We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free WiFi
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this wonderful hotel where the staff cant do enough for you to insure you have a wonderful stay . Rooms clean with very comfortable bed so we got very good nights sleep every night just what you need to set you of for the days exploring this wonderful island. Food is lovely and the chief will do his very best to accommodate every one so they enjoy their meal as we did every night .Do go all inclusive its well worth it as food and drink is expensive not only at the hotel as an island in general. With all inclusive Bus passes and Ferry passes are included which on their own are 53$ a week .Yes the internet charges are high and we do think it should included in the rice of your room especially if you pay for all inclusive . Cant say enough wonderful thing about this Hotel its lovely .We will be returning one day .A big thank you to all the staff especially Veronica, christen and James to name but a few who went that extra mile to ensure we had a lovely time .

Room Tip: Choose top floor as the views of the bay are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    597
    190
    83
    53
See reviews for
352
690
59
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice, comfortable hotel with magnificent views. The beach is small but pristine, with soft, smooth sandy ocean floor. Comfortable main house, many place to sit and chat. A real bonus is the caves -- two on the property and two big caves just a five minute walk away. Our family loved swimming in the cave, a bit chilly but invigorating and truly magical. Food is just okay and walls a bit thin but service is cheerful and the staff is great. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I too have to admit that the resort was nice but has some flaws.
What we did appreciate was the offered tea time.
Unfortunately we where there during the 4 days of TS Gabrielle.
therefore I expect with this layout of the resort, that they do provide the guests with an umbrella. I could agree that they charge you for it if not returned. But none the less.
When making reservation, they should make you aware of the layout and that it involves walking up the hill.
Because of the weather and I guess the laziness of the staff we could only sit outside where the smokers sat. First of all I am a non smoker and would have preferred to sit somewhere where I do not have to breath in all that smell. Secondly as they do provide very sparingly some ashtrays the smokers left their cigarette butts all over the place. Even when asked for about 1/2 h to please clean up those glasses and clean the tables I had to be told by one waiter, that as he does not smoke.......... then we brought our tea cups and the cookie plat outside just to be told not to forget to bring it back inside...... I thought that this is a 4 star hotel..... and I as a guest have to clean up after me.. Something is wrong with this picture.
As the lobby was freezing cold and they would not adjust the temperature at all, it was impossible to sit inside.
The pool bar was closed the whole time although it could have been left open and people could have enjoyed it. I do know that it is custom in Europe that between 2 and 5 pm the kitchen is closed, but this should not apply for a 4 star hotel or at least give some opportunity to buy something.
I also think it is very greedy that in today one has to pay for internet access. Again this is a 4 star hotel and has high end prices for their rooms. It would not even let you print out your boarding passes.
We did have high tea at the Fairmount Princess where it was nice and I would recommend doing that. This would also be my next choice if going back to the Bermuda's

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

I wish to personally apologize for not living up to your expectations. It was unfortunate that your stay was marred by a tropical storm curtailing some of our services such as the pool bar which was closed due to inclement weather. Not sure about your complaint about no food service between 2-5PM. Please be advised that we serve lunch from 12-3 followed by afternoon tea from 3:30 to 4:30 and bar menu from 5-11PM. Dinner commences at 6:30.
You comments are greatly appreciated and deficiencies mentioned will be addressed and corrected. We hope you will give us another chance, hopefully when the weather is better so we may show you what we are truly all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our 4th time to Bermuda - and Grotto scored the lowest of the places we ve been to. Location is right by the airport, which I guess is convenient but certainly not the best sight, we didn't like the bay at all, a sad beach, crowded bay with boats, water not clear, not many fish around. Food was OK. There are caves on the premises which is mildly interesting. Rooms were well done and clean but overall, hotel premises are nice. Overall, Bermuda has beautiful beaches and water, it is a wonderful island and Grotto experience does not do justice given the bay and location I think. Otherwise hotel is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Although our beach may not be the largest in Bermuda it does have several advantages such as calm protected waters great for snorkeling and exploring sunken wreck just off our beach, great for children and those not wishing to battle large waves, great for various water sports or just laying on a float and relaxing. Our Honeymoon Beach has a very protected cove populated by thousands of fish which are fed daily. During Summer months we feature a water park off our beach. We are the only resort in Bermuda featuring a water park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wonderful Property , gracious and helpful staff, it was our first time to Bermuda and everyone at the resort went that extra mile to explain the island and all there was to see and do there! Weather did not cooperate while we were there (Tropical Storm Gabrielle) but overall a beautiful property and very clean room,We had an awesome view of the bay and you really don`t even know the airport is right there. Only complaint beach bar and scuba and raft rentals closed too early.would plan a trip there again.

Room Tip: higher up buildings and floors have better views but further from pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 days at this property and had an excellent time. June, who manages the guest services was wonderful. We paid in advance for the all inclusive option and it was well worth it. This option covered all meals and most drinks, bus and ferry travel, etc. Each evening, live music was performed in each restaurant. The food quality was as good as a top end New York restaurant. The view from our room was picture perfect with a water view. We took a number of side trips to Hamilton, Horseshoe Bay Beach, Elbow Beach and even took a swim in the caves ! Will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Sandy Lodge with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I will admit the resort was well appointed and the checkin/checkout was very smooth. The staff was helpful. The view from the balcony was terrific.

I have a general complaint about hotels/resorts that charge $300+ a night and it is the added fee for internet access. This may have been valid 20 years ago, when the infrastructure was expensive to put in place, but in today's wireless world, it is just greed that drives the charges. It borders on gouging. At $329 a night, the Grotto Bay could certainly afford to allow the free connection.

The on site restaurant was good, with a variety of entrees that while pricy, were not outrageous. The service was good, but a small thing ruined the dinner for us. We ordered iced tea with out dinner, and when asked if we wanted another, said yes. Imagine our surprise at finding a second $3 charge for the iced tea refill! Refer to my comments above about gouging. Is there another restaurant that doesn't provide free refills?

These are little things but were enough to take the overall rating from 4+ to an average 3. It just felt cheap to be nickle and dimed at such a nice resort that already gets a premium price.

Room Tip: If possible, get the waterfront units. The view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.