We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Cottages

Save Saved
You added Homestead Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homestead Cottages
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
cruise to Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Even though we had to drive 20 miles outside of Yosemite to get to the
Homestead Cottages, we wouldn't have changed our plans for anything.
We loved the cottage that we stayed in. It was so relaxing after a
strenuous day of hiking and sightseeing at Yosemite. We were very pleased with
how clean the cottage was throughout our stay. The breakfast that was provided was
very fresh
and delicious. Cindy and Larry made sure that everything
was available that we would need. They were so gracious and accommodating.
We will be sure to tell all of our friends about our wonderful experiences at the Homestead.
We hope to be able to return again.


.

Room Tip: Don't miss this gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
88
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fully serviced cottage on a small road to nowhere in particular. On beautiful private ranch rich in birds and animals and with private parking outside the cottage. We were using it as a 3 night stopover to visit Yosemite and it definitely works but remember that it is over 40 very slow miles to the NP whichever way you go so make allowances. Nearer to Oakhurst than Ahwahnee but Oakhurst is the better centre for food and drink. Nothing was missing from the cottage set up and a small breakfast of cereal, a muffin and a piece of fruit is provided each day. To be honest, we tended to take the muffin and fruit for lunch and get an American breakfast in Mariposa or Oakhurst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in one of the cottages a couple weeks ago while visiting Yosemite. Our charming little cottage had everything you can think of...so much attention to detail, especially the orange juice, milk, muffins, granola, and fruit they provided. I mean, seriously, who does that kind of thing?! Talk about making you feel special! The decor was attractive, and our bed was very comfortable. The owners, Larry and Cindy, are warm and friendly, and chock full of useful information. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it a thousand times over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I just stayed in one of the Homestead Cottages with my daughters. It is a wonderful property and Cindy and Larry who own and run the cottages were wonderful. It was very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the use of the barbeque each evening to cook our dinner and we spent the days in Yosemite. We highly recommend this location for travelers to Yosemite. It was a tremendous value and we appreciate their hospitality. The furnishings and decor were also very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I chose Homestead Cottages for our trip to Yosemite and was not disappointed. Homestead Cottages are located about 30 minutes from the south gate of Yosemite, and an easy drive out to the park. Visiting Yosemite you end up driving a lot to get to hiking trails and points of interest, so really, what is an extra 30 minutes. Even if you stayed inside the park, you would spend much time driving and would have to deal with crowds. Homestead Cottages are quiet, secluded and peaceful. The cottages are clean and spacious and very comfortable. When we arrived we were early, but were still allowed to check into our cottage. The owners, Larry and Cindy, are warm and welcoming, it felt like we were visiting friends rather than checking into a hotel. Cindy helped us find trails in Yosemite that would be fun my 23 year old daughter and myself, yet easy enough for my 9 year old son. Her recommendations were spot on and our time spent in Yosemite was excellent. We spent three days driving into Yosemite and hiking, sight seeing etc. Two of the three nights we came back after dark and came back to find the porch light on and a few lights turned on in the cottage, so we weren't stumbling in the dark to find our way. This was a great place to come back to and relax after a long day of hiking, driving and crowds. Muffins, fruit, granola, orange juice, milk and butter were stocked daily in the cottage. The kitchen had everything needed to prepare meals and a BBQ is available on the premises. Larry and Cindy are available whenever needed, but allow guests as much privacy as they wish. I will DEFINITELY visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed in the Ranch House for 4 nights.

On the negative side: Lack of dishwasher, barbecue tongs, ignition button on bbq, oil for bbq, potato peeler or forks that wouldn’t bend.

Main bed was very small as was en suite bath. Shower head fell off as soon as I tried to redirect it.

Breakfast platter of orange juice, coffee and very large muffins pleasant without being spectacular.

On the positive side : Lovely peaceful setting and stars are indeed very pretty at night. Sofa very comfortable and fireplace is magnificent.

Larry and Cindy were away when we stayed but Tess could not have been any more helpful.

The reality is that the accommodation is 1 ½ hours drive from Yosemite village unless you grossly exceed the speed limit. I left the cottage at 5.15 one morning and wasn’t on the mist trail until 7.15. I did at least have a very fulfilling hike to top of Nevada falls. Bass Lake is much closer and well worth a visit but that is not the point of staying here. So prepare for a 3 hour round trip each day. OK with adults but not brilliant with kids.

Oakhurst is close and is a very pleasant town. Recommend Crab Cakes, Big Todd’s BBQ shack, El Cid to eat in that order.

Laundromat in Oakhurst very efficient.

Hiring a jet ski on Bass Lake for $99/hour was very worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great stay at Homestead Cottages. We were there right after the 4th of July and the quiet cabin was perfect after long days in Yosemite. The property is very well maintained and very clean. The beds were comfortable and furnishings were very nice. It is a beautiful location and great for star gazing at night. It is about 10 minutes to Oakhurst and some nice restaurants, and about 30 minutes to south entrance of Yosemite. The owners take good care of you -- they come in and make beds, freshen things up, etc. while you are gone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee
Homestead Cottages Hotel
Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,luxury cottages on 160 wooded acres close to the Southern entrance to Yosemite. Cottages include cozy living rooms, country kitchens, romantic bedrooms and spacious bathrooms. Each has its own private outdoor setting area. There is also the smaller Star Gazing Loft and the larger Ranch House for up to 6 guests. Free wifi, long distance from an outside courtesy phone, continental breakfast in your cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.