We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My proposal....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Save Saved
You added Cambridge Beaches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Beaches
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Sandys Parish
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My proposal....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Cambridge will always hold a special place in my heart as I got engaged there! The private dining on the beach with butler was unbelievable and definitely worth the price. The food arrived as the sky turned orange/pink and the candles placed in the ocean added to the ambience. While that was a fantastic experience, I feel the hotel just needs a few basic cosmetic touch ups to deserve a 5 star rating - parts of the hotel looked a little tired.

I am always trying to track down the 'best beaches' in the world and there are some absolutely incredible spots in Bermuda with some of the clearest waters and private coves that I have ever come across (just make sure to explore beyond the main beaches).

Bermuda is a great spot and so is Cambridge for a relaxed setting and place to unwind with a Pina Colada ;)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    125
    51
    45
    10
See reviews for
44
467
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been staying in Bermuda for 15 days and overall,given its currently out of season,have really enjoyed our visit.
The Cambridge beaches resort is located Towards the dockyard end of the island which in January is very quiet due to the lack of cruise ships until April , after which it will probably become extremeley busy with American tourists visiting from the USA.
At the time of this review the resort is less than 10% occupancy and the beach facilities etc understandably closed.room rates are 50% although still fairly pricey for low season but watch out for the bermudan tourist taxes!!!
Added daily to our bill was "occupancy and tourism tax " of 30 dollars+ "energy surcharge" of 18 dollars+another "service charge" of 13 dollars EACH!! Total daily = 75 dollars !!!
The service charge is in addition to the compulsory 17% service charge added to your food and beverage bills.
However we can recommend Cambridge beaches resort for its friendly accommodating staff,a great beach location and well prepared food in its only restaurant open.
The bar is small but well run and servicing of the rooms excellent.
One final note however is to ensure that you are allocated the best available room even at what appear to be low heavily discounted rates, as some rooms need some refurbishment.
You have now been warned of the hidden extras. Ie taxes ,so beware !!!

Room Tip: If its low season ask for an up-grade as occupancy rates are seriously low---probably due to tourist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Cambridge Beaches Resort over Christmas and were very impressed. The setting and surroundings are beautiful - very peaceful indeed. (no children allowed helped!) Because it was quiet we were upgraded and were in a lovely large room with a balcony. The pool area is fabulously clean and it was great that there was a decent-sized indoor pool as well, which is rare in Bermuda. Unfortunately the hot tub was closed for "repairs" the whole time we were there. You can also play mini golf and croquet if you are feeling adventurous! The only annoyances were that, with this being off-season, the only restaurant open was the Tamarisk, which is not the sort of dining which suits everyone. (we ended up having room service one night, which was nice though!) Also we were going to book an extra night but the hotel couldnt offer us a rate as good as we could find on the internet, which we thought was a bit bizarre. Great breakfast - lots of choice - and the afternoon tea was an added bonus. As other reviewers have said, this resort is a little far from the rest of the island's attractions (apart from Dockyard) but if all you want to do is relax then it is perfect! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were looking forward to a luxurious vacation at Cambridge Beaches but unfortunately our expectations were not met. The resort is quite outdated and the décor would need some serious fresh up. However, the worst part is the service – or rather, the lack of it. Some of the staff members were lovely, but quite a few of them had a serious attitude problem. The receptionists didn’t seem to enjoy their work too much and the concierge service completely lacked an ability to take initiative and had no clue what was going on on the island. Most of the time we were left on our own, maybe accompanied with a comment of “umm, I don’t think so…” without them even bothering to check online/ making a few phone calls. Fortunately, the front desk manager turned out to be friendly and knowledgeable and helped us to make our wished arrangements.

We tried to order in-room dining but, still after several attempts, the room service didn’t pick up the phone and we had to go somewhere else. The worst part, however, was when (on the days when we managed to order food into our room) no one came to pick up our used plates and leftover food, not even after we informed the waiter and called the room service. This happened on three different days and it’s definitely not very nice to wake up and see dirty dishes with ants walking all around! Despite the lack of service, we must acknowledge that the food was tasty and we were especially pleased with the plentiful breakfast.

Cambridge Beaches is most likely best suitable for (elderly people) who require no service and just like to stay at the resort, relax at the spa, get some sun and hang out at the pool. For travelers looking forward to more action and sightseeing it may not be ideal since the resort is located in a very remote area and it takes a long time to get to Hamilton and to see the sights of Bermuda. There are no dining places close by, so unless you want to dine in the hotel permises, be prepared to pay around $100 taxi fees to get to a nice restaurant in the city. Furthermore, make sure you pre order the driver, otherwise it may be time consuming to wait for a taxi.

Next time we’ll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A stay at Cambridge Beaches is about as close to Paradise as you will ever get. The cottages are such a refreshing change from staying at large, impersonal hotels. We truly felt we were alone on this gorgeous and beautifully manicured resort. Even though it was off-season, every light was lit, every service was offered, every meal had THE MOST attentive wait staff. The pool and experience rooms are top rate, and the spa offered every service you could imagine. Not only that, they were flexible to make the time constraints work into your schedule. As beautiful as this resort is, the thing that puts it in a class of its own is the service. My husband and I have traveled the world, and have never stayed in a resort with such efficient, personable people. On our first day, I mentioned I enjoyed a pastry, and would like to bring it home. On the day we were leaving, it was there waiting for me at check-out. When we returned, we found we had neglected to get a photo of the place we had stayed on our first visit. The same day a photo of the cottage arrived in our e mail. The people of Cambridge Beaches really, really care. If you want to be pampered, respected, and enjoy your privacy, you must stay at Cambridge Beaches.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms have the most enjoyable whirlpool tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were here mid December 2012, and enjoyed it. I have read some of the negative reviews and think many exaggerate. The place is a tiny bit tired, so if you demand a place that is like a brand new Four Seasons or Ritz, with everything totally new, this isn't it. However, the issues we had were very minor - slightly worn jacuzzi tub jets, carpet was a little bit worn, etc. Nothing to make the stay unenjoyable. Our room had a refrigerator, corkscrew, glasses, ice bucket that they filled with ice daily, and a Keurig one-cup machine with coffee tubs. Like any hotel, bar drinks are not cheap, so you can buy decently priced wine or spirits at the shop in Somerset and use the fridge.

It is a beautiful location on a peninsula, very nice grounds, views of both the harbor facing the Dockyard area and the ocean on the other side (depending on which unit you get). Our room was an upgraded premium deluxe, I think, and was on the upper floor of the 4 unit cottage we were in, and had a nice balcony with two chaises and a table with two chairs. Very roomy with a walk-in closet, large bathroom with separated glass shower stall, two sinks, plenty of storage.

The indoor pool is very nice, heated, and a nice clean large hot tub. The spa area (steam room, sauna, cool mist room) is nice, though we didn't know it was there until the last day. Water was a bit cool in the ocean, but the two sides have narrow sandy beaches that looked nice. The ocean side has a wide shallows in front of the beach. Now, we were in low season, so the beach bar was closed - if you demand all amenities to be fully open, check with the hotel to see when high season is (and of course, give up the rate reductions).

It is not near Hamilton, but you can walk about an easy 10 mins (maybe like 1/4 mile) to the main road in Somerset and buses run about every 15 mins to Hamilton and to the Dockyards. If you buy a transport pas, the bus ride is covered, and is about 10 mins to Dockyards. A fast ferry (20 mins) runs from there to Hamilton, so it is actually fairly easy to get there. In high season there is a ferry to St Georges. I think the hotel runs its own ferry in high season from the hotel dock to Hamilton, but check when it operates. However, if you want to be off site a lot and in Hamilton or central Bermuda a lot, this is not the closest location.

The restaurant is decent - not a 5 star kind of place you'd go to just to eat, but it had good fish, certainly not the horrible kind of meals described in other reviews. The breakfasts are large. They have a tea at 4 every day, with cookies and cakes. The deck on the harbor side, with an infinity type pool, is very nice and has lots of tables and areas with lounge chairs. Since there were so few guests, we had the run of the place and could choose whatever we wanted (though the unheated outdoor pool was a bit cool for my tastes that time of year).

I would go back, though I might not pay the highest season rates. Bermuda does not have all kinds of action things to do, unlike some of the islands further south, so if you want a very active vacation, maybe the Bahamas or say Aruba might be better. However, you can't beat the 2 hr nonstop flight time from Philadelphia or NYC.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room on one of the upper levels of the 4 unit cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I spent a week at Cambridge Beaches just after Thanksgiving for a yoga retreat arranged by two yoga instructors from the US. In all there were 14 of us at the resort and the staff was extremely accommodating to our needs. From the welcome at check-in with a warm moist towel and complimentary drink - the rum swizzle, to the time I left I really have not before met more courteous and personable people working at a hotel or resort. Even though it was off-season the concierge, staff at the spa, the chef and servers, and the drivers/luggage handlers were spot-on with the service while still giving guests the room to breathe and relax. Housekeeping was exceptional. I marveled at how clean and fresh the rooms were throughout the whole stay. The breakfast buffet was delicious and included a wide variety of foods. I was very pleased with the Wi-Fi service reliability the very few times I did check email/internet on my phone. And there was just something about being able to see and hear the Ocean from almost everywhere at the resort that made the stay even more relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms are grouped together cottage style in either two or four per group, and some have adjoining do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.