We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Ir. H. Juanda, Tuban, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Patra Bali Resort & Villas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Tuban
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel so many times - so I am qualified to give a review.

The Good
Excellent landscaping and general look - very Balinese, unlike some newer resorts where it feels like you could be anywhere in the world. Service staff very friendly and efficient. The deluxe suite is VERY spacious and nice. The villas are worth the price. Great location near the airport but not noisy.

The Bad
The breakfast area could use some sprucing up. No problems really, but could use a freshening up. The food is OK. The main pool has a volleyball net that is permanently installed even when no one is playing - makes the pool look messy. Some rooms still have old CRT TVs - make sure to avoid them. Avoid the cheapest rooms as they look dated - some even have split AC like cheaper hotels.

Conclusion
This is an old, but well run and maintained, resort. With some freshening up, it could be a real contender. It also seems like this hotel has an identity issue - is it the Patra Bali or the Patra Jasa? The Patra Bali is a much better name with a better logo, but they also use the cheap-sounding name Patra Jasa and tacky logo. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Select the 300 or 400 rooms as they are farthest from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    186
    75
    28
    12
See reviews for
220
148
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. There are some good sides, but more minuses unfortunately. For the money we had to pay, we expected much better. Definitely NOT a 5-star hotel.

Good:
*Loved the pool, it was huge, although with no slide, our kid spent the whole day in it. No smelly water.
*The room size was good and bed comfortable. We had standard room with balcony.
*Direct beach access was good, no hawkers, only massage tables outside
*Closeness to airport as we had to leave quite early. We were not disturbed by the noise of planes at all during sleep time, our kid loved to watch the landing and taking off planes in the beach and pool side.
*No noise from neighbors, but it was low season.
*Liked the connecting rooms as we were 2 families traveling together. Very convenient.

Bad:
*Breakfast was not up to it, boring selection. Only one type of cheese and ham. Dry and weird tasty economy bacon, no fresh juice, limited selection of fruits, machine coffee (and when machine broke down, you could not get any) etcetc
*Breakfast and check in areas were too hot. I understand that these are open areas and cannot have air con, but then more fans should be placed.
*Rooms were not cleaned properly, maybe because we did not leave tip?? We had a mud pile on the floor one evening and there was mold in bathroom.
*Room was showing the signs of aging: no flat screen TV, cupboard doors could not be closed properly, bathtub was losing its cover paint.
*No free shuttle to airport even if it was just 1 km away. Taxi service poor as well, when we ordered a taxi, we were not even asked whether we want local or hotel taxi.
*Prices are sky high for food and drinks. On a good side I have to tell that the pizzas we ordered were huge and really good, although the waiting time was 45 minutes!!! There was basically no one eating in a restaurant, too slow service.
*Hotel premises too big and it is very hot to wander around during day time because not enough trees giving shade. Just walls around what makes it even hotter.
*Air con was too noisy, I woke up several times at night thinking it is raining heavily, but it was just air con working.
*Kids club was just a sad place, maybe it is meant for older kids as I saw some table games and TVs around, but our 5 y old had nothing to do there. Dark room, practically no toys, no other kids around.

So I would not recommend this hotel. The good pool itself is not enough to make staying there worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived at 10.30pm and had to leave early in the morning but the room was delightful. It was a villa with a balcony. The beds were great. The resort is huge and we were taken by electric cart. It has lush gardens and it was raining when we arrived. It cooled it down.The breakfast was impressive. The dining room faces the beach. It was expensive though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ika_manuaba, Public Relations Manager at Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Greetings from Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas !

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us recently.
We appreciate your view and have passed your valuable comments to all the staff and we are more than happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
We all wish that we will have the pleasure to have you again with us at your next holiday.
Sincerely,
Mina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hi everyone my family are regulars at the Patra ,I can't recommend it enough we stay in a delux suite,it is always clean,the staff are friendly and will go out of there way to make your stay absolutely unforgettable , the pools are huge and beautifully maintained the service is prompt and friendly ,do yourself a favour and Stay at the Patra next time you are in Bali

Room Tip: Always wear good shoes and take water when walking into Kuta c;
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ika_manuaba, Public Relations Manager at Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Greetings from Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas !

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us recently.
We appreciate your view and have passed your valuable comments to all the staff and we are more than happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
We all wish that we will have the pleasure to have you again with us at your next holiday.
Sincerely,
Mina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Friendly, professional staff; great service; big rooms; luxurious pools;

Choose your standard - private villa or standard hotel.

You should be able to find what you want at the Patra.

I use the Patra regularly for my business travel and have yet to be disappointed. From the Execs to the all important staff we always receive great service here.

Plus, it's by the beach and away from the madding crowd.

Great for plane spotters too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

The resort is very nice with balinese Architecture, located on the Beach. It has several houses scattered around with 4-6 rooms in each. (Prepare to walk 5-10 minutes to the main building and pool if you get a room in far end of the resort. ) The garden around the houses is beautiful with greens and flowers.
The Deluxe room was clean and well equiped, comfy for two persons.
The staff is very friendly, you don't feel that you are staying in a quite Big resort.
The breakfast is good with huge selection, Asian, local and International food available.
The airport is five minutes only, you can see the plains coming and leaving all day Long, but we did not feel it noisy.
The resort is 1.5 kms from "the life" on Kuta Beach (Discovery shopping mall) You can walk there on the Beach, or you can use the free shuttle service coming and going 6 times a day between 8am and 9pm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Patra on more occasions than I can remember. Being privately owned at the outset, Pertamina Cottages had the biggest and best appointed rooms on the island for their price. BUT over time, including many ownership and management changes I now find this hotel out of touch. I've arranged quite a number of group visits both family and senior sporting clubs during this time and now experience a non appreciative reaction from middle management to the extent they have lost my support. That said, the location, layout, general staff and facilities and very good.

Room Tip: Being a large establishment closer to the beach is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas

Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juanda, Tuban, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Patra Bali Resort & Villas)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#5 Family Hotel in Tuban
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tuban
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patra Jasa Bali Resort and Villas is set amongst 11 hectares of combination panoramic ocean and lush garden views, reflecting a true element of style in the culturally rich environment of Bali. The location is ideal, a huge landscaped property on South Kuta Beach, directly on the Indian Ocean and only five minutes from the airport. A huge (free) kids club with variety of kid's activities and great facilities for families made Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas one of Bali's most popular family resorts and the tropical gardens are particularly favored for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Otel, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Hotel Kuta
The Patra Bali Resort And Villas
Patra Bali Resort
Patra Bali Hotel
Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas Tuban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.