We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Beaches to your Saves list
Cambridge Beaches
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from my second visit to Cambridge, and once again we were treated like royalty! My girlfriends and I visited back in October, and received the best service we've ever had and we are quite the travelers. Luke Fountain has continually gone out of his way to make sure our accommodations at the resort, and our travels among the island were stellar - can't say enough positives about Luke, but we will return just on his experience alone. The suites were outstanding, the beaches immaculate, grounds are serene and peaceful, and the food delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    142
    55
    48
    10
See reviews for
48
521
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have come back from a 5 night stay in February, which is definitely the off season in Bermuda but that does bring a peacefulness to the place. The weather was mixed, some lovely sunny days and an amazing storm! The cottage suite was lovely, clean, good facilities and very comfortable.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we still was able to have room service in the middle of a storm!

We would definitely go back when it was a bit warmer so we can use the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobcaygeon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I felt like I was staying at an"Island Downton Abbey".................there was always someone there to immediatly attend to our needs the property was rugged and beautiful. Our cottage was super, it was clean comfortable and spacious It was my first stay in Bermuda and will definately go back to this property. I would improve the food but the service cannot be faulted.I would go back when weather is a little warmer as Feb is still their winter.

Room Tip: I would wish to always stay at Turtle Cove cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay during early March, which is most certainly the off season in Bermuda. There was a storm hitting the US East Coast, so the weather in Bermuda wasn't as cooperative as I had hoped. This translated into a few interesting quirks with the hotel: sea spray hitting the window of our suite like rain, and 30 second rain showers that we'd duck away from when walking to/from the restaurant.

We got a great rate for a Cambridge Suite (50% off of $825/nt through Tingo or Expedia, but not the hotel website). Ocean view and literally adjacent to the ocean, plus a ton of space, two A/C & heat units, very good bathroom with rainfall shower and standalone tub. Nice toiletries, although not replenished for a 2 night stay. However, we weren't on the beach -- it was a small cliff down to the ocean.

One note - they used electronic "do not disturb / housekeeping" buttons but the system was broken. Also, the radio alarm was set to go off at 7am, which was a surprise that morning.

The Tamarisk restaurant has great reviews for Bermuda fine dining. It's really quite pricey though -- avg. $150 total for two ppl dinner even sharing an app and dessert. Quality is a touch all over the place.

The rate included free full breakfast; this was interesting with a continental buffet plus made-to-order hot courses. Good coffee though. I'd note that Sunday buffet was no different than Saturday morning.

At the end of the day, I'm still giving 4 stars to the hotel -- they did a good job for the off season (not that many guests) and were very friendly and accommodating. Especially at 50% off, I'd recommend the hotel. I think this place could really shine during high season (fantastic beaches) but I'd truly hesitate before paying full rate -- there are probably other places I'd choose first.

Note: taxi from Airport to hotel is about $65 each way including a good tip.

Room Tip: The "Cove suite" room has a very nice view and good space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Cambridge Beaches markets itself as a luxury resort and spa, but it has too many flaws and rough edges to fit into that category. What was nicest about Cambridge was our room. Decor was a bit garish, but overall a very nice suite. They also have some very nice beaches. The staff was very friendly (Everyone on Bermuda is friendly though.) but not well trained. For example, our suite was only ever partially cleaned on any given day. Even after mentioning it to the day manager. And at breakfast every morning it was an Herculean task trying to get a second cup of coffee.

We vacationed over Valentines and had hoped to take advantage of the spa to pamper ourselves a bit, but even though we were there for a week they were unable to provide us with any appointment. They said they were booked up, and it was off-season, so I asked that if they could not accommodate demand when the resort was only marginally booked how did they manage during peak season. The response, in effect, was that they had access to more on-island staff and the only reason they didn't have adequate help over Valentines was that the spa manager hadn't bothered to call anyone extra in, and didn't bother to adjust for demand for the entire week we were there. This lack of leadership seemed prevalent in most areas of the resort. In the end we had to taxi to another resort for spa treatments.

The food at the on-site restaurant was dreadful. Though they market themselves as gourmet, I would classify it as low caliber institutional. Our original plan for our vacation was to hunker down in our suite for the week and do room service a lot, but the food was so disappointing that we left for all our lunch and dinner meals. That meant very little time cozying up in our room as planned and lots of transportation costs getting around.

We were there in the off season and so had not expected everything to be firing on all cylinders, we actually prefer it when things are quieter, but quality was such that we found ourselves constantly having to travel away from the resort to obtain luxury-resort quality services. Given that, it makes sense to stay elsewhere the next time we visit Bermuda.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a crazy year and a very busy Fashion Week schedule, I needed a quick getaway. I grabbed my bestie (wife and mother of 3) and we headed to a marvelous time at Cambridge Beaches. It was exactly what we needed…a quiet, well-run resort where every need was addressed without delay. Although the weather in February is traditionally iffy and it did rain our first night there, it didn't stop us from having the best weekend ever. The hotel staff, especially Shakeera, were so helpful in explaining all the amenities of the property, dining schedules, spa services, etc. And the fresh warm towel and rum swizzle was a great addition to the check-in process.

The restaurant's fare was delicious and our supervisor, Derek was so amenable, friendly and actually remembered the details of where my friend and I came from, our names, etc….and then did the same with each table he approached - very impressive. Cherline, our breakfast chef, and Perez, our waiter, as well as the rest of the waitstaff was polite, accommodating and helpful.

We were thrilled when the rain stopped so that we had the opportunity to wander about and discover the beauty of this property. The private beaches were gorgeous, although we missed two of them… the property is large, and we missed the nature maze….so much to see, we'll have to return.

The guests were definitely in the range of 30's-perhaps 70s, and a great mix of Australians, Brits and Americans who all were seeking a quiet refuge in an upscale environment. I believe we all achieved that goal. Our bartender, Singh, was such a gentleman, a gifted cocktail mixer and as all good bartenders should, told the greatest stories about his vast global travels. We were also thrilled to have access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and lap pool.

We also strolled off-campus into Somerset and treated ourselves to a great lunch at Salt Rock Grill. If you're craving really good sushi, this is the place.

By the way, all of the cabbies are very friendly, informative (Hello, BC!) and well-versed on the history of the island, but none were as fun and lovely to talk to as Laquitta and Randolph Doers…husband and wife team. We learned SO much about Bermuda, the people, the resorts, the sights, and much, much more…thanks to their generosity in spirit.

We will definitely be returning to Bermuda…and maybe next time, we'll take the guys in our life…they would love the pro golf course. If you like serene, quiet environments, great food, gorgeous accommodations, then Cambridge should be on your list as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Cambridge will always hold a special place in my heart as I got engaged there! The private dining on the beach with butler was unbelievable and definitely worth the price. The food arrived as the sky turned orange/pink and the candles placed in the ocean added to the ambience. While that was a fantastic experience, I feel the hotel just needs a few basic cosmetic touch ups to deserve a 5 star rating - parts of the hotel looked a little tired.

I am always trying to track down the 'best beaches' in the world and there are some absolutely incredible spots in Bermuda with some of the clearest waters and private coves that I have ever come across (just make sure to explore beyond the main beaches).

Bermuda is a great spot and so is Cambridge for a relaxed setting and place to unwind with a Pina Colada ;)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.