We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Maritime Museum

Bermuda Maritime Museum
1 The Keep | The Old Royal Naval Dockyard, MA 01, Bermuda
441-234-1418
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Inside the world of secret underground tunnels, shipwrecked explorers and hidden treasure.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lots of info about sailing, history and info about the island. My husband is a military history buff and he thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you enjoy history - check this out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very informative museum, allow at least 2-3 hours to really enjoy it though. It's withing walking distance of Kings Wharf and was alot of fun to explore.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fascinating, and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The fee is reasonable considering all the great stuff you get to see. We were in there a long time...and I think we only saw half of it. There are dozens of rooms filled with tons of history. It was a hot day though, so we tried to stick more to the air conditioned rooms! We got to see some cool coins and bills, a library, art, a big mural, etc etc! Lots of boats to see, plus lots of info about hydro. Sadly lots of the buildings were closed the day we went. Got some great pictures of the ocean from the balcony of the Commissioner's House. It's worth checking out!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just about the most interesting place we went to in Bermuda. Watch out for the sheep/goat droppings on the grass. The husband and I spent about 3.5 hours there and still didn't see everything. Stay with your group in the commissioner's house as we saw lost people -the house is a labrynth!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not just for history enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

When we visited Bermuda, the weather wasn't the most pleasant as we had high, gusty winds and scattered rain with overcast sky. Since the wind made a beach day a most unpleasant experience, we visited the Maritime Museum and wandered the grounds for hours. There is a $10 entrance fee that opens up the entire area: the Commissioner's House and all the outlying buildings, the grounds with their exquisite views, and watching Dolphin Quest. DIsclaimer: don't think that you can participate in swimming with the dolphins by paying the admission fee to the Museum, but you can sit on spectator benches and watch the interaction of the dolphins. I had a very interesting conversation with a marine biologist at the Dolphin Quest exhibit and enjoyed a bit of time there, just relaxing and observing.
One of the outlying buildings has an extensive explanation of the period of Bermudian history when Bermuda was used as a penal colony by the British. Well worth a visit to understand the impact. Within the restored Commissioner's House, you will find exhibits that detail Bermuda's social and military history. Absolutely fascinating is the exhibit room housing the American capture of the U-505 and the assistance that Bermuda provided in keeping that secret during the war. That particular exhibit is splendid. I became enthralled with the history of Bermuda entertwined with the Azores. I think all the exhibits are very well done.
My visit was filled with history, beautiful vistas, and enchanting dolphins, and I felt thoroughly entertained.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bermuda Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bermuda Maritime Museum to your Saves list