We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place, wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homestead Cottages to your Saves list
Homestead Cottages
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magical place, wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I toured around California on honeymoon this September, and chose Homestead Cottages as our base for Yosemite. We had read great things and felt confident this would be better than staying inside the park. We we delighted that this was absolutely right.

Larry and Cindy have very lovingly built a charming, comfortable and beautiful place to stay. They said they have provided what they would want if they were away from home. This is evident from the thoughtful choice of decor and provisions in the cottages (I loved the cosy dressing gowns!), from the neatly designed kitchen and bathroom to the simply gorgeous muffins and granola provided at no extra charge. They even provide a telephone you can use for FREE to any landline, even international!! (Vegas was a bit of a shock after this hospitality!).

The location is marvellous. We can in from the West on the magnificent mountain road. When we arrived Larry pointed out the information pack they have thoughtfully put together so we could make dinner plans. It feels rural but it's only ten minutes from Oakhurst where you can find a range of restaurants and shops. That evening we headed to the nearby Bass lake, which is beautiful, and I had a lovely swim.

The drive to Yosemite was maybe an hour to Yosemite village itself - 30 mins to the park gates. This was perfect for us, the view from the car was so spectacular the whole way the drive felt much quicker. We were very unlucky with the weather - we got into the park the first day in forever that the heavens opened and we were thoroughly drenched when we got back to Homestead. How grateful we were to get 'home' to the cosy cottage, lovely hot shower and sitting room with TV that evening! (Thank goodness we chickened out of camping in those little tents in Yosemite Village car park!). A special shout out for Todd's BBQ in Oakhurst where we got the BEST ribs, pulled pork and coleslaw to bring back to the cottage that night!

Thank you Larry and Cindy for running the Cottages with so much warmth and thoughtfulness. We recommend Homestead to any couple or family wanting a getaway which manages to combine character and practicality! Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer (only 2 nights) as we were touring. We hope very much to return one day to Yosemite, and to Homestead Cottages.

Antonia and Tristan

Room Tip: We stayed in the Adobe cottage and it was fantastic. But there are a small number of Cottages which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
102
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a 4-night stay at Homestead Cottages and loved every moment of it. Larry and Cindy gave us a warm and genuine welcome, which included all the information we needed. “Our” cottage (Garden Cottage) was extremely well equipped and very clean and very comfortable. The facilities make it very easy to eat in the cottage but if you prefer to eat out there are lots of restaurants a short drive away in Oakhurst.

Larry and Cindy are excellent hosts, they couldn’t do more for their guests. They explained to us that they valued their guests’ privacy and I think that the the differential they make between being available to ask questions or offer help and leaving their guests to enjoy themselves was spot on! Also, the cottages are far enough away from each other to preserve that privacy.

The cottages are set in 160 acres and there is a lovely short walk from the cottages up the mountainside.

The cottages fit in with the surrounding area and the beauty of Yosemite (the cottages are about half an hour away from an entrance) extremely welI and I could not recommend them more as a place to stay!

The only other comment I would make to help future potential guests is that I don’t think that Homestead Cottage’s website does it justice, the setting and tranquillity of the cottages and the accommodation itself is better than I expected having looked at their website.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Well, what can i say that hasn't already been said in other reviews which by the way were very good and the reason i booked in the first place. On the day we checked in we were met at the office by Larry & Cindy who were very friendly and welcoming. Larry showed us in to our cottage and explained where everything was and how things worked etc. Once settled we were left on our own to get on with our holiday, we were shown how to get hold of our hosts night or day if there where any problems (there were none). Homestead is about a 30 minute very beautiful & scenic drive from the south entrance of Yosemite park. On the way back from the park we often stopped off at the shops in Oakhurst (10 minute drive from the Homestead) to get the little bit of shopping we needed which wasn't much as Cindy would leave granola, milk, fruit, orange juice, tea coffee, hot chocolate and muffins every morning while we were out seeing the sights. There is a cupboard full of books and satellite tv in the cottage if you are want to have a more restful holiday. The tub in our cottage was a real blessing as it was huge and lovely to just lie in after a days hiking. The bed is large and very comfortable and the cottage is big enough to have your own little bit of space if you need it. Outside there is a communal gas BBQ if you fancy cooking alfresco and approx 160 acres of land to hike around on the property if you like an after dinner walk. Larry showed us how to make free calls to the UK on the office telephone which is a nice touch. Like i said we were left alone to get on with our holiday but saw Larry and Cindy around a couple of times and they are happy to just shoot the breeze with you and give you that all important insider knowledge regarding places to go and places to eat. They have put all that kind of info into a folder inside your cottage as well so that you can read through it and plan your activities. We spent three nights at Homestead as we were passing through from Vegas to San Francisco, however my wife and I would have been very happy to spend more time there, the tranquility is perfect and waking up to the sounds of the wilderness is beyond words and just makes you start your day with a smile. Our holiday was to celebrate my wife's birthday and i couldn't have chosen a better place. A special shout out to Melissa who ensured we always came back to a nice clean and tidy cottage. Thanks again to Larry and Cindy for sharing their wonderful home.

Room Tip: If you like a large corner tub with overhead shower, with a huge fire for the colder days!! Choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and wish it had been longer. From the first second we walked into the room it felt like a real home after two weeks of hotel rooms. Larry & Cindy are the ultimate hosts, they seem to make it their aim to ensure all the guests have a great stay. They even drove out to Fresno to pick up some Gluten free bagels for our breakfast.
The cottages are just over an hour from Yosemite Valley but it is a nice scenic drive and it is more than worth the drive to stay here. We'll be going back next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst travelling around California and although it is just outside Yosemite it is definitely worth staying here rather than some over-priced, over-busy hotel in the park. We stayed in the star-gazing loft and though we didn't see too many stars due to the smoke from the fires, it was still perfect. We were greeted by Larry and Cindy on arrival and they told us all about the area and suggested places to eat. When we got into the spacious well decorated loft the next day's breakfast of home-made muffins, granola, fruit and orange juice was already there with a complete kitchen and all the necessary utensils as well as coffee and tea. I can honestly say that it felt like a home from home. Larry and Cindy were such wonderful hosts and printed out a schedule for the annual Mariposa fair when we said we were interested in seeing a rodeo. What other place can you stay at where you want and get a goodbye hug from the owners?! Thoroughly recommend and you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else in a 50 mile radius!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the most improbable setting imaginable, 4 miles outside the nearest small town, but easy drive to Sequoyia and Yosemite National Parks, immaculately presented housing and grounds, free ranging cattle nearby, no grass, but zen like stone raking (maybe the dreaded rattlesnakes). Very comfortable bedding, about 3 feet up, hand crafted by the owners throughout. Beautiful and well matched furnishings, great kitchen with starter food and condiments, and fresh baked breads for breakfast. Cindy and Larry go way over the top to make you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were scheduled to visit the Homestead for three days in late August, coinciding with the Yosemite fire. Although the area the Homestead in was not affected by the fire, we were scheduled to fly info Reno, spend time in Tahoe, and then go on to Yosemite. We had to cancel our trip due to my asthma, the ash and smoke in Reno, Tahoe and on the way to Yosemite would have been impossible. So we asked to cancel at the Homestead too since we cancelled our entire trip and they graciously agreed even though they didn't have to. Their understanding was unique and we are grateful.

The cottages look so fabulous and inviting that we are disappointed we couldn't go but look forward to a trip there where we will thank Cindy and Larry in person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,luxury cottages on 160 wooded acres close to the Southern entrance to Yosemite. Cottages include cozy living rooms, country kitchens, romantic bedrooms and spacious bathrooms. Each has its own private outdoor setting area. There is also the smaller Star Gazing Loft and the larger Ranch House for up to 6 guests. Free wifi, long distance from an outside courtesy phone, continental breakfast in your cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.