We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Naval Dockyard

Royal Naval Dockyard
Bermuda
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built in the early 1800s, this dockyard is now the largest museum in Bermuda and features exhibits on the island's maritime history.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When visiting Bermuda a must visit is the Royal Navy Dockyards and in particular a tour of the old fort. Not only is the view unbelievable but the history and stories are quite remarkable. This was definitely the highlight of our last visit to the Dockyards. Great food and unique shopping and overall ambiance is great for the whole family and the ferry ride is a real treat for the kids.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    146
    80
    16
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“reasonable prices compared to Hamilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Large variety of gifts, prices were reasonable compared to Hamilton. The Rum cakes are delicious and the info from the the women selling them as to the tradition of them being made for weddings and not loaded with rum so the whole family can enjoy was appreciated. The price of food and drink on the island in general is not cheep but we enjoyed the frog and onion pub.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
190 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Sort of a Naval-influenced Disneyland wanna-be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our most recent outing here involved Bermuda's off-season Dockyard history walk, led by the fabulous Tim Rogers, Historian & Resident. While $8. for 2 Danish is enough to put one off ... I 'amortized' it by realizing that although we'd been on this same walk a year prior, it was still told with relish and made the area come alive at a time we most enjoy ...when there are NO cruise boats in port! Alas, it is BECAUSE of the Cruise boats that we HAVE this Disney-esque offering so close to our Somerset home! When we host visitors this weekend (for perhaps the 7 or 8th time since we moved here 10/2011), we'll once AGAIN avail ourselves of the Rum Cake factory, the Glassworks, the Ceramic Shop, the Craft Market and (wonderful) Art Gallery that provide a predictable good time for them. I'm grateful the tourist bureau offers the history walks and the Calypso /Taste-of-Bermuda Sundays, etc. so that Dockyard can continue to thrive during Bermuda's 'off' months.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Royal Naval Dockyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Commissioner's House is probably the best place to visit on the Island. From the porch on the second floor, there is a view of the entire Island. I would like to know more about the house, who lived there and who built it, but there was not a guide or a docent the day my husband and I visited.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting site...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had family reasons to be interested in the Dockyard. OK it was off season, but it would be better if there were more people around who could perhaps elaborate on the huge history in person... I was trying to find out about a particular regiment stationed at the site, but there was nobody to ask.

Hopefully the restoration can continue though as it's a big resource.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Naval Dockyard also viewed

Sandys Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 
Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
 

Been to Royal Naval Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Naval Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.