We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Food, First Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Beaches to your Saves list
Cambridge Beaches
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Cornhill on Tweed, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Class Food, First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently returned from a 7 night stay at Cambridge Beaches and it gave more than we expected. All the staff with the exception of the receptionists were friendly, professional and went out of their way to be helpful, this particularly applied to the Tamarisk Restaurant staff and Shekeera the concierge. Whilst there were limited dining options for dinner because of the time of year (November) there was enough of a choice for us in the Tamarisk Restaurant, and the food experience was superb, very fine dining.
The quietness and lack of children at this resort gave us exactly the experience that we were looking for. This is a more rural part of the island, however access to Hamilton by local ferry from The Naval Dockyard could not be easier or more pleasant. Very quiet roads a delight to walk to nearest village of Somerset.The grounds and tropical gardens are very well maintained, and a delight to walk through.
All in all a delightful holiday venue which we would not hesitate to recommend to those seeking a peaceful haven with quality service and food.
We had a deluxe ocean view room which gave us privacy and wonderful views which we would book again.

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    136
    54
    48
    10
See reviews for
46
498
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Recently spent Thanksgiving weekend at this hotel, and had a wonderful experience. The thing that struck us most about the place was the peace and quiet. Part of this was probably because we were there during the shoulder season. But I think the somewhat older clientele and lack of small kids make the place feel very quiet and relaxed.

The grounds are very nicely kept. It's a reasonably large resort, and the buildings and facilities were very nice. Not brand new, but well kept. Our room had a very nice view of the harbor, and was spacious, nicely appointed, and extremely quiet, with a very private balcony facing the water. I would definitely spring for a water or ocean view room, if possible, as the views are lovely.

The main building was very warm and inviting, with a library, a comfy large reception area (for the afternoon tea), and downstairs a nice pool area and both a main restaurant and a pool bar/restaurant. The free breakfast was very nice, and dinners were also very tasty, with a new menu every night. Not inexpensive, but very tasty and fresh.

The main beach was very nice, not large, but with white sand and shallow water. There were also tennis courts, a croquet lawn, and putting green, although we didn't use them. The spa also looked nice, although the treatments were very expensive, so we didn't use them either.

As others have noted, the resort is pretty far from St. George and Hamilton. Particularly during the off-season, when the ferries aren't running, it can be costly to take a taxi. So the resort is probably better for folks who are looking for peace and quiet, rather than folks who want more action. That said, the Dockyards are a short taxi ride away, and had some interesting sights (the museum is quite well done).

All in all, a very quiet and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The ocean and water view rooms are highly recommended. Also, the resort is somewhat large, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I really cannot express my delight at the wonderful experience when my husband and I spent a long weekend here. It was our 50th wedding anniversay.
Everything about this resort was EXCELLENT.
I really cannot give the staff enought credit, especially Shekera one of the concierges. Following her advice we celebrated our anniversay in style at a fabulous restaurant.an evening never to forget
Our room was amazinging, the most beautiful view of the ocean and impeccablity clean. The food was excellent, one evening after a long busy day we decided to have room service...it was excellent. We travel the world extensively, and this is one resort that we will return to again and again.. Thank you Cambridge Beaches.

Room Tip: Premium Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I looked at dozens of trip advisor reviews for resorts in Bermuda before booking a weekend in October for my husband's birthday. Cambridge Beaches has some of the best reviews in Bermuda, and unfortunately, I'm giving it my worst review that I've ever given on Trip Advisor! Therefore, this will be a long review, as I can point out exactly what went wrong. My expectations were extremely high based on the Trip Advisor reviews. As I mentioned, we went in early October for my husband's birthday, which isn't technically "off-season" in Bermuda, which meant that I knew I was shelling out close to $500 a night to stay in this resort. We took a taxi from the airport in Hamilton, and it should be noted that Cambridge Beaches is pretty much on the other side of the island. Of course, some people love this seclusion, but if you want to explore the island, it's not really the best location. We arrived and were "greeted" by the lady at the front desk. Honestly, I don't think she smiled once. She might as well have been wearing a sign that said "I hate my job." We inquired about our reservation for the restaurant at the hotel that we had booked for Saturday night on the website, but she was unable to find the booking. She did, however, write our names down to call the restaurant later to make us a new reservation. We were upgraded to a room that was waterfront, since the hotel wasn't full, and I will say, to be fair, that that was quite nice to overlook the bay. The room itself is charming, with its own private terrace. However, when we went out to the terrace, the screen door was in bad repair--falling off the hinges, and needed to be repaired. The bathroom is also quite outdated, and although there was a "jacuzzi" tub/ shower combo, there were nails on the cover for the jacuzzi mechanism which were pretty much falling out. Clearly, the room was in need of some maintenance. There were some off and on showers the day that we arrived, but we wanted to sit out at the beach. However, when we went to sit out at the private beach, there wasn't a person in sight--the watersports shack had been closed up, so we couldn't even get towels to put out ourselves! We spent the night in Hamilton--you can take a taxi to the Royal Navy Dockyards and then a ferry to Hamilton, although the ferry on the Cambridge Beaches map (that they give you at check in) apparently doesn't exist, although it wasn't technically "low season." The next day was nicer, and we spent the day on the beach in Southhampton (which is where we wished we had stayed), and took the bus back to the Cambridge Beaches. We spent some time snorkeling at the beach at Cambridge Beaches (which was actually quite good) and did enjoy some delicious (if not very expensive) drinks at Breezes while watching one of the most gorgeous sunsets. That was probably the highlight of the trip. We checked on our reservation for dinner that night, and once again, they did not have our reservation down! Fortunately, they were able to accomodate us, and we ate some delicious local fish (although again, quite expensive--but that's how Bermuda is). We spent the rest of the evening at the Port O'Call Bar, where they had a band for the night, and there was somewhat of a sing a long (and even though we're in our early 30s, it was quite fun). The next day was the last day of our short weekend getaway, and we had booked (directly at the Sports rental) the day before to jet ski. However, the weather was quite windy, and we thought it might need to be cancelled. We showed up at the sports shack at the designated time, only to find that it was completely locked up. After waiting 15 minutes, we went back to our room and called the front desk who said "oh sorry, it's closed on account of the weather. We don't have the reservations at the front desk, so we didn't know if anyone had booked." What kind of service is this? I'm shocked that it seems like they don't have a computer system to link different parts of the resort. This is supposed to be a four star resort, and I felt like the whole weekend on multiple occasions they couldn't get their act together! So I had to ask, why is it that this place gets such good reviews, and consistently? There are some very loyal Cambridge Beaches visitors--in fact, there is a wall, in which repeat guests names are inscribed. I had heard that many of the properties in Bermuda were once magnificent but need badly to be renovated, and I would put Cambridge Beaches in this category. We will be back to Bermuda, but not to Cambridge Beaches.

Room Tip: if you're going to stay here, get a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge-Management, General Manager at Cambridge Beaches, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
November 29, 2012

Dear travelrabbit2003

I am very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing a great experience and value for a Bermuda vacation, hence all of the great reviews we receive and a huge repeat guest following.

I am very surprised about the comments about the status of the room and the front desk service you received on different occasions of your stay, as this is not customary and our staff’s attention to detail and friendliness is one of the many things we are known for. However I will thoroughly review your comments with our front desk, engineering and management team with an effort to prevent these incidents from occurring in the future.

I am glad that you did enjoy the snorkeling and the food at the resort. We continue to receive compliments from other guests about our restaurants and the many beaches that surround our property. It is our hope that every guest that visits Cambridge Beaches has a wonderful time and we will continue to strive to ensure that happens.

Once again, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Cambridge Beaches.

Clarence Hofheins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The resort is a little remote but is ideal for getting away from it all.
However good transportation links are available throughout the island by bus and ferry if you are feeling adventurous.
It is also a short walk into somerset village where there are a couple of restaurats with Bars on the waterfront.
The suite we stayed in was huge clean and well appointed.
The in cottage dining option we found to be a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at Cambridge Beaches two weeks ago. It is a simply beautiful property.It is relaxing, refreshing and soothing, The room was very clean, spacious and very well kept.Spa and restaurant were high quality and service friendly and attentive. The beaches and property are very well maintained and really quite stunning. Sandys is quiet and the town of Somerset a delight. Getting around Bermuda is easy and enjoyable by bus.The south shore beaches are as beautiful as beaches anywhere on the planet. November is a nice time to visit Bermuda:still warm but quietenning down.

We love this little island and Cambridge Beaches is an absolute gem. We will be back soon.

John Thomson, Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room but I think I prefer the ocean side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Bermuda and we found the whole experience wonderful. From our fair and informative cab from the airport, to the ease in getting around the island. The cottages at Cambridge are clean and very well decorated. Just the right balance of understated glamour with an island feel. The room was spacious and we enjoyed the sun from our couch as much as we did at the beach. The staff was polite and helpful. Our only wish was that they had been a bit more forthright with some 'other' food options nearby as opposed to just the other resorts. Food is not the shining star of Bermuda and it is quite pricey. All and all, we thought it was a great resort and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with beach access nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.