We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world with a touch of modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Beaches to your Saves list
Cambridge Beaches
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Old world with a touch of modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Spacious grounds with typical Bermuda cottages. We had a lovely view over the bay and our terrace was completely private. Beach small, water so shallow made swimming impossible and for this level of hotel should have been cleaned of seaweed daily. Our stay was somewhat "last minute" to join friends visiting from the US.

Bathroom looked a little tired but all very clean. Strange to see carpets in a dining room and typical British sitting rooms in the reception area - heavy drapes, squishy sofas. Seemed slightly dated and out of place in a warm country, although the winters can be chilly.

Parts of hotel had been given a revamp and were more modern - these included the small and relatively under-used edge of infinity pool.

Food good and we were glad we'd taken the B&B with Dinner option as this hotel is a little off the track, no local restaurant in walking distance and taxi fares (a round trip to somewhere starts at £20) can add up. Breakfast both buffet and a la carte - excellent. Didn't do Lunch. Complimentary Tea (sandwiches, scones, cake - typical English!) a nice touch.

Dinner exchange between Cambridge Beaches, The Reefs and Pompano resorts is useful. Had dinner with our friends who stayed at the Pompano which was a smaller, more cramped resort with a definite American feel. It was also very busy whereas Cambridge Beaches appeared to be quiet. No children - a plus for us. Gym OK, didn't use spa on this occasion but looked OK.

Negative was that it was right at the other end of the island from the airport so an hour transfer and also a long way from Hamilton, St George. We were also there during a 3-day public holiday which meant pubic transport wasn't running - no ferry, no bus. Watch this if you go end of July. Listening to the noise from the cricket match was quite fun.

I wouldn't especially return to Bermuda - bit like Pembrokeshire or Cornwall with sugar-almond coloured homes. It also rained heavily several times every day and was steamy hot at other times.

Suspect Americans find Bermuda "quaint". We booked hotel through www.simplybermuda.co.uk - a knowledgeable and helpful boutique travel agent. Very efficient airport in Bermuda and even the staff at Gatwick seem friendly these days!

Staff helpful, concierge service especially so.

I'm not sure Bermuda is a place for young (under 50 or possibly 60!!!) people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    136
    54
    48
    10
See reviews for
46
498
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
No. VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We researched the area and choose this hotel mainly for privacy (no children) and for the level of service it claimed to offer. Our initial check in was awful. The room class we book was far inferior to what we thought we were getting so we asked to be upgraded to a suite. One was available for an extra charge and we were told it would be ready in "15-20 minutes." Thirty minutes later we were told it would be ready "as soon as housekeeping fills the ice bucket for you." Fifteen minutes after that, my husband again asks and we're told "Oh, I thought we already gave you the keys." We attempt to retrieve our luggage from the staff and are told we can't have it because the manager "would kill me if he saw you carrying your own luggage" but then admits he doesn't have it because it's still seating in the original room we rejected 45 minutes ago. We go to our room, sans luggage, and discover that there is no ice in the ice bucket and apparently we've been kept waiting for no apparent reason.
During our stay we found that the front office staff knew very little about their own property. Time the gym opens? "Don't know." Times the ferry runs? "Not sure." We also found that the bar staff at the beach couldn't care less about customer service. On four separate occasions, the waiter forgot our drink order. When the bar ran out of drink mix, we asked if they could get some from the bar at the pool and were told 'not for awhile, probably not until dinner." The two bars are located a five minute walk apart but apparently the staff couldn't be bothered to walk from one to the other to retrieve the drink mix. Overall, it seemed that the staff was in no way measured on the quality of service they provided. We were truly disappointed because of this and also because of the conditions of the rooms noted by other reviewers (leaky faucets, movie channels not working, only treadmill in gym rusting on both handles). The view is beautiful but I think you can get more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

First, be aware that resort is about 20 miles from the airport; on the western end of the island and about as far as you can get. Our package included van transport and, even with only one other party, the ride was almost an hour.
The resort itself is a collection of standalone quaintly named “cottages”. Some were private single units; others held 2, 3 or 4 units. We had a first-floor room “partial ocean view” at Les Rev, a 4-unit building overlooking the Marina at Mangrove Bay. Even though there were 2 units upstairs and another next door, it was very private and quiet. The room itself was quite large, with a very comfortable king size bed, a flat screen TV and small fridge that worked well. The ceramic tiled bath was good size with a whirlpool tub and double sinks. The buildings are vintage (i.e. old), but are pretty and very well maintained.
The resort complex is truly beautiful and sits on a small point with clean sandy beaches on 3 sides. Our room faced northeast, giving us an excellent view of the sunrise. On the other side, near the Breezes restaurant, the beach faces due west, providing gorgeous sunsets.
Our package included the daily breakfast buffet, which we took full advantage of. Nothing unusual, but very well done.
The staff was very friendly and couldn’t help you enough, from the front desk to the wait staff.
If you’ve been to Bermuda recently, then it’ll come as no surprise that it can get pretty expensive. Meals and drinks at the resort ran about the same price as at restaurants and bars. Also, make sure to read your bill – restaurants add the tip. We only ate one dinner at the resort, and while pricey ($160 for two including 2 drinks each and tip) the food and service was truly outstanding. One bargain is the transportation system. For $28 you get 3 days of unlimited rides on the buses and ferries. It’s a quick walk from the resort into Somerset, then a 10 minute bus-ride to the Royal Dockyards. There are several good restaurants (try the Frog and Onion – tables inside a giant fireplace) that primarily serve people from the cruise ships. From the dockyards catch the ferry to Hamilton or St. George’s at the eastern end.
Here’s the “buts” - On our second day, we watched an army of tiny ants parading across the bathroom floor from one small crack in the tile grout near the sink, into another small crack. On our way to the beach, we told the front desk. They sprayed while we were out, although we did find a dead one here or there for the next few days. Also, when we turned the shower on each morning, the water ran a bit rusty, but did clear up in about 30 seconds. Finally, while the marina is right next door, we faced some real sticker shock when we inquired about renting kayaks - $100 for 2 hours (we didn’t bother)
Over all, we’d be happy to go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We just returned from a 14 night holiday at Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda and we had the most amazing experience ever!

My husband and I stayed in a Premium Deluxe Room, not one of the highest categories on offer at the resort, but in our opinion this room could easily have been sold as a suite. The bathrooms are specious and very well maintained, equally important for us the dressing area which is well designed for storage and a little privacy and the bedroom well appointed with stunning views.

The standard of cleanliness in the room was outstanding and the maids could not have done more to make our stay more memorable. The presence of the management was noticeable throughout our “special anniversary” holiday and as such this was reflected in the standard of service throughout the resort. We travel extensively and it was a pleasure to experience a resort that is noticeably well managed and where the staff can’t do enough to make you feel so welcome – we are impressed and wish to thank the Cambridge team for their kindness

We highly recommend dining at Breezes restaurant, the resorts beach restaurant, overall we had a brilliant experience and we will return soon!

Cambridge Beaches represents excellent value for money – again thank you to the Cambridge team!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We have stayed at many five star resorts and this hotel far surpassed most if not all of them. The level of service was amazing and the location absolutely fantastic. Our room was beautiful and the view absolutely gorgeous.

I find it amusing that people on this site are up in arms about tiny little ants when everyone knows or should that it's high season and all hotels in Bermuda deal with it. We went to Coconuts at The Reefs for dinner and had ants crawling up our legs so it's not just a CB issue.

We are already planning our return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed at Cambridge for 1 week this month. I must say that the best part of staying at this establishment was the fact that the staff was so attentive to our needs. We felt very welcome and appriciated. I would most certainly go back to this destination for that reason alone.
The food at the resort was rather pricey for what you got. The fish was fresh and cook to perfection, just over priced.

Depending on the room that you choose varies. Try your best to upgrade. As the base room is decent, the upgraded rooms are much much better.

All in all not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I just got back from a week at CB to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. It was the perfect place to reconnect and spend quality time together. It totally lived up to our expectations. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to accomodate our needs. The room we stayed in, a suite, was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had a spectacular view of the water. I had asked for an upper suite with sunset view..and we got it! There was a lovely note and a bottle of wine waiting in our room congratulating us on our Anniversary upon arrival. An unexpected but much appreciated touch seeing that we arrived in the pouring rain. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, the bathroom, bedroom and living area spacious. Every morning they have a wonderful breakfast buffet with something for everyone. From yogurt and fresh fruit..to an omelet station and everything in between. We opted for the MAP plan (highly recommended) and b'fast was enough to hold us over until dinner at their wondeful restaurants. We ate at Tamarisk most nights and the food was absolutely some of the best meals I've ever had. On par with some of NYC's finest. The service was impeccable. I can see why it's rated one of the top 25 best restaurants in the Carribean. We enjoyed 2 dinners at the beach side Breezes restaurant and again the service and food was absolutely amazing. The wait staff totally attentive to our every need. The grilled fish was to die for...as well as the view of the sunset. You can sit under the thatched huts with your feet in the sand watching the sunset as you eat your dinner. And as it get darks the lit torches along the beach make for a truly romantic setting with your significant other. One day at lunch we ordered from Shutters the restaurant by the pool and again we weren't disappointed with our grilled shrimp caesar salad. It was delicious and enough for us to share with 7 huge yummy shrimp. We enjoyed both sunning it by the beach and pool. Never had a problem getting a chaise either places...Towel service great...Wait staff at both to order drinks/food...very attentive again. The pool has 4 private cabana areas with double chaises..and there was always one available. We enjoyed having our own little space to sunbathe...We ventured off the property 3 times ...to do some shopping. We cabbed it to Dockside where they have some stores in a mall ..and then walked into Somerset. This resort is removed from the rest of Bermuda...we did not ferry it over to Hamilton opting to really relax and chill on the beach or at the pool. For us it was the perfect get-a-way with no children under 16, except certain weeks of the year. At night there was entertainment during the dinner dining at Tamarisk which was a nice added touch. If you are looking for exciting night life this is not the resort for you. If you are looking for relaxation and an escape from the everyday harried life..this is it! We were thrown a loop by Tropical Storm Colin, as our flight was cancelled and had to stay an extra night....Veronica in Reception and Mr. Quinn the G.M. were more than happy to accomodate us and gave us a special rate to help us out with the unexpected dilema thrown our way..as to not put a damper on what was to be the best vacation I've ever had. My Kudo's to all the wonderful staff I met and who made our stay ...BK, PJ, Pete, Veronica and Mr. Quinn...and to all the others who's names I did not get. I see why so many couples return to Cambridge Beaches time and time again..I hope to return soon..I would love to be one of the couples on the Plaque on the wall...under Fiver's (meaning you visited 5 times) One couple visited 85 times!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.