We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise to Bermuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Naval Dockyard

Royal Naval Dockyard
Bermuda
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built in the early 1800s, this dockyard is now the largest museum in Bermuda and features exhibits on the island's maritime history.
Cranston, RI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cruise to Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great trip, even better cruising, the ship docked for 3 days and you could experience the entire island. Loads to do

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    124
    64
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spend a Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great places to eat, the Museum is Fantastic! We ate at the Frog and Onion, good beer and great food. Bit of shopping, the glassworks and the rum cake factory is great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wish I would have read the reviews of this before we went”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Apparently there is a lot more to do in the area than we were aware of during our visit. We did visit the glass blowing store where they were giving demonstrations of making a plate. I found this very fascinating. In this same store, they also had samples of different kinds of rum cake that could be purchased. We also visited the crafters market where there were all kinds of locally made items being sold. Some were giving demonstrations of their craft such as the gal making sea glass jewelry. I was specifically looking for a Bermuda t-shirt and looked in several stores before I made my way over to the Clock Tower Mall. There was a store in there that had many, many shirts at a reasonable price. I think I got one for $7. We tried to go to the snorkel beach just to see it but didn't want to pay the admission fee. Maybe it would have been worth it. There were tons of people using the WiFi that is located in the area but I was on vacation. The last thing I wanted to do was check in at home while there for just a limited time! This area is also where you catch the ferries to St. George's and to Hamilton. Just look for the long line!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin , New York, United States
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Plenty to do within easy walking of your ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are dozens of sites in the area of the wharves/Naval Dockyard. Most...not all..are tourist attractions...not to be dismissed, though. Good shops, good quality as compared to the "flea market" types of shopping in other Caribbean ports. Several very interesting historic sites such as the Natrional Museum and the Commissioners House. Several small beaches...a snorkel cove...Snorkel Park. Easy walking, places to stop and sit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to catch the ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We could go most anywhere we wanted after we got to the Dockyard. Great place to shop and grab a bite or beer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Naval Dockyard also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Royal Naval Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Naval Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Naval Dockyard to your Saves list