We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History of Bermuda !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Bermuda

National Museum of Bermuda
The Keep, Sandys MA 01, Bermuda | The Old Royal Naval Dockyard, MA 01, Bermuda
441-234-1418
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside the world of secret underground tunnels, shipwrecked explorers and hidden treasure.
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“History of Bermuda !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located at Bermudas Royal Dockyard,literately steps away from the cruise ship. Very reasonably priced for such a great attraction. We found it to be very informative and interesting. We Highly recommended it !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    64
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The Commissioner’s House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited Bermuda from NCL cruise ship, docked in King’s Wharf. Our balcony was just facing to the Commissioner’s House in National Museum of Bermuda. I watched the fascinating historical house in sun rise and sunset, wanted to visit it on our last day since it was a short walk from the cruise ship. However, it was rain on our second day so we went to there in the afternoon. The Commissioner’s House is on the hill, built with cast iron and limestone. Strong wind made rain whipping to my face when I was walking up to the house. In the ground floor, I walked through artillery, defense and fortifications, felt the safest place here in this rain storm. The first floor has coins and banknotes of Bermuda, history of Bermuda, the slave trade. Standing at the front door, I saw the big cruise ship was blurred out in the rain storm. The second floor has Commissioner’s room and other rooms. The Hall of History is covered by Foster’s mural in 2 floors. Each peace of history of Bermuda was presented on it. Since I had learned some Bermuda history during my walking tour in St. George and visited City Hall in Hamilton, I could recognize many of historical events on the mural. After the Commissioner’s House, we visited High Cave Magazine, Queen’s Exhibition Hall for Shipwreck Island, and Boat Loft and The Great Storehouse Clock. If you are interested in the history of Bermuda, you should visit the museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Provides a Great History of Bermuda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very enjoyable and informative. We expecially liked the two rooms with the coins and currency and the history behind each of the monies on display.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are interested in the history of Bermuda, plan to spend a couple of hours or so walking through the Commissioner's House (which houses most of the exhibits), the buildings in the keep (more exhibits), and the grounds (where you should not be surprised to encounter sheep grazing). The entrance fee is minimal. The exhibits are all quite well done, and there is a mural in the main staircase that is quite impressive. There are ramps as well as stairs, and an elevator in the Commissioner's House, so it should be fully wheelchair accessible. The map and guide (obtained at the entrance) is very useful and very informative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Senior citizen admission is $8....one of the best bargains on the island. Watching the dolphins was nothing special, but the commissioners house and grounds is one of the best museums of its kind in a spectacular setting. Naval history artifacts over several centuries presented quite well. Noteworthy money and coin rooms. A must see for any taste.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Bermuda also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to National Museum of Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.