We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Bermuda charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Save Saved
You added Cambridge Beaches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Beaches
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Sandys Parish
Amherst, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Classic Bermuda charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 23 yr old daughter and I enjoyed a long weekend in Bermuda to celebrate my husbAnds birthday and close out the summer. Our 5th visit to the island first at CB. Property is charming overall. The main beach is beautiful - very well maintained and serviced professionally. Credit to Luke. Also great little beachside bar with friendly and accommodating staff. Pros: great beach, beautiful suite, clean and gracious staff. Cons: not exceptional food and while we appreciated the peaceful quiet beauty of the location, taxis are quite pricey to do dinner off property.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    119
    48
    43
    10
See reviews for
39
442
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester Essex UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our second visit after a seven year gap and now even better with a super main pool area. We had a large deluxe room with great views overlooking the docks which was very comfortable and well equipped. I would say all the staff at this hotel are first class and nothing is too much trouble. The main restaurant Tamarisk served great food and a good choice of wine is available. The only negative observation I have is eating at Breezes restaurant on the beach this was just not up to the food standard of Tamarisk and secondly the main Port bar is tired looking and not that comfortable. the new contemporary bar by the pol is much better but closed in the evenings. Despite this certainly I will return, highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30 year anniversary at Cambridge Beaches -- our first time on the island. We'd gotten several recommendations from friends who travel often to Bermuda, but what tipped Cambridge Beaches in our favor was: No children under 17!

We only had a few days, and getting to Bermuda from NYC is very easy and convenient. We arrived on a Sunday morning, had a complimentary rum swizzle when we checked in, and hung out at the beach waiting for our room to be ready. The staff who helped us with our bags, came to find us -- we didn't have to go back up to reception to ask (and our room was ready sooner than anticipated).

We had a deluxe oceanfront room, which had a comfortable king bed, and a little sitting area with a couch and chair; outside our private patio, we had a nice view of the beach and harbor. All rooms come with a complimentary breakfast, and on our last day we had the breakfast delivered to our room so we could eat outside before we left.

The service is outstanding at Cambridge Beaches -- so much so, that when a beach attendant didn't acknowledge us on an afternoon visit, we thought maybe we offended him or didn't tip enough the day before! Even the waitress on the beach waded out to bring drinks to people on floats in the ocean, and did it with great humor. The housekeeping service, security, restaurant service, front desk, all were friendly and welcoming.

While we enjoyed Tamarisk for dinner one night, we wanted to go off property for our anniversary night dinner. We'd heard about a place in Hamilton, and reception staff also suggested a restaurant that was closer to the hotel. (It was fantastic -- Waterlot.)

Scooters are available for rent on the property, and we did a little touring around the island to the Dockyard, the Swizzle Inn, and some other beaches. Very convenient, and the scooters were in great shape (we've rented some real beat-up equipment at other resorts, so were pleasantly surprised).

It was quiet and comfortable on the resort; since our time was limited, we didn't have any spa treatments. Next time, I think.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi in our room was not working, but we got a great signal at the beach and at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at Cambridge Beaches for our honeymoon. We selected this resort based on the superb reviews across multiple travel sites. With the immaculate beach, customer-focused service, tasty food, relaxed atmosphere, and peaceful seclusion, we had no regrets booking this resort. CB provides the authentic Bermuda feel, with cozy cottages, as opposed to big scale hotels like the Fairmont.

Pros: exceptional, friendly service (double upgrade for honeymoon, courteous waitstaff, beach towel and drink service--even if you're in the water!), sense of seclusion, relaxed atmosphere, safe, clean city, convenient location (very close to the dockyards), great free breakfast, restaurants on site, scooter rental on site, putting green/tennis on site

Cons: accommodations and food are a little pricey, but the norm for Bermuda and very much worth it; furnishings and decor are outdated, but still very clean resort overall

Tips:
-Rent a scooter to get around town (if you're comfortable driving one). Streets are narrow and winding, but locals are very cautious when driving behind you. You can cover the whole island on a scooter, plus, the bus stop is a little walk from CB (no sidewalks).
-Book your dinners at reception in the morning if you'll be dining at Tamarisk or Breezes.
-Visit the Dockyards
-Spend a day at Horseshoe Bay (preferably not a day when cruise ships are in town)--be prepared to pay for umbrella and chair rental
-Have at least one dinner on the beach at Breezes

We would love to come back and highly recommend this resort to others (especially couples)!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

CB is a very relaxing resort. The pool area is very nice and the water is refreshing. I did notice that cups and towels would be left for several hours before being cleaned up, but the resort wasn't full so there weren't people waiting for those chairs. Long bay beach is pretty, but fairly small. We definitely preferred the south shore beaches. Our room was immaculate and overlooked the harbor full of boats. We could wake up to that view any day! The breakfast buffet was incredible, with plenty of options for anyone. Shutters was good for a quick meal and our Breezes dinner on the beach was a good time. We never at at Tamarisk because we never cared for the menu. Overall, we had a great time and would recommend CB to anyone looking for a relaxing and quiet vacation to Bermuda.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Me and my wife celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Cambridge Beaches. We had one of the most enjoyable vacations of our lives. Here are some of the reasons why:

- extremely quiet setting
- unbelievable views of the ocean and bays
- service unmatched by any other place we have stayed at - extremely personable, hard working and attentive staff
- the food was wonderful, with many different food choices
- the breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious
- all the amenities you could ask for
- our suite had a beautiful view of Mangrove Bay
- our suite was very spacious and beautifully appointed with a separate dressing room and large private balcony (Deluxe Premium room)
- housekeeping provides bed turn down service and fresh ice twice daily
- Port Royal Golf and Cambridge Beaches have a special green fee offer for all their guests which is much lower than any advertised rates
- I arranged for a private dinner on the beach. It was the highlight of our trip. It was worth every dollar that was spent. I would strongly recommend this to anyone celebrating a special occassion

We would like to make special mention of the following individuals who went out of their way to help make our stay as memorable as it was: Michael, John, Joseph, Richard (manager), Bhora, Denise, Florenza, Derek, George, Nadia and all others who we might have forgotten.

Not even Tropical Storm Gabrielle could ruin what was a fantastic week!

Room Tip: We had an upper level room that had been recently renovated facing Mangrove Bay. The view from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We chose CB for our honeymoon destination. Bermuda is a lovely island and it was my new husband's first visit. It won't be our last. There were more highs than lows.

The view from our room was a million dollar one, with an expansive vista of the Atlantic, which we were thrilled with. The look of the deluxe room, not so much. I had called months before the trip to ask if there was much difference between the deluxe room and the suite, and I was told no, but the actual room looked nothing like the example on line, and was actually much different in design, quality (age) of furniture, and layout.

The disappointment was with the rather sterile room with no notable design, dated worn furniture, creaky water pipes and clogged jacuzzi. We did complain, and CB was quick and helpful to respond. What could not be fixed were the pictures on the walls; they seemed to be hung as an afterthought, and were the wrong sizes for the walls; out of scale. The upholstered furniture seemed to be missing a chair, as there was a empty area on one side of the room. Had we known in Feb we would have booked the suite.

We asked for an upgrade for the remaining two nights of our stay, were told we could have one, and the next day informed us the upgrade would be $1000, so we made do.

But the food at Tamarisk was great, the people delightful, our fellow guests friendly, and the surroundings quiet and peaceful. We loved visiting The Swizzle Inn for red bean soup, nachos, rum swizzles, and across the street Bailey's Ice Cream (not at the dockyards, they have hagen daz there). We took a bus into Hamilton with a $15 pass that included all day ferry rides as well. The children taking the bus had the most wonderful manners, and it was great to see the kindness and friendliness of fellow travelers. It seems to be contagious!

Long beach was amazing; perfect in every way. Breezes was not great at all, but the waiters were wonderful. Do try the excellent Tamarisk. On Monday evenings we had free rum swizzles, which were wonderful! Upon checking in, the girl at the desk (rather brusque in manner), did not mention; we stumbled upon the free swizzles fortuitously. This was followed buy the best barbecue you could envision. The ribs were amazing, as was the jerk chicken, soup, pineapple slaw, beans, potatoes, anything you could wish for in a Bermudian barbecue. The desserts were superb as well.

Afternoon tea was lovely, and what a civilized way to find kinship with other travelers. Some of the highlights of our trip are memories of these lovely folks, many UK citizens, and fellow teachers that we met at tea. The human connection is a valuable one, and Bermuda does this best. That is why we will visit the Island, and perhaps stay here once again.

For a short easy ten minute walk we left the hotel to eat lunch at the Salt Rock Grill overlooking the beautiful bay, and had french fries to die for, the old crinkle cut. The little shop nearby had great souvenirs that were unique and reasonable, and it was a great place to get beer and soda as well.

We had an amazing spa couples treatment at CB with Hani and another young lady and a fantastic facial. What a great indulgence.

We will treasure cherished memories of our wonderful honeymoon and the delightful times we experienced at Cambridge Beaches and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.