downtown Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Vira Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vira Bali
Vira Bali Tuban
The Vira Bali Hotel Tuban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vira Bali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.