We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Homestead Cottages to your Saves list
Homestead Cottages
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This accommodation is just what you want to experience the area. It is located just outside the Southern entrance of Yosemite--within a few minutes of the one of the larger towns in the area, Oakhurst, where you can find large grocery stores and restaurants, shopping and even some art galleries. The southern entrance is in my opinion the most beautiful introduction to Yosemite. At this entrance, your first view of Yosemite is the stunning tunnel view lookout. The town of Wawona and the Mariposa grove of giant Sequoias are also nearest this entrance. It is by far easiest and most scenic drive into the Yosemite Valley. The Homestead, while tucked away and peaceful, is as convenient as any any lodging located outside of the valley floor itself as there is always a 30 -45 minute drive involved to get to the valley floor . The hoemstead is a welcome place to return after a long day of exploring the area.

Our cottage, the Garden cottage, was immaculately clean, beautifully decorated and such a lovely little place to stay.. It seems Larry and Cindy have thought of everything. I think you would be hard pressed to need anything that is not alreay provided, but I got the impression if you did they would find a way to provide it if you asked. If you have time to watch TV there are 60 plus satellite tv and radio channels in your room but better entertainmetn is the little seating area off the porch to watch the starry sky. The grounds are beatiful and well maintained with a BBQ area, fully stocked kitchen and a cozy gas fireplace that turns on with just flip of a switch. The value compared to other loding in the area is superior.

Larry and Cindy are so knowlegeable about the area and will share their love for the area with you in such a generous and kind manner. Since cell reception is spotty in the area they have even provided a free landline at the main checkout for

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
102
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

This place was a hidden gem and anyone visiting the area should seek it out!
The owners couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The cabins are perfect - clean, large, comfortable, very well equipped. It was an absolute delight to stay here and we didn't want to leave. The grounds are wonderful, (coyote outside the cabin windows!) and very very peaceful. The only down side is the longish drive to Yosemite itself, but this whole area is so vast, if you stay anywhere outside the national park you'll have a fairly long drive - and past experience has taught us never to stay in Xanterra accommodation with the US National Parks!!!
Myself and my husband would highly recommend these marvelous cabins.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We spent one whole week at The Homestead and we very much enjoyed our stay. The cottage was wonderfully clean and had lots of character and attention to detail. Great location, surrounded by black oaks, there is even a "Native American Kitchen", an whole area in the granite rocks outside one of the cottages where the Native Americans used to grind and process their accorns.

Cindy and Larry are amazing hosts, very attentive and very respectful of our privacy, they are both very authentic and interesting people.

We have a toddler and she enjoyed playing with their dog and their cat very much, also watching the guest horses in the stable area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We were looking at accomodation on-line around the Yosemite National Park and came across these delightful cottages. They were immaculate inside with lovely features such as fresh fruit, granola and scrummy muffins, bath robes, huge bath tub, gas fire and a lovely fitted kitchen. The surroundind scenery was outstandingly beautiful and a real haven for peace. Larry and Cindy were very helpful and knowledgable on the local area but equalably respectful of guest's privacy.

We ate out in nearby Oakhurst and had a fabulous meal at the Japanese resturant recommended in the cottage guide. The supermarkets also have fantstic delis and hot food to take out.

Yosemite was beautiful and only about a 30 minute drive from the B&B- be sure to see the sequoia trees, waterfalls, half dome point, mirror lakes. However due to the scenary and nature around the cottages, one could have just stayed there and not ventured further afield.

Our only regret was that we didn't spend longer here exploring this wonderful corner of the world.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Wow, we are fans of cottage stays -- have stayed in cottages and garden buildings around the world -- and this one was right up there with the best of them. Previous to the Homestead, we'd spent nearly a week in places in/near Yosemite, which left much to be desired. On our way out of the park and back to the Bay Area, stopped for one glorious night at the Homestead. The Garden Cottage was a little gem, perfectly quiet, lovingly decorated, spacious and very relaxing. Nicely appointed kitchen, great bathroom with giant soaking tub, comfy living room couch. Larry was a fantastic host, even following up after our visit a small detail related to the heating. We arrived late and listened to the crickets and sat on the porch breathing the cool refreshing night air in total silence. Next morning, we woke up to a beautiful hillside scene -- the road to the cottages is a glorious woodland. We wished we could have stayed longer, but will be back.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

When looking for a place to stay in Yosemite we really had no idea what a little gem awaited us when we arrived at the Homestead. We stayed in The Loft which has a great combination of being cozy but spacious. The welcome we received from Cindy and Larry made us feel at home immediately. If you want to get away from it all this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Liked — The accommodation was of a high
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We arrived at the Homestead after a long drive from San Francisco, a little earlier than the check in time, but were met by Nancy who told us our cottage was ready. The setting for the Homestead is amazing and just what we needed after a busy four days in San Fran – the cottage had everything we needed, was very spacious and extremely clean and tidy. We spent three nights, but we would’ve been happy to have spent the whole three weeks of our holiday here!

The second day we went on the Yosemite tour, with Yosemite Sightseeing Tours which is advertised in the information pack in the cottage – this was $75 per person but was well worth the money (they even give you a $5 token to spend in the shop which is useful for souvenirs, etc and includes entry to the park) The tour lasted around ten hours and covered Yosemite Valley, where we got to see El Capitan, the giant red woods, Half Dome, numerous meadows and waterfalls, of which the views were the most spectacular we’ve ever seen. We would recommend this tour to anyone not wanting to drive in Yosemite, as some of the inclines and drops at the side of the road (with no barriers!) we did not want to experience in our own car!

Oakhurst is a ten minute drive away and has supermarkets, fast food places and restaurants.

Larry and Cindy were always on hand if we had any questions, etc and were very accommodating hosts to whom we are very grateful.

In conclusion, a fantastic base for anyone wanting to visit Yosemite or to relax and enjoy the surroundings of the Homestead, to which we would definitely revisit.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave :(
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,luxury cottages on 160 wooded acres close to the Southern entrance to Yosemite. Cottages include cozy living rooms, country kitchens, romantic bedrooms and spacious bathrooms. Each has its own private outdoor setting area. There is also the smaller Star Gazing Loft and the larger Ranch House for up to 6 guests. Free wifi, long distance from an outside courtesy phone, continental breakfast in your cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.