We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here in 2009, currently hotel undergoing renovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Beaches Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Beaches Resort to your Saves list
9 Beaches Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4 Daniels Head Rd, MA BX, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stayed here in 2009, currently hotel undergoing renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The huts are far from tents, as some reviewers indicated. The walls are from heavy non-porous synthetic fabric, but other than that there is no practical difference from huts made of cement. The beaches are superb, the island near hotel has a wonderful maze of little caves that you can kayak into, and then there is a shipwreck behind it, that you can paddle to at your leisure as well. Hamilton downtown is some 20 minutes away by ferry (you do need to walk a mile to/from the ferry, though). This was one of my more memorable vacations. This is one of few places that I want to return to (maybe the only one)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    114
    41
    44
    37
See reviews for
59
219
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spring of 2010, my family went to Bermuda and stayed at this resort. We've stayed at many resorts, most of them Fairfield and Wyndham. This was a great location, with great staff. It's probably best for couples. However, staying as a family (went w/my parents and sister) was still nice.

The bungalo was a bit dated, but VERY clean. The bed was comfy and the view was BEYOND amazing.

The entire island is warm and welcoming. It just felt like visiting family in some exotic setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I spent the first half of our honeymoon at 9 Beaches (the other half at Rosedon) in 2009. We stayed in one of the cottages over the water. We loved the resort so much that we modified our trip to stay there two additional nights. We wanted to recreate the trip for our 5th anniversary but are disappointed to find that 9 Beaches won't be open due to renovations. I hope they don't change too much.

Room Tip: I definitely recommend the cottages over the water, which have a window in the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Loved this resort the way it was when I visited. Hoping that they don't change it too much. The little cottages on the beach were great. The resort felt very private overall. The GM at the time Robin, even gave us a ride into Hamilton one night when our taxi didn't show up on time. I would return here in a second.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The resort has everything needed on site. I understand they are going through renovation and I hope it doesn't change too much. We loved the Cabanas. We even survived a storm and still was nice and secure. I dream of returning and being able to pick up our cell phone (provided) to call for a Dark and Stormy while lazing on the beach.
For those like me that don't like sea grass, I'd suggest a pair of scuba boots so you don't have to wade through the grass at the shore to get to the great snorkeling that surrounds the peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is my favorite place to stay when visiting Bermuda. Great accomdations, food and staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I love 9 Beaches, so much so that I have been twice and I expect to go back again in the near future.
The cabanas are unique and not for everyone, but I camp often and they are way better than tents. The indoor plumbing, for instance, is wonderful.

The beaches around the point are all lovely, although you occasionally have to pick up after other visitors who are less conscientious about where they put their trash. I stayed off the public beaches and hung to the more private side of the point.

If you are a snorkeler, bring your gear. If not, bring your swim goggles. There is a lot to see right off the beaches of the resort, so you don't have to be hard core to enjoy the world below. The fish are incredibly friendly. Many guests feed then and they will swim right up to you and demand food, so I always swiped some extra corn flakes from breakfast to satisfy them.

I didn't rent a scooter either time I was on the island, as they are pretty unsafe. Fortunately, the island is small and pretty easy to get around. We took public transportation and had no problem getting where we wanted to go for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view or better cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabanaman, General Manager at 9 Beaches Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Hello from 9 Beaches!
Thanks so much for your review. We are still here and about to embark on our development.
It's taken time to get this far but the wait will be worth it! The cabanas...executive tents some call them...will be totally remodeled inside. They will have solid walls and be 100% efficiently air-conditioned. We're building, subject to building permits, a proper restaurant on the dock by the bay, as well as a newly sited guest reception together with a spa, next to another beach. All the existing military buildings will be demolished. Swords into beach chairs I think the saying is. Have a look at our website for newsletter information! See you (fairly) soon I hope! I'm hoping we'll be ready at the end of 2012. Robin, General beach chair Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Beaches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Beaches Resort

Address: 4 Daniels Head Rd, MA BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 9 Beaches Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Beaches is Bermuda’s first and only ultra-casual resort. So bring your flip flops, no stilettos or suits allowed! It’s Bermuda, but ultra-casual. Why spend your vacation in a “room” when you can have your own private soft-sided cabana? More like your own beach house. And 9 Beaches has the most complete water sports operation on the island. Find out why guests are calling 9 Beaches “Heaven on earth for the down to earth. Temporarily closed for renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your 9 Beaches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Beaches Hotel Sandys
Hotel 9 Beaches
9 Beaches Bermuda
Nine Beaches
9 Beaches Resort Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Beaches Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.