We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect the unepected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clear View Suites & Villas

Save Saved
You added Clear View Suites & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clear View Suites & Villas
Sandy Lane, CR02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expect the unepected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I had stayed at Clear View four years ago with my family and so knew what to expect when my daughter and I arrived. We had booked in to one of the older properties and was pleasantly surprised when we are put in one of the brand new rooms. The room was not ready so we helped the property workers take the plastic off the furniture and clean the windows! Boy was it beautiful until there was a bang on the door only to be notified that we had been placed in the wrong room and should have been in one of the old cottages as expected. After a quick inspection of our assigned room ( a great big ugh!) I quickly decided to pay extra. I was told the new rooms went for between $400 - $450 but I agreed on $300 a night. Already my $600.00 stay had more than doubled.
We settled in quickly. The beds were really comfey, we had an enormous kitchen with all mod cons, an lovely bathroom, no hot water, a running toilet and an overhead fan with a mind of its' own. An expensive Faulty Towers! We fixed the toilet and had the help fix the hot water problem. Nothing we could do about the fan
Despite the fact that landscaping and the pool was incomplete and all the other problems and we were in the middle of nowhere we agreed that it was a fun stay. Everybody was very nice and we had the pleasure of meeting a large party of Bahamanians who were supporting their children at the CAFTA games in Hamilton.
We sat out on our balcony and watched the Bermuda Longtails flit about and boats traveling along the north coast channel.
The stay ended up being lovely, but be careful what you ask for, do your homework, and be on the lookout for the hefty taxes ($50.00 per night).
For convenience and no hidden fees you may be better off going to one of the resorts

Room Tip: No what you are getting and be prepared for better or worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    7
    1
    12
See reviews for
10
5
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed at Cleaview in April 2012 for the Carifta Games.The pictures shown by a previous reviewer are all real. Don't stay there. The place is infested with roaches! There is mold and mildew and the odor is enough to make you throw up! The appliances are rusty and out-dated and I can't begin to describe the plates and cutlery. I have no idea how the Bermudian government allow them to remain open with those type of facilities. In all my years of travelling I have never ever come across this type of hotel for the amount of money I spent! Bermuda was nice but Clearview is a dump!!

Room Tip: If you have already booked this place, be sure to dDEMAND that you stay in the new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Clearview is just opening their new Deluxe One Bedroom Suites and Deluxe Suites - breakfast and other packages are available.
Over looking one of the most spectacular views of the Atlanic Ocean.
Featuring wood floors, full kitchen, all with balconies overlooking the ocean. There is a walking trail (the old Bermuda Railway) running along the property. There is a restuarant on the property, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sunday Buffet offers a large selection of Bermuda Cuisine. Very good buffet.

Room Tip: Book the Brand new suites - they are spectacular. Beautiful rooms great view. Meal plans helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

You really just won't get a better value at a reasonable property in Bermuda. It's walkable to one of the prettiest beaches on the island as well as the bus stops, and the staff is very nice. That being said, it hasn't been updated in a while, the pool is small, and lapses in housekeeping may lead to the occasional cockroach or ant (which is true at any cottage colony in Bermuda). Personally, I don't go to Bermuda for the hotel; I go for the island. So Clear View was fine by me. Its central-ish location makes it easily accessible to all island attractions. There are a few semi-walkable restaurants nearby, and there's always delivery in the absence of an overpriced hotel restaurant/bar on the property. It's basically a Bermudified version of a Motel 6 from 1975, only the management and staff are all very friendly and the residential street on which it is situated is friendly and accessible. You get what you pay for, and when that's less than half of what it costs to stay nearly anywhere else in Bermuda, I'm happy to accept the foibles!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed in an old house that I guess they call a villa. It was a two bedroom house with kitchen, dinning room, and livingroom. Much more than I needed, but priced right. It was next door to a very nice resturaunt where I took many of my meals. If you are going for the beaches, this is not the place you want to stay. But then, nothing is every too far away on this island.

Room Tip: Perhaps one of the suites in the new structures would have views and more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My room in the "rose" building was overrun with cockroaches, smelled like stale urine, was last carpeted (orange with brown stains) in probably 1975, had a broken sliding patio door latch, toilet was not bolted down, and it was "snowing" the whole time with paint falling from the ceiling. Anytime the lights were off the roaches would come out, crawling over the dishes in the dish cabinet, bathroom sink, and kitchen sink. This aberration of a hotel is proof that either there is no health inspector in Bermuda or that he is being bribed (or possibly that he is a relative of the owner ). I will be writing to the Bermudan Government regarding this place. In agreement with the other reviewers- the locals are embarrassed that this aberration is allowed to stay in business there. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011 via mobile

Bermuda resorts are pricey. We booked our airfare before realizing that it was race week. Overall the cottage was a bit dated, but clean. The service was great. We saw one bug during our four night stay, but considering the hotels wanted double or triple what they were charging we took it in stride. The views were phenomenal, and we saw that they were building new cottages. The pool is small, but close by and lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clear View Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear View Suites & Villas

Address: Sandy Lane, CR02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ClearView is located on North Shore Bermuda and is comprised of classic suites, Bermuda cottages and brand new Deluxe Suites, all of which enjoy spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. A short 7 minute drive from the Bermuda Airport and 15 minutes from both Hamilton and St Georges it is ideally located for your Bermuda vacation.Picturesque Flatts Village and the Bermuda Aquarium, Museum and Zoo, one of the most popular tourist attractions in Bermuda, are only five minutes away, as is Shelly Bay Beach and John Smith's Bay on the South Shore.Whichever accommodation you choose will come with air conditioning, phone, cable TV, free internet, fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, and great views. There are two freshwater swimming pools, a tennis court and restaurant on the property. The Bermuda Airport is less that two hours flying time from the Eastern Seaboard of the USA and with the Bermuda Weather being comfortable all year round why not take a short trip and come see us at ClearView. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clear View Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clear View Suites And Villas
Clear View Suites & Villas Hotel Hamilton Parish
Clear View Suites & Villas Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear View Suites & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.