We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - "Just what the doctor ordered!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Cottages

Save Saved
You added Homestead Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homestead Cottages
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful - "Just what the doctor ordered!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in the Star Gazing loft for 4 nights. Had a great time and didnt want to move on .
Great breakfasts; a far too comfortable bed and everything you could need for self catering. So much better equipped than many places. Lots of good local information - a big help when home is Scotland! The world is a big place but we we ever came back to the Yosemite area we would stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
96
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at these cottages Sept. 2012 for four days during our visit to Yosemite. We rented a one bedroom cabin. The cabin was great! It was clean, big, and decorated beautifully. It had a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, tv and wifi access. Seperate bed and bathroom and living/dining area. The host and hostess Larry and Cindy were great. They provide you with directions, menus of different restaurants in the area and their favorite picks. They provide you with a list of area grocery stores as well if you want to cook in the cabin. Dishes, pots & pans, bake wear; everything you need to cook is provided. And what was really awesome was the freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade muffins, cereal, milk ,coffe, tea or cocoa and even apples and bananas that were left in the cabin every single morning! It was about a 20 minute drive into town or maybe a little less. There's plenty in town. Theres fine dining, McDonalds, gas stations, licquor stores all in a 5 mile radius. The cabins have a patio in the back to sit out and relax and do some star gazing or wildlife viewing. We seen deer, turkey, everyday .....it was quiet and peaceful...Would definitely stay again. Lost pictures of cabin...visit the website and check it out!

Room Tip: Our cabin was right above the cabin/lodge where they check you in....we never heard anyone making no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose to stay for 5 nights, based on reviews that we had read on tripadvisor, and am so glad that we did. Cottages are set in the most beautiful location and are so peaceful that we spent a whole day just chilling out there. Yosemite is only about 30-40 mins easy drive away, with shops on way so you can pick up supplies. Make sure to visit Bass Lake which is really lovely and was so quiet and peaceful while we were there. Our thanks to Larry and Cindy for such a welcome stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked two nights in a cottage for our 11th anniversary. The peace and beauty of Homestead Cottages is exactly what we needed with my work being so frantic for several months. My mountain man enjoyed the scenery of the foothills he drove around in as kid growing up in the valley.
Larry and Cindy met us upon our arrival and made sure we were settled in. The cottage was cuter than the pictures show. We enjoyed the fruit of Larry's creative efforts and he and Cindy's hard work in making their dream come true.
We asked for a quiet location, and they put us in a lovely spot. The little patio area in back was nicely raked like a little zen garden for us to sit out at night and look at the stars, or enjoy a cup of tea in the morning.
We love a firm bed, so the softer spring bed made solid sleep a little difficult for us, but we still loved our time in the cottage. The rain shower was great with soft well water. Loved the Tranquility music channel on TV. We're not big cold breakfast eaters, but the muffins were nice to have in the morning.
We would love to have a full week (a month would be even better) to just camp out in a cottage!
Definitely worth a little drive in the pretty country to stay here and get away from the tourist crowds in Oakhurst and Mariposa - especially if you're a couple wanting a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

There is not alot I can say that hasnt already been said in numerous reviews already. The cottages are set in a beautiful quiet area near Oakhurst, a fairly long but very picturesque driver from incredible Yosemite national park.
My wife and I were made to feel very welcome on arrival and we absolutely loved our accomodation in the star loft, lovely views and very comfortable and homely. The room itself was very spacious for two people and nicely furnished.
The owners clearly know their stuff, there was a very helpful guide book to the local restaurants and shops, we especially liked the fresh fruit and muffins that were put in our room every day which were the perfect start for the early morning drives in to the park.
All in all this was the perfect place for us, so much more affordable than the overpriced places in the park and we felt relaxed and at home within minutes of arrival. I highly recommend this place, you really should not stay at places like the awahnee hotel when this is just down the road.

Room Tip: The star loft was perfect for 2 people, really cosy and romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The great service from Cindy and Larry began even before we arrived. We had problems at home at the last minute and had to cancel our trip. We were terribly stressed and contacted them actually expecting to lose all of our money. They were amazingly understanding and sorted us a new booking a few months later - no problem.
When we finally arrived I don't think I've ever had such a big smile as I walked into a room. The cabin was lovely, and there were even some supplies for the next morning. It was all so tranquil and cosy that I was sad that we had planned a full day out in Yosemite, were only staying two nights.
Larry and Cindy were actually on a break themselves during our visit, but Tess, who was looking after the place, was also welcoming and helpful.
I would recommend The Homestead to anyone holidaying near Yosemite, and think many of the hotels we visited later in our trip could learn a lot from the way they operate and the standards they provide.
Thanks All at the Homestead for a great visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin one. I can't say it was any better than any of the others, but we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Ehat a great little find. Cindy and Larry personally came down and went through all the available cycle trails that my husband could use. We stayed in the lodge and one of the smaller cottages for two nights each. The lodge was ideal for our party, it was spotlessly clean, and the beds very comfortable. When we moved to the smaller cottage it was no issue at all. We left everything in the lodge and went out for the day, when we came back all our stuff had been transferred and even the fridge items had been moved. The smaller cottage was fine, even with the sofabed and rollaway down there was still plenty of room to move around, we had the Indian themed cottage and the master bed was huge and so so comfy! The breakfast granola was lovely and although the muffins were lovely it would have been nice to have the choice of bread so that toast could have been made instead. Eating a very large muffin (which in the UK is essentially a cake to be eaten with a cup of tea mid afternoon) for breakfast just seems wrong on so many levels and my two children wouldn't eat them. Free calls to the UK was also an added bonus. Location to Yosemite is great although if you have the time spend a day in Bass Lake and hire a boat, what a blast! Also if you need a bike then Yosemite bike shop in Oakhurst (10-15 minutes drive away) is a must. My husband had issues with his bike and took it here. They opened the shop early for him, fixed the bike with no issues and the owner then took him out on some local off road trails for the next two mornings, great guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,luxury cottages on 160 wooded acres close to the Southern entrance to Yosemite. Cottages include cozy living rooms, country kitchens, romantic bedrooms and spacious bathrooms. Each has its own private outdoor setting area. There is also the smaller Star Gazing Loft and the larger Ranch House for up to 6 guests. Free wifi, long distance from an outside courtesy phone, continental breakfast in your cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.