We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean; Short walk to Kuta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rama Beach Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rama Beach Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Rama Beach Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Jenggala, Tuban, Bali 80001, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tuban
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean; Short walk to Kuta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel and rooms are quite nice - quite comfortable and nicely maintained. Breakfast is sumptuous and the wood-fired pizzas are really good. The travel desk arranged a water sports package to Nusa Dua for us, which we were happy with. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to Kuta - Discovery Mall. Taxis are abundant and cheap.

Cons: Mosquitoes. Tap water in the bathrooms is slightly salty. Wi-Fi is not free. Spa is very expensive compared to the multitude of spa-parlours just outside the main gate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    349
    70
    20
    15
See reviews for
217
358
39
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rama Beach was a fantastic resort! If your looking for the resort lifestyle, but not the price tag of some places in Seminyak - this is it!
Pool was amazing - 2.4m deep, with great water feature and pool bar.
The hotel was nice and quiet, and had pretty grounds and friendly staff.
Worth getting a deluxe room for the huge bed and outdoor area. Walls are a bit thin and the bathroom was the only let down, was a bit shabby and the water really salty. But for the price we paid it was worth sacrificing some things!
Spa and restraunt were a bit over priced - worth heading across the road to SA Cafe where you can pick up nasi goreng and a cheesburger for $3 a piece and great smoothies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

A group of my friends and I recently went to Bali for a guys trip. We were delighted to get off the plane and only have to travel a few minutes the the hotel. The pool at Rama beach is great. Benny the pool bar guy is a super cool dude. Could not do enough for us and has a great sense of humor. One of the best things a bout Rama is the breakfast it's is fantastic. It has a great range and they will even make your eggs just how you like them. Overall Rama is a great choice for a Bali holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our third stay this year and again well looked after. Staff were friendly without being overpowering. We stayed in a deluxe garden villa and it was lovely. Quite busy but still our requests were dealt with quickly, although getting more than one English breakfast teabag at a time proved frustrating!
This time we booked a bycycle tour through the travel desk and we were not dissappointed - a fabulous day out, cycled 40kms, mostly downhill and for a relatively unfit couple in their 50s we survived pretty well!(approx cost AUD$40pp all incl)
During this stay we located the exit through the rear of the property (staff entry/exit) turned right and walked along a clean road then through a laneway (with the obligatory "hawkers" )and into Kuta. Much more pleasant than walking along the beach.
Some terrific,cheap, little family owned resturants located on the same street as Rama Beach and worth trying if you want traditional Indonesian/Balinese food.
Villa itself was quite dark, personally prefer the standard garden villa with the enclosed courtyard as they have large glass doors opening onto the courtyard. Found we needed to have the lights on most of the time. The hot water took forever to come through and we felt it was an enormous waste of water, strong smell of sewerage each day (unfortunately part of the "Bali" experience at times - we made sure we kept the bathroom door closed and that seemed to rectify the problem), but the indoor/outdoor shower was a tropical delight. Beautifully furnished, with a superb bed, choice of pillows and lovely linen.
Lots of positives in this resort, but search for the online specials for fabulous bargains on Garden Villas (Hope to try the Pool Villas next time!)

Room Tip: Garden villas (either standard or deluxe) , lots of room, good work station area if needed, large be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rama for a week, last week. It was our first ever holiday without our kids and so I'd done a lot of research and was a bit apprehensive about finding some romantic accommodation after enduring the kid-wrangling, feral horrors of the Dynasty. I booked Rama after reading reviews on this site and others. We were absolutely delighted with our choice.

I originally booked a Garden Villa but on arrival, we asked to have a look at a Pool Villa - and decided to splurge on an upgrade. We had a little haggle and were happy to pay less than the originally quoted price for the upgrade. It was well worth it - we loved having our own beautiful plunge pool to jump into in the morning or take a lazy dip in in the evenings.

The room was a little dim, as another reviewer noted, but I was quite happy to enjoy the low light after days strolling along the sunny beach or lying by the pool. The bathroom was luxurious and very beautiful. The hot water was delightfully hot and the water pressure was excellent too.

The air conditioning was very effective. There was a large TV with stereo and dvd. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. We loved the mosquito nets, which kept the aircon from blowing directly on us and, obviously, kept the mozzies out. Very romantic too! There were a few mozzies - there was a little gap in the patio doors that let them in. However, that's what the mosquito nets are for I guess!

The staff were very friendly and helpful - and unobtrusive. We never felt pressured to buy anything, book any tours etc. The staff simply provided a level of service that was quiet, efficient and friendly - absolutely impeccable. The grounds were beautiful and while there was some minor maintenance work going on, the workmen were very quiet and efficient. We were not inconvenienced at all, even when (for a day) some of the work was going on right outside our villa. We didn't hear a thing.

The spa was wonderful. We received two complimentary half-hour massages and my husband (very kindly!) told me to use his and have a one-hour massage. It was the BEST massage I have ever had. I feel awful that I cannot remember the masseur's name, so that I could recommend him! I blame my forgetfulness on all the housework I have had to do since returning home :-( I would have liked to had more treatments but we did not have time. We'll be back though, so I have lots to look forward to.

The pool area was delightful. The entire pool is 2.4m deep and there are plenty of loungers in both sun and shade. There is little shallow bit of the pool behind the water feature, but nothing that particularly caters to kids (slides etc). The atmosphere in the pool area was very calm and laid back. The drinks from the pool bar were very expensive - but that's standard in any resort.

We visited outside school holidays and, without our own children, we were delighted that there were virtually no children there. Not that we generally have anything against kids (we have 3 of the little critters ourselves) but when we're escaping ours, we don't really want to see or hear anyone else's either.... I don't know if there are lots of kids there during school holidays, but given the lack of a kids club, I suspect not.

Breakfast was included in the room rate we obtained from Expedia and so we did eat in the resort. We don't usually bother with hotel breakfasts because in our past experience, they're usually expensive, revolting and full of bad mannered Aussies making disgusting spectacles of themselves (yes, the previously mentioned Dynasty visits have only compounded the horror). We were very pleasantly surprised by the breakfast served at the Rama.

The restaurant has no walls and is surrounded by a koi pond and next to the pool, so you can see and hear the water as you eat. The hotel was not very crowded and the atmosphere was very quiet and relaxed. The staff were attentive and friendly. The food was a good mix of Asian and Western breakfast favourites, which suited us because I like to eat noodles and veggies for breakfast and my husband is the omelette and bacon king. There was plenty of choice for both palates, as well as pork-alternatives for Muslim guests. Be sure to ask for "Bali Kopi" instead of the regular filter coffee they serve. We did not eat lunch or dinner in the resort, so I can't comment on those.

Beach access is via the back gate of the resort - just a few meters down the street and along a little path. It was very convenient to just pop over, check the surf and run back for a board. Immediately in front of you as you reach the beach, there's a hut from where some chaps run boats out to the airport breaks. If you pay them 50,000 (AUD 6-ish)they will drop you at the break and come back to collect you a couple of hours later.

The Rama is (for us) perfectly located. It's a quick ride from the airport, could not be more convenient to the Airport surf breaks and is a civilised distance from Kuta. We both like a lot of exercise, so we enjoyed walking daily along the beach path to and from Kuta, just for a bit of exercise and people watching. I think it's maybe 2 or 3 km each way? It's far enough that when you've had a nice big dinner, you can feel all virtuous about walking it off on the way home! It's also far enough out that you don't have any issues with the Kuta yobbos. Although the resort is close to the airport, prevailing wind conditions mean that you rarely if ever hear any airplane noise - but it's lovely to watch the planes coming and going.

Wi-fi wasn't free but was very good value and excellent speed. It did not work in our villa, but was perfect by the pool. Any work we had to catch up on was taken care of from the comfort of one of the little day bed pavilion thingies.

If the resort had had a gym/fitness centre, I would have used it - but as we were only away for a week and we surfed/swam/walked every day, I managed to live without one ;-)

We had not requested and were very pleasantly surprised when the concierge arranged complimentary transfer back to the airport for us. A nice final touch. The Rama is not a brand new, flashy, chain-style resort - but it does not pretend to be one. We found it to be a beautiful, reasonably priced, well maintained and comfortable oasis. We could not fault either the facilities or the service. We are very much looking forward to returning for another kid-free "work trip" for Mum and Dad in the very near future! As soon as we can talk our shell-shocked babysitter into looking after the kids for another week....

Room Tip: Go the pool villa. The extra luxury was well worth the small extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Can't say that i would rate this hotel as being anything other than average. It is just your run of the mill, hotel. It is a bit old and tired, but has Balinese charm and character. The staff are friendly, but not outstanding.
The rooms are clean however some parts are in need of repair or replacement.
The bed was very firm.
There are a lot of mozzies, i woke up with bites on my face and eyes swollen from bites.
For me the location was a little inconvenient. I prefer to stay a little closer to Melasti..or in Seminyak but that's personal choice.
The breakfast was good, and if you pay extra for an expresso it's well worth it.
I can't critisize much of it, but i was also not super impressed by anything either.
I was a solo female traveller and i felt comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stay in the family Vila. Nice hotel and good QUIET location.

We have been staying here on and off for many years. Sadly it has changed a lot and not for the better.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rama Beach Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Beach Resort and Villas

Address: Jl. Jenggala, Tuban, Bali 80001, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
#3 Family Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Beach Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAMA BEACH Resort & Villas is located in Tuban, South Kuta, only a few strides away from the famous Kuta beach,Airport and offers guests a choice between Deluxe rooms or private Garden / Pool villas, surrounded by spacious tropical gardens. The elegant pool area, with its contemporary style and flowing cascades, is a blissful place to relax in the midday heat while the sportier guests can make use of our tennis court in the cooler morning or evening. For the ultimate relaxation, spoil yourself and discover the emotional serenity and physical rejuvenation of our therapeutic SPA. When the urge to shop strikes, our shuttle bus plies between the hotel and the popular Discovery Shopping Mall, Lippo Mall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rama Beach Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Beach Resort And Villas Hotel Tuban
Rama Beach Hotel
Rama Beach Resort And Villas Bali/Tuban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama Beach Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.