We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for tourist!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Naval Dockyard

Royal Naval Dockyard
Bermuda
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$165*
and up
Bermuda Shore Excursion: 2-Tank Certified Scuba...
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the early 1800s, this dockyard is now the largest museum in Bermuda and features exhibits on the island's maritime history.
Princeton, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good for tourist!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great place to walk around and and do some nick knack shopping. Most of the tourist were purchasing goods and souvenirs from the pharmacy. Most of the area is equipped with WiFi but the signal is stronger is some spots more than others. Using your wireless device near the store or gazebo is just like sitting in any other park on normal day. I didn't get the opportunity to visit the museum as I saved it for the last day and I assumed it was going to rain. The one negative thing I experienced was the attitudes toward me at the Royal Navy Dockyard's Pastry shop. My party must of caught the ladies at a bad time because they were very apprehensive about waiting on my party and seemed quite annoyed we were there. The coffee was good, the croissant was ok.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    158
    85
    17
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Port of Call”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you haven't arrived by cruise ship, go out to Dockyards when they aren't in port. Highly Recommended is the National Museum of Bermuda and the "Keep". Buy even if you don't want to pay for that attraction a lot of the old support buildings are still there. Places to shop and eat, but be aware that they may cater to "trapped" cruise ship passengers. Sea glass beach is near if you are interested in "funky" and the seamy side of Bermuda Housing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Small area some nice shops but nothing really over the top”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean, nice, well maintained area. Historical building converted into shops with a good variety of lower and gift stuff. Higher end art also available. I was suprised that the middle ground of collectables was not that well represented. Certainly close and convient for hte cruise ships and all vendors were very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was interesting to see how the royal naval dockyard had been restored. Part of it is a touristy shopping mall which is really for the cruise ships which dock here but it was quite well done. A choice of cafes and restaurants available.
Good bus service from here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun in Bermuda !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Friendly people & lots of unique , cool shops ! Visit the Bermuda craft market for nicely crafted products !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Naval Dockyard also viewed

 

Been to Royal Naval Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Naval Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.