We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Cottages

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Priceline.com
and 6 more sites!
Homestead Cottages
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and wish it had been longer. From the first second we walked into the room it felt like a real home after two weeks of hotel rooms. Larry & Cindy are the ultimate hosts, they seem to make it their aim to ensure all the guests have a great stay. They even drove out to Fresno to pick up some Gluten free bagels for our breakfast.
The cottages are just over an hour from Yosemite Valley but it is a nice scenic drive and it is more than worth the drive to stay here. We'll be going back next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
88
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst travelling around California and although it is just outside Yosemite it is definitely worth staying here rather than some over-priced, over-busy hotel in the park. We stayed in the star-gazing loft and though we didn't see too many stars due to the smoke from the fires, it was still perfect. We were greeted by Larry and Cindy on arrival and they told us all about the area and suggested places to eat. When we got into the spacious well decorated loft the next day's breakfast of home-made muffins, granola, fruit and orange juice was already there with a complete kitchen and all the necessary utensils as well as coffee and tea. I can honestly say that it felt like a home from home. Larry and Cindy were such wonderful hosts and printed out a schedule for the annual Mariposa fair when we said we were interested in seeing a rodeo. What other place can you stay at where you want and get a goodbye hug from the owners?! Thoroughly recommend and you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else in a 50 mile radius!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the most improbable setting imaginable, 4 miles outside the nearest small town, but easy drive to Sequoyia and Yosemite National Parks, immaculately presented housing and grounds, free ranging cattle nearby, no grass, but zen like stone raking (maybe the dreaded rattlesnakes). Very comfortable bedding, about 3 feet up, hand crafted by the owners throughout. Beautiful and well matched furnishings, great kitchen with starter food and condiments, and fresh baked breads for breakfast. Cindy and Larry go way over the top to make you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were scheduled to visit the Homestead for three days in late August, coinciding with the Yosemite fire. Although the area the Homestead in was not affected by the fire, we were scheduled to fly info Reno, spend time in Tahoe, and then go on to Yosemite. We had to cancel our trip due to my asthma, the ash and smoke in Reno, Tahoe and on the way to Yosemite would have been impossible. So we asked to cancel at the Homestead too since we cancelled our entire trip and they graciously agreed even though they didn't have to. Their understanding was unique and we are grateful.

The cottages look so fabulous and inviting that we are disappointed we couldn't go but look forward to a trip there where we will thank Cindy and Larry in person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A very comfortable and relaxing place to rest after full days exploring Yosemite! At check-in, Larry was more than accommodating with lots of helpful information about the park as well as the local area. We loved the cottage for its privacy and it felt much more homely than a hotel would have done. You can tell that with years of running the Homestead that the owners have listened carefully to feedback from guests to ensure every eventuality is covered. A good example is the binder of information that gave us lots of good ideas about Yosemite hikes and where to eat in nearby Oakhurst.

We did rely on the satnav to get us to the Homestead and it led us down a dirt road so make sure you look up directions beforehand. It is actually very easy to get to once you know the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruise to Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Even though we had to drive 20 miles outside of Yosemite to get to the
Homestead Cottages, we wouldn't have changed our plans for anything.
We loved the cottage that we stayed in. It was so relaxing after a
strenuous day of hiking and sightseeing at Yosemite. We were very pleased with
how clean the cottage was throughout our stay. The breakfast that was provided was
very fresh and delicious. Cindy and Larry made sure that everything
was available that we would need. They were so gracious and accommodating.
We will be sure to tell all of our friends about our wonderful experiences at the Homestead.
We hope to be able to return again.


.

Room Tip: Don't miss this gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fully serviced cottage on a small road to nowhere in particular. On beautiful private ranch rich in birds and animals and with private parking outside the cottage. We were using it as a 3 night stopover to visit Yosemite and it definitely works but remember that it is over 40 very slow miles to the NP whichever way you go so make allowances. Nearer to Oakhurst than Ahwahnee but Oakhurst is the better centre for food and drink. Nothing was missing from the cottage set up and a small breakfast of cereal, a muffin and a piece of fruit is provided each day. To be honest, we tended to take the muffin and fruit for lunch and get an American breakfast in Mariposa or Oakhurst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee
Homestead Cottages Hotel
Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,luxury cottages on 160 wooded acres close to the Southern entrance to Yosemite. Cottages include cozy living rooms, country kitchens, romantic bedrooms and spacious bathrooms. Each has its own private outdoor setting area. There is also the smaller Star Gazing Loft and the larger Ranch House for up to 6 guests. Free wifi, long distance from an outside courtesy phone, continental breakfast in your cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Homestead Cottages to your Saves list