We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our first trip to Bermuda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Save Saved
You added Cambridge Beaches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Beaches
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our first trip to Bermuda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our first trip to Bermuda (and our obviously our first stay at Cambridge Beaches) was very enjoyable. The Cambridge property consists of about a dozen buildings each housing 4 or so suites/villas, surrounded by well kept gardens and several very nice beaches. This is a very upscale resort, although not at the super duper level. The rooms very well furnished, nice and comfortable. The views out over the ocean from our suite's back porch/deck was wonderful.

The property has all the amenities one would expect from a high end resort although we didn't take advantage of all them. There are 3 basic places to eat, the poolside bar, the high end restaurant (Tamarisk) and the beachside restaurant (Breezes). We found Tamarisk only OK but really enjoyed Breezes. The quality of the food was about the same at the two, but it's hard to beat the ambiance of eating outdoors on the beach at breezes... They even set us up a table right on the beach our last night at no charge.

We really enjoyed our stay at Cambridge, but will probably try one of the other resorts (eg reefs) next time we go just for some variety, and not because we were dissatisfied with Cambridge in any way.

Room Tip: Get ocean side, not sound side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    129
    52
    48
    10
See reviews for
45
479
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff at this hotel are experts in friendliness. Our room was large and situated on a hill overlooking the ocean with unobstructed views. The room was a tiny bit old fashioned, but it was large and quiet. Breakfast was magnificent with the most delicious fruits and baked goods. Wifi was free which was great since we turned off our cell phones. The fitness room was well appointed with treadmills, elpiticals and weights. The indoor pool was deliciously warm and empty of people. The beach was clean and quiet. Swimming in the ocean was a great experience - sand under your feet, no waves.

Room Tip: We had one of the hibiscus suites - great location and super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Bermuda staying at the Cambridge Beaches spa resort. The resort is beautiful with lovely pink and white cottages in landscaped gardens. All of the staff were wonderful and would go out of their way to please. The food in the Tamarisk restaurant and Breezes ( where you can dine on the private beach by moonlight) was beautifully presented and very nice. There is a BBq with entertainment once a week and the selection of food is awesome. I will certainly visit this resort again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this resort in Bermuda and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Service was prompt, the people were friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make you more comfortable. The spa was great as well...my massage was awesome! Best part about the whole thing? No kids on the property. You can sit by the pool with a cool drink and read your book without the crying and screaming and splashing. It was GREAT. The resort is farther way from the hustle of Hamilton, but public transportation is easy to use and super cheap. If you would rather walk, take a trip to The Country Squire and look for Basil the 2nd largest goat herder in Bermuda! He will be at the bar drinking CC and goats milk! Such a good trip, we wish we would have booked it for two weeks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pros:

nice, but out of the way location
Tamarisk restuarant food was good
friendly, helpful staff
nice ( main ) beach

Cons:
- Upon arrival at the hotel at 7pm, the porter told us to leave the luggage with him outside and he would take care of it whilst we checked in. However after a lengthy wait to check in because only one desk person was working, we returned to our luggage to find it had been left unguarded for some time whilst the only porter was taking other guests to their cottage on the complex. We had ipads, kindles, expensive Canon Dslr camera, lenses, etc in this luggage which could have easily been stolen as the area was a drop off point for taxis and other visitors vehicles

-Our cottage was poorly maintained, we endured a constant loud electrical humming sound, constantly flushing toilet, extremely noisy fridge and bathroom fan, patio door fly screen was off its runner, tired and aged fixtures and fittings. Maintenance men could not resolve the source of the noise. They said they fixed the toilet but it was still sticking and constantly flushing and I resorted to keep having to take the cistern lid off to shut off the sticking valve rather than have our privacy disturbed constantly by the maintenance men. We were offered the only other cottage available but we did not take it because it was not in nice location and without the same privacy

-We had a broken outside light for 3 days despite the maid saying she had reported it which made it dangerous at night as we could not see the step.

-Waiters were unsure that wine, water and soft drinks were included in our package - we had to sign a drinks bar receipt every night at the Tamarisk restaurant, and twice had to ask for the drinks items to be removed from our hotel bill

-Our first evening meal on 18th Sept was at the Breezes restaurant was
a bad experience. Although we had booked a table for 7:30pm we were seated at the furthest point from the live entertainment and had the misfortune to have to endure different music being played from the speaker system at the same time as the live bands music from the beach, The wrong meal was delivered after a long wait, which meant my wife had to eat her meal first and mine followed after another long wait and when she had almost finished her meal.

-The Tamarisk restaurant was extremely busy and noisy with a Conference party dining for 4 days together with other functions and parties during our stay – certainly not providing a tranquil intimate romantic experience as described, and they seemed to enjoy priority service whilst us, as hotel guests, were left to wait longer than normal.

- We were not made aware that the only choice of meal on Mondays would be the Island BBQ Buffet – the Breezes and Shutters restaurants were closed.

-This Buffet was open to all Island residents every Monday it was extremely busy with long queues of people trying to get food and the Tamarisk restaurant was crammed full due to rain. It was not an enjoyable experience and certainly not have chosen it if the other resort restaurant ( Breezes) was open.

-We tried to arrange the “Dine Around” for a different restaurant for the following Monday to avoid the Island BBQ mayhem, but were told it would only be possible on a like for like swap if someone from the Reefs was wishing to dine at Cambridge Beaches (we could only eat at the Coconut restaurant at the Reefs as the Pomperno was shut.
Despite constantly asking they could not confirm availability and we were told each time to try later, which we did at 12 noon, 2 pm, 3pm with no luck.

-Service suffered at the Breezes at lunchtimes when busy, As an example, we had to ask four times for a frozen ice bar desert to be told someone else is dealing with it only to be told eventually that they did not have any. We deleted the service charge tip from the bill and signed. We left and sometime later the Manager spoke to my wife and apologised and went and got some frozen ice bars which they did have all along but hadn’t bothered to check properly. The service charge was still shown on my hotel invoice and I had to ask for it to be
removed which took 15 minutes whilst the front office clerk “had to check the signed bill”

-The Breezes lunchtime menu always had something not available, - we could not get a Caesar Salad for 2 days because they had no lettuce, or a BBQ pulled pork meal because the pork “ was not of sufficient quality”

-The Breezes was not open on one evening due to a wedding party which again left only one restaurant choice available.

-The hotel’s Labyrinth Garden was an overgrown jungle of small bushes and the Nature preserve had badly overgrown trails making it difficult to walk around.

-The complimentary ferry twice a week from the hotel to Hamilton was not operating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge-Management, General Manager at Cambridge Beaches, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing a great experience and value for a Bermuda vacation, hence all of the great reviews we receive and a huge repeat guest following.

I am very surprised about the comments about the service you received at our restaurant, as this is not customary and our staff’s attention to detail and friendliness is one of the many things we are known for. However I will thoroughly review your comments with our management team with an effort to prevent these incidents from occurring in the future.

Clarence Hofheins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a 5 * result and we had only booked a standard room???we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, with views on all sides.
The secluded beaches were so beautiful...you are also waited on hand and foot.
The food is very good, however, the BBQ isn't worth the money.
The entertainment was fun and there is a Soa on site.
This is a little hide away in Mango Bay, if you want to get outside and see Bermuda you need to either rent a scooter or use the bus ( at the top of the road ).
I would always use this hotel...but not in the winter, as you need good weather.
Also check for deals as you can save up to 45% at certain times of the year.
One of the best hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Try and get a run of the house..you may well get a suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Hamilton to experience Hamilton and St George's first hand then moved to the west side and stayed at Cambridge Beaches.. Wow wow wow one night there were just 7 couples on a beach having dinner listening to a great band. We had a suite with our own beach below. All the people were very very friendly. In fact Bermudan people are the nicest I have ever met but then again if you lived in paradise why wouldn't you be happy... Any negatives, occasional power trip and maybe a bigger smile on reception.. But then again we are just digging deep now as it was just so good.... We looked at a few of the other hotels when we hired a moped and nothing had the amazing feel of the Cambridge beaches.... It was actually that good we have already booked to go back...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.