We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and beautiful views as well!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Maritime Museum

Bermuda Maritime Museum
1 The Keep | The Old Royal Naval Dockyard, MA 01, Bermuda
441-234-1418
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Inside the world of secret underground tunnels, shipwrecked explorers and hidden treasure.
Boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful views as well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been to Bermuda numerous times, but had never visited the museum and grounds. The museum was very interesting, and we loved walking around the fort grounds. There were a group of goats that were fun to watch following their caretaker to the barn. You are also able to view the dolphin discovery area (swim with the poor creatures). I hate captive dolphins being kept for our entertainment. There was also a very large Leatherback Turtle being held in a very small enclosure. Enough of that.....In any event, the museum and grounds are a good take. Watch out for loads of goat droppings!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Better Than Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'm very impressed from my recent visit to this museum. It used to be a maritime museum but has been expanded over the years to present fairly inclusive coverage of the island. The setting is appropriately in the fort-like grounds surrounding the Commissioner's House of the Royal Naval Dockyard. I was impressed the frankness with which Bermuda's less than picture-perfect history was presented -- including its use as a penal colony during the Boer War and for Irish political prisoners and some African history. Don't miss the exhibit in the ammunition magazine opposite the grotto. And watch out for the "leftovers" of the goats who keep the lawn mowed!

The Commissioner's House, which over many years has been beautifully transformed into good exhibition space, has a commanding view up the length of the island and over any cruise ships docked in Dockyard.

To get here, the ferry ride to/from Hamilton (and St. George in season) is convenient and well worth the time for the ride alone. Alternatively, you can access this site by the regular and reliable bus service. If you need lunch, the Frog & Onion, just outside the front entrance, is my favorite, though there are others nearby as well.

I don't notice what provision there is for those with mobility issues but there is a fair bit of walking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“History of Bermuda !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located at Bermudas Royal Dockyard,literately steps away from the cruise ship. Very reasonably priced for such a great attraction. We found it to be very informative and interesting. We Highly recommended it !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Senior citizen admission is $8....one of the best bargains on the island. Watching the dolphins was nothing special, but the commissioners house and grounds is one of the best museums of its kind in a spectacular setting. Naval history artifacts over several centuries presented quite well. Noteworthy money and coin rooms. A must see for any taste.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thought the museum would be boring and why pay $10 each to go in but it was great- very informative. It was great wandering around and seeing the goats/sheep loose made me think about having them in stead of lawnmower. What would the neighbors think? Anyway lots of history and well appointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bermuda Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bermuda Maritime Museum to your Saves list