We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I say excellent, he says average so it gets very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Bermuda

National Museum of Bermuda
The Keep, Sandys MA 01, Bermuda | The Old Royal Naval Dockyard, MA 01, Bermuda
441-234-1418
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside the world of secret underground tunnels, shipwrecked explorers and hidden treasure.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“I say excellent, he says average so it gets very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We paid $10 each to go into the museum, first I got to sit and watch people swimming with the dolphins, great fun. There were a couple of buildings on the lower level to walk around with interesting ship wreck memorabilia etc. We then took the hill up to the big colonial house. Each room has a different exhibition and I found the small room with the currency really interesting - how it changed from UK£ to US$ and all the notes and coins are there to see.Some rooms are set out as replicas of what it would have been. The rain poured whilst we looked inside and took the opportunity to see more - well the ladies did whilst the men yawned profusely outside. No it is not for everyone but we had a fantastic view of the cruise ships, had interesting exhibitions and to top it I got to watch the dolphins - the $10 to watch the dolphins made the trip for me but I think my husband would pass on returning. 1-2 hours at the maximum is all you need.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    65
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“great few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really interesting maritime museum and a must visit when in Bermuda. You can spend several hours here and still not see everything.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Bermuda Maritime Museum = National Museum of Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Please note that two institutions have been combined -- the Bermuda Maritime Museum is now part of the National Museum of Bermuda. (Trip Advisor's reviews for under both names should probably be consolidated.) In any event, this is a fantastic place to visit to learn Bermuda history! I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Bermuda Maritime Museum = National Museum of Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Please note that two institutions have been combined -- the Bermuda Maritime Museum is now part of the National Museum of Bermuda. (Trip Advisor's reviews for under both names should be consolidated.) In any event, this is a fantastic place to visit to learn Bermuda history! I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Spent 2 Hours...Enjoyed Every Minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent two hours going through the museum that was filled with lots of history and information about Bermuda's past. Found the restored Commissioner's House to be a gold mine of neat and interesting things to see - cannons from old forts guarding key port entrances, info on annual Bermuda sailing race, impact slavery had to economy, how the island changed over the years from initial founding to WWI and WWII to the present day, and how the economy changed. Outdoor exhibits were just as good. Take time to walk the grounds to see how it was built since its a very large fort facility. Overall this is a must see site to fully understand Bermuda, the people and how it was settled.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Bermuda also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to National Museum of Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.