We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some imperfections” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rama Beach Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rama Beach Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Rama Beach Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Jenggala, Tuban, Bali 80001, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tuban
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with some imperfections”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

For a number of years now we (Mr. Henk and Ibu Ike Blankenstein from Belanda) visit Indonesia every year for two months (mostly in January/February, but last time in November/December). And each time we spend several weeks in Rama Beach. Our overall impression of Rama Beach is quite positive, but when one stays for a longer period (like we do) the imperfections also come to light. First of all, we wish to say that the hotel staff in general is very friendly. In some cases we feel that the friendly attitude is a bit insincere. For instance, some staff members ask, when they meet us: "How are you today?", but they walk on without waiting for an answer. The room we had last time was all right, though we had to ask for some repairs in the bathroom during our stay. We did not like at all that there were no chairs in the room, when we arrived. There were only two small sofas at the foot of the beds. This is very inconvenient and therefore unacceptable, of course. On the inside of the door of the room, there was a memo of housekeeping asking the guests to close the door at all times to prevent insects from coming into the room. A very wise piece of advice, but how can you reconcile this with the fact, that the roomboys (belonging to housekeeping!) leave the door of the room wide open, when they are cleaning the room? Another thing that needs attention is the poor state of some electricity devices and connections. This can be rather dangerous. Further, some pieces of furniture are really due to be replaced by new ones, for instance the writing-desk with the (new!) t.v. on it. The drawers tend to jam.
A big compliment goes to the people in charge of the garden. We can only say that they work very hard to keep the garden clean, well-kept and beautiful.
The daily breakfast, however, causes anxiety. First of all, the time to have breakfast has been reduced till half past ten (it was eleven o'clock). We do not understand this, because the rest of the day there is hardly any activity in the restaurant. Moreover, a number of guests (and we belong to that category) like to have a relaxed start of the day (we are having holidays after all) and do not wish to rush to the restaurant in order to have breakfast in time. Looking at the breakfast in an organizing way, we must say that it makes the impression of one big improvisation rather than a well-organized task. For instance, there is nobody at the egg-stand from time to time. And sometimes, when you ask for something simple like an egg, it is forgotten and you have to remind the people again and again. We could not help noticing that some of the permanent staff members do their work like an uninterested robot, leaving most of the work to rather inexperienced boys and girls (trainees and daily workers). Talking about this categry: it came to our notice that the staff members of the restaurant are offered lessons in English language. This is no superfluous luxury, as in many cases the level of their English is very mediocre. We learned that these lessons depend on the efforts of one single lady. They really should have a more stable base. From time to time we witness so-called pep-talks for the restaurant staff, but we cannot say that we have seen any improvement resulting from these pep-talks. Maybe they go in at one ear and out at the other. A few things can be said about the breakfast itself. Last time there was fish (and no meat) a number of times. Many tourists, however, do not like fish and especially not for breakfast! Until recently there was of big bowl of muesli every morning, but suddenly this was replaced by tiny glasses with a little bit of muesli. Maybe this is nice as a kind of decoration, but not to have breakfast from. So please: have the big bowl of muesli returned to the restaurant. Another thing: last January the restaurant management introduced a Japanse corner, where you can order at the spot what you want. However, we noticed that in many small pots raw meat was kept, waiting to be prepared. We are sure, you know that keeping raw meat in these pots without any cooling-measures during several hours in high tropical temperatures constitutes a big danger for the health of your guests.
Apart from these remarks we wish to emphasize that we enjoy our stays at Rama Beach very much, but we cannot shut our eyes to the shortcomings we signalize. We hope that the management of Rama Beach will look at our remarks in a constructive way and express our thanks for that in advance.

Best regards,
Mr. Henk & Ibu Ike Blankenstein-Jordaan (Belanda)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuni R, ASM at Rama Beach Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Bapak Henk and Ibu Ike,

Warm greetings from Rama Beach Resort & Villas

Thank for your comment and compliment.

Sure we will look into are you were highlighted

Where possible we will take measure to improve

warm regards
yuni
email : asm@ramabeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    348
    70
    20
    15
See reviews for
217
357
39
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at the Rama last week, it's the first time we have stayed at this hotel. Usually we stay at a hotel around the corner but this is being renovated so we had to try something new, and we were not disappointed. Our flight arrived at 8.30am and whilst our room wasn't ready for check in, this was made available after a short wait. The room was spacious, lovely private pool and the bed very comfortable. The service was great with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely with a large selection of foods. The pool area and pool bar was very clean and the cocktails delicious. If I had to pick any negatives, the room had a slight odour to it, which I believe is from poor drainage in the bathroom. However closing the bathroom door was enough and I think this is a common issue in Bali anyway. It would also be helpful to keep a can of mosquito spray in the room to kill any mozzies that have snuck in rather than having to call housekeeping. These are only very minor issues. Overall our stay was great and we wouldn't hesitate staying here again, the hotel is quiet which makes for a relaxing stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuni R, ASM at Rama Beach Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Candy2684,

Sunny greetings from Rama Beach Resort & Villas

Thank you very much for staying at Rama Beach and spending the time to write such a wonderful review

Your comments are highly appreciated and your feedbacks will help us to improve the quality of the service offered to our Guests

Really hope to welcome you back soon

regards
yuni
email : asm@ramabeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at Rama Beach for one night in March 2014. We arrived in Bali at night and didn`t want to make the two hour journey to our next place in the dark so chose Rama Beach based on location and generally great reviews. We were welcomed with a drink and towel and check in was very speedy. The room was large and the beds very comfortable. A few items could do with a bit of an upgrade....for example the curtains, the curling mat, but all very clean. The adjoining door to the neighbours room concerned us a little as the door opened but there was a mattress stuffed in the gap. Not sure if the neighbours door also opened and the mattress was all that separated us? Never found out as we were only there one night. Breakfast was great...lots of choices.

There was construction all around the resort but it was not an issue and I didn't hear any construction noises. We thought the nearby beach would be nicer. It was dirty and not a place you would sit and sunbathe.

The grounds at the resort were well kept and I really liked the pool area as it had plenty of beds and there were lots of interesting aspects to the pool. There was a group of teenagers dive bombing into the pool at one point and no one stopped them, despite a sign saying no diving. Once they left the pool area was relaxing again. The staff at the resort were really friendly and went out of their way to ask your name and if you needed anything.

Overall, a great hotel but personally I would only stay there for a night or two if you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuni R, ASM at Rama Beach Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Joford

Greetings from Rama Beach Resort & VIllas

Thank you for taking the time to review our property

We truly value the opinions of our customers we apologizes if any services were not to your expectation and Please be assured we will make every effort to improve

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again

regards
yuni
email : asm@ramabeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and......will come back again. We couldn't fault this hotel. Breakfast is excellent, staff is fantastic, room very nice and clean. See you again soon!! And a wonderful pool, with delicious sate around lunchtime!!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room. This room was very roomy with a big bathroom with two basins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuni R, ASM at Rama Beach Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Nel.T

Greetings from Rama Beach Bali

We really appreciated that you came back to stay at our resort for the second time..
Thank you for your lovely comments. The team and I were glad to be at your service,
cant wait to keep welcoming you here in our lovely resort

best regards
Yuni
email : asm@ramabeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I would like to thank all the staff working at Rama Beach Resort for the hospitality and welcoming they provided us with the rooms were excellent , the food was fantastic the service was really perfect that we extended our stay there. It was a wonderful experience.
Thank you all

Room Tip: The pool villas are wonderful and have lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuni R, ASM at Rama Beach Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Amrabouamer

Thank you so much for your comments. Such a nice compliments.
We really appreciated that

We are looking forward to welcome you back here

Warm Regards
Yuni
asm@ramabeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by the wonderful staff and a well deserved refreshing drink. The room and the surrounds were breathtaking. The staff extremely friendly and nothing was to much trouble. I highly recommend Rama Beach to everyone, from families to singles. A very peaceful and relaxing place and the food was magnificent, we never ate so much. The pool was fantastic, I couldn't get my boys out. Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuni R, ASM at Rama Beach Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Tbarn2014

Thank you for staying with us.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our Resort.

Hope to see you in the near future.

Warm Regards
Yuni
asm@ramabeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

After a 24 hour trip from Europe the Garden Villa was just what we needed. No noise from upstairs, no noise from next door - simply divine and we slept for 12 hours straight!

There was some demolition being undertaken in the surrounding area however the high surrounding walls of the villa significantly reduced the noise.

Enjoyable as always and first time in a Villa which was impressive when one takes into consideration the cost per night even pin a short stay.

Room Tip: Even with demolitions going on in the area the Garden Villas were fantastic and the noise was reduce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuni R, ASM at Rama Beach Resort and Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Fred G

Greetings from Rama Beach Resort & Villas

Thank you for your lovely comments. The team and I were glad to be at your service

We sincerely apologize for the demolition from our neighbor hotel that make your recent stay inconveniences.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Yuni
asm@ramabeachhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rama Beach Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Beach Resort and Villas

Address: Jl. Jenggala, Tuban, Bali 80001, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
#2 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
#3 Family Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Beach Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAMA BEACH Resort & Villas is located in Tuban, South Kuta, only a few strides away from the famous Kuta beach,Airport and offers guests a choice between Deluxe rooms or private Garden / Pool villas, surrounded by spacious tropical gardens. The elegant pool area, with its contemporary style and flowing cascades, is a blissful place to relax in the midday heat while the sportier guests can make use of our tennis court in the cooler morning or evening. For the ultimate relaxation, spoil yourself and discover the emotional serenity and physical rejuvenation of our therapeutic SPA. When the urge to shop strikes, our shuttle bus plies between the hotel and the popular Discovery Shopping Mall, Lippo Mall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rama Beach Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Beach Resort And Villas Hotel Tuban
Rama Beach Hotel
Rama Beach Resort And Villas Bali/Tuban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama Beach Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.